We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ASU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tempe

Save Saved
You added Aloft Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ASU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The pool was great. My kids loved the pool table, and the staff was on point. It was close to ASU, and some great golf courses. The best of all was that our dog was allowed. It had great shopping close by as well. Thanks!!

Room Tip: Pool was nice. The pool table was great-- my kids loved it. The staff was right on point. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Tempe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
30
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Aloft is the W baby sister of Starwood hotels geared to the young hip crowd on a budget but in this case also parents visiting ASU students and those doing business in the area that want a good hotel at the right price with the right amenities. I stay over the 4th to watch fireworks and attend the concerts in Tempe. Location is perfect right off the 202 not far from the airport, minutes from downtown and close to ASU. Try not to get a room facing 202 as it is RIGHT there and may be noisy but everywhere else is fine and the price is right. Beds are the Starwood issue comfort, flat screen TV, CD player and all common ammenities are all there just in a scaled down version of a W but keeping that sleak modern feel. Nice sheets and towels and the same soaps and lotions the W has as a plus! The lobby is inviting as is the staff who are accomodating. There is a "grab and go" area with all kinds of goodies for anytime of day or night made on property. The pool is a dipping pool but has a nice area to sit out and relax. The Lobby is also the tech center, relaxation area and has a neat bar with reasonable prices and friendly staff. It's perfect for the business traveler, ASU mom and dad or if you're on the road a great stop over hotel. Someone mentioned the AC, I didn't find it any louder than any in room system I've had in other hotels and it worked great in the 110 heat that day! I had a nice cool room!

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms overlooking 202 for noise, best view is overlooking the canal and ASU Stadi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel’s amenities and evening receptions. Our staff is dedicated to quality customer service and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Aloft Tempe was so fantastic! Everyone here was so accommodating and nice. The Front Desk staff amazing! Hotel was clean and the beds were comfy! We only stayed one night but everything was great! We were in town celebrating a bachelorette party and were going to visit Mill Avenue. Aloft Tempe was the perfect location. The cab ride from the hotel to Mill was $7! Can’t beat that! Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are going to visit ASU this is a good spot, just a few blocks away. The rate was excellent, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. All the amenities were in my room - free bottled water and coffee plus free coffee in the lobby in the morning, and free laundry (machines - 1 each washer and dryer - on the 5th floor, free detergent at the desk). Their green program lets you skip housekeeping for a $5 coupon for the snack area per day.

The only oddity was that the rooms have only a bed and the desk chair, it's a bit small for an armchair which I would like to have had. But if you aren't spending much time in your room that won't matter. I had a room facing the freeway but it did not bother me a bit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a good location, right across the street from an in and out burger and ASU. It is literally right off the highway so I recommend getting a room NOT on the same side as the highway. The older guy working the front desk was a little too casual and rude for my taste. I had called to request an early check-in and when I arrived the front desk agent proceeded to tease me for not asking the same thing for my colleague. Well, I didn't know she was in the same hotel when I called you mr smarty pants. He would not let it go either, he was basically a jerk. The lovely smell of cigarettes from him did not help our welcoming experience. Otherwise, if you like an average hotel with more of a european/swedish feel, aka small and almost a retro look, it was ok.

The shades in the room allow the sunlight through so by 6am every morning my was room was very bright. The "free" internet barely works.

Room Tip: rooms on the opposite side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We have addressed your comments with our front desk team to ensure all our associates are delivering the quality customer service Aloft Tempe is dedicated to. We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, friendly and committed staff, good location close to the airport and the lake, which is ideal for morning and evening runs and water sports. The concept of the hotel offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate your review, thank you for taking the time to share. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our helpful and friendly associates and were able to take advantage of our convenient location. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Tempe so that we may provide you with the same quality experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Clean, conveniently located and a Starwood property. All good... But let's talk about the shower. A huge glass enclosure w separate tub you can crank the hear up so it turns into a steam room. If I could have taken it with me I would have.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Address: 951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near Arizona State University and Sun Devils Stadium. Onsite, enjoy w xyz bar, free wifi, an onsite gym, and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.