We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude is everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tempe

Save Saved
You added Aloft Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Attitude is everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I just had the great fortune of choosing Aloft on a business stay in AZ. I will say that I was greatly impressed with the service and the attitude of the entire staff. They handled everything very well and I never felt like "just another number". I will definately recommend it to everyone! The rooms are great along with the location as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
29
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed at the ALoft twice now for business.
I love the place.
Jaime at the front desk always so sweet to me.
He is so friendly and welcoming.
Actually the whole staff is like that.
I also love how they are an LEED hotel.
I specifically picked them because of this fact.
It makes me feel good that I am staying in a hotel that actually cares about the environment, cares if they use too much water (in a desert) and the employees care about me.

I recommend this to all the business travelers who have to stay in Phoenix on business. This is one of our approved vendor hotels and I am super glad it is!

Room Tip: I would stay on the pool side of the hotel. It is a tad more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Though I have stayed a Alofts in other cities, this was my first stay in Tempe and I was not disappointed. It was probably the nicest at which I've stayed to date. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the second we check-in. The breakfast options prepared by the chef were very good - excellent breakfast burrito. There is fast foot right out the front door, including a Jersey Mike's, a Starbucks, and, more importantly, an In-N-Out Burger.

It is only a very short drive to the Arizona State campus and Mill Avenue where you can find many additional restaurant and bar options.

Only complaint was my A/C seemed to struggle to get my room cold enough (410).

I would definitely recommend the property to those needing a nice option in Tempe and like a more modern "trendy" stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san ramon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel lobby and rooms are spacious and have a open feeling. Technology is definitely there! Staff is friendly. The music was a bit loud in the reception/lobby area for my taste but probably not for the younger generation. Convenient location to ASU-Tempe Campus; however, I do believe the hotel is situated near the Phoenix Airport flight path. Across the courtyard from In & Out Burgers and Yogurtland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am a SPG Member (Starwood Preferred Guest) and staying at an ALoft is a treat. If you like the W Hotels, you will like an ALoft property.

My highlights during my stay:
- Great location near dining, shopping, and nightlife
- Rooms are very clean and cool
- Staff is friendly and hip
- Free WiFi
- Mediocre gym

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is pretty cool! Very welcoming atmosphere with the friendly staff and club music playing through out the building (except in your room of course) . Check in is fast. Nice looking pool. The room was very nice too. also very trendy, nice bathroom sink and shower and lots of mirrors. the beds and pillows are soft, nice size lcd tv with a byod box to plug your devices to the tv. Its also very quiet so having a nights sleep isn't a issue. The only thing i had a issue with was the AC, you pretty much have no control of it, but it keeps the room cool, also fyi, there's no ice maker/vending machine at your selected floor, you have to ask for ice at the desk. Your close the Tempe mall (off the loop 202) and the university, and everything else. Always a blast to come back to Tempe,AZ for business reasons and a nice hotel too. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Bring your own internet wifi card. (due to a privacy concern with me entering my first/last last nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Check in was fast. The girl @ the front desk knew what she was doing. Lobby looked cool clean and trendy. Ordered a lemon drop martini and white Russian. I was told they were awesome. Prices were the same as in any bar in Tempe Az. The ac in room 407 under performed and was loud. The wall paper looked like it was bleeding glue or stained from water damage. I dont think the room should have been rented in this condition. Management needs to stay on top of these things or the hotel will quickly slip into the poor rating. Room 408 had broken blinds.

Room Tip: Room 408 looks like it had water damage at some point. Wall paper needs to be repaired. Room 407 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Address: 951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near Arizona State University and Sun Devils Stadium. Onsite, enjoy w xyz bar, free wifi, an onsite gym, and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.