We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request rooms with inside/pool view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tempe

Save Saved
You added Aloft Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Central Coast of CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Request rooms with inside/pool view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Quiet if an interior view room. nice lobby with bar. free coffee in the morning but not a free breakfast. Rates seem to fluctuate a lot between $100-$200 so look for deals. We were here for the Arizona Ironman and the hotel was very accommodating. Room 230/232/234 are interior pool view. There are no balconies. One thing I did not like was there is no ability to open a window.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
29
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really liked this brand of hotels, modern, good for my business trip and the staff was extremely accommodating and nice.
This is a new brand of hotels that is LEED, meaning that the building was built enviromentally friendly.
The rooms are not oversized but has a really modern and great layout. A great tv, nice relaxing lighting, great Bliss toiletries and even good coffee in the room.
There is also a great 24hr snack area for food on the go as well as a made to order to go breakfast area instead of the traditional sit down restaurant. Very loungey feel to the lobby with cool furniture and bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I flew into Phoenix to entertain clients at the recent 49'ers vs. Cardinals football game. Originally scheduled as an overnight, I ended up staying 3 nights due to Superstorm Sandy. I'm a frequent SPG/W Hotel guest, but this was my first time at their funkier/lower cost "Aloft" brand. The Tempe desk personnel (i.e., both day and night shifts) were very helpful. The rooms were decent sized with good Internet/TV access. I didn't get a chance to swim in the pool but it looked nice. The gym was basic but functional. The hotel is situated right next to In & Out Burger--for those with late night snack urges. The hotel itself has a self-service canteen style area to get basic drinks & food. Overall, a very pleasant stay. I will consider adding the Aloft brand to future visits as they have 60+ national/international venues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

While my boyfriend and I only stayed here one night, both of us really enjoyed our stay. From the comfortable bed and big TV to the roomy shower, complimentary waters and stylish decor, this hotel is a place I would gladly stay again. I actually wish I had reason to stay longer because I didn't get to try out their bar, which looked very cool. The staff was also very friendly, and the hotel is conveniently located near an In n' out, Starbucks and other eateries. If you're looking for a comfortable stay in a chic hotel, Aloft is a great choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Aloft Tempe 5 weeks in a row for business and cannot see myself staying anywhere else while I am in the area. There are plenty of hotels closer to where I am working, but I am willing to drive a little extra for the comfort and professionalism that this hotel provides. Kelsey and Leighta are absolute delights to deal with. Every evening when I get back from work, if Kelsey is working, she is always asking about my day. When she is there when I check-in, she is always very nice and welcoming me back. In the mornings when I leave to head to work, Leighta is there with a smile and a warm "Have a nice day", along with some teasing about me being up too early. Everyone that I have run across at this property has been professional and courteous, but these two REALLY stand out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked into the Aloft after checking out of another hotel where I had a bad experience with a smoky smelling room. My room was standard Aloft quality, very clean and smoke free. Other reviews commented on the uncomfortable pillows and airport noise. The hotel is only miles from the airport, which I saw as a convenience since I had an early flight out. While the hotel is in the flight path to PHX, the noise didn't really bother me. I do agree with other reviewers that the pillows are NOT comfortable. I like the opportunity to make cafe purchases in the lobby and the XYZ bar is always a favorite gathering space, although there were two featured drinks on the menu that the bartender did not have the alcohol to make. The pool is nice and the fitness area is adequate. I had no problem getting the machine of my choice. For a low-cost business option and a good location (easy access to the 202 Loop), I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, otherwise your view will be of the 202 loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I just had the great fortune of choosing Aloft on a business stay in AZ. I will say that I was greatly impressed with the service and the attitude of the entire staff. They handled everything very well and I never felt like "just another number". I will definately recommend it to everyone! The rooms are great along with the location as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Address: 951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near Arizona State University and Sun Devils Stadium. Onsite, enjoy w xyz bar, free wifi, an onsite gym, and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.