We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1333

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1333 to your Saves list
Hotel 1333
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Rural Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Tempe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great overall ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based upon its proximity to the ASU campus and the reviews found online.

Upon arrival at the airport a quick phone call to the hotel is all it took to have the free shuttle pick us up and take us ti the hotel. The shuttle driver was friendly and professional.

Check in was very prompt and smooth and staff was courteous. Our room was on top floor (4th) and overlooked the pool and main road in front of hotel. Not much scenery but that was to be expected for staying in city limits. Road noise was not an issue if you had the patio door closed. Beds and linens were extremely comfortable. .Room was very clean and the free bottled water was a nice gesture. Only downfall to room was bathroom door was a large noisy sliding door that left a small opening when closed so privacy was a bit of an issue and the bottom of tub needed to be refinished.

Plus side to our stay was the free hot buffet breakfast each morning and the free shuttle rides around town. A few dollars tip goes a long way for great service.

Checkout was seamless and they did provide option to store our luggage which we declined.

Location is close to ASU campus, Mill Ave shopping/dinning/bar district and a close drive to shopping malls.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    89
    65
    47
    29
See reviews for
89
48
48
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Due to mechanical difficulties, we missed our connecting flight and were put up by the airline at this hotel. Sadly, I would never stay here by free will. I have traveled the world and my expectations are realistic.

PROS:
Very friendly staff

Prompt shuttle drivers

Updated bathroom

Fabulous water pressure in the shower

Sheets appeared to be clean

CONS:
Room smelled like massive amount of sweat and men's cologne

Chair was stained and filthy

Shower floor was tacky - did NOT feel clean, so I put the hand towels down on the shower floor to stand on

Towels were slightly larger than the floor mat

Armoire was broken at the hinges and wouldn't close

No full-size mirror

Hallways felt like a prison - very sterile (another guest commented that it felt creepy as he passed us in the hall)

2 pillows - one was down and queen-sized, the other was poly-filled and king size

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Hotel 1333, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We appreciate you taking to the time to complete a survey. I apologize your hotel experience was a negative one. I will be addressing your bullet points with the entire team to see where improvements can be made from the property level. Again, I apologize your stay was not according to our typical standards.

Jason Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

There were good and not so good aspects to my 5 day stay.

Good:
Staff were friendly and helpful;
The rooms were very big, the bed comfortable
The free shuttle to and from the airport
The nice warm pool
Cleanliness
Two computers with internet access that guests could use

Not so good:
I was here 5 days and room supplies were not routinely replenished. For example, there was a coffee machine in the room, but on some days I was not supplied with fresh paper cups, on others no new sachets of coffee and tea. I fetched these, but when the room was cleaned, this wasn't routinely done.
Breakfast, although nominally 'free', was very basic and the poor staff had trouble coping with the crowds and the indoor breakfast seating area wasn't big enough to hold everyone having breakfast. During weekdays, there was a very jolly chap frying eggs and omelettes, but this was no available at weekends. The 'hot' food provided otherwise was often not hot; the fried potatoes were limp on every day I was there, the pancakes rather rubbery. And if you arrived within half an hour of the end of breakfast, items often had run out and no more were available.
I had had to book my room in two parts. For some reason I was only allocated Frequent stayer points for one of the two parts, and my request for a late credit of the missing points was declined.
Outside my room, the ice machine regularly dumped a large amount of built-up ice, right through the night, so loudly that it often woke me up.
Very thin walls between rooms - I was regularly woken up by guests talking outside who were returning late and by an amorous couple in the room next door...

On the whole this hotel was fine and clean, but I don't think it lived up to the expectations of the Sheraton name, nor was the price ($125 plus nearly $18 tax per night) good value for money, given the location. Guests without a car are pretty stuck for *decent* places to eat in the neighbourhood (though there are all the usual burger and fast food joints within half a mile)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Hotel 1333, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey regarding your stay. I apologize the hotel did not meet your expectation. We recently added the free cook to order hot breakfast are are currently reviewing the feedback provided from out guests. Detailed comments like yours can only help us in that area and we appreciate you taking the time to mention a few areas that we can excel in to make it a better experience for ALL our guests.

Thanks
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I was hesitant to stay here, but friends had already booked the rooms. I was pleasantly surprised! The hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful. The one icky thing that stood out to all of us were the linens - the sheets were hard and pilly and the towels were hard and gray. They reminded me of old gym towels! Definitely time to update the linens and bedding! There are a lot of young adults staying here (I'm assuming due to its proximity to ASU) so there were a lot of loud voices and doors slamming at all hours of the night. I'm aware that isn't the hotel's fault.
The front desk staff recommended excellent restaurants for us to try and were very helpful with the free shuttle bus. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Hotel 1333, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you feedback and I will be sharing the results with the entire team. I look forward to sharing the comments regarding the team. We always enjoy hearing when a guest has such a positive experience with us. Thank you again!!!

Jason Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I like the clean and simple design elements of the typical Four Points - This one works to that strength. Check-in process was quick and easy. The room was well maintained and calm. Parking space was plenty.Location is good and driving to any place in Tempe/Chandler/Mesa/Scottsdale is not a big challenge. And it is a good economical choice too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Hotel 1333, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Just a quick note to say thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate you highlighting the value of our urban location to the entire valley area. We pride ourselves on trying to meet all our guest expectations. Thank you again for the review.

Jason Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This hotel is my home away from home when I visit my daughter at Arizona State. Very comfortable and the staff is very attentive. Good breakfast. Nice big pool and walking distance to campus. Highly recommend!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Hotel 1333, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review. We love to hear when our guests continue to have exceptional visits and feel they are part of our team. We thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and look forward to many continous stays while your daughter attends ASU.

Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent hotel, free shuttle to airport and local drop off within 5 miles of hotel. Next to light rail ad ASU campus. Near spring training baseball. Free high level complimentary breakfast. The strength of this hotel is their friendly and customer oriented staff. They are always helpful with a big smile. Hank Bell, and Josh Flores are exceptional staff members who remember your name, and go out of their way to make your staff enjoyable. Thank you Sheraton four points in Tempe AZ. I would definitely stay there again. AAAAA plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, General Manager at Hotel 1333, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review. I look forward to sharing your comments with Josh and Hank (they are two of kind :) )!! I will be sure to share this review with the entire team. Comments like these are a great reminder to us in the hospitality business.

Jason Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
0.6 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#5 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown
1.1 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
Tempe Mission Palms
#3 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aloft Tempe
Aloft Tempe
#28 of 47 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1333? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1333

Address: 1333 Rural Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Tempe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1333 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel 1333, the ideal base for exploring everything Phoenix/Tempe has to offer. We're adjacent to the Arizona State University campus and just 10 minutes away from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX). We're also minutes from Mill Avenue District, Tempe Marketplace, and Tempe Diablo Stadium, the home of the Angels during spring training. Tempe Town Lake, the Phoenix Zoo, and ASU's Gammage Auditorium are short drives away. Enjoy your stay in one of our 187 guest rooms and suites. Each room is 100% smoke-free and designed with your comfort in mind. Rooms feature comfortable beds, spacious work areas, ergonomic desk chairs, and 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs. Plus, we've included all the free extras that you really care about, including High Speed Internet Access, airport shuttle service, a daily newspaper, and bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 1333 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Tempe
Four Points By Sheraton Tempe Hotel Tempe
Four Points Tempe
Tempe Four Points
Tempe Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1333, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.