We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop off the highway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Corners Monument

Four Corners Monument
NM-597, Teec Nos Pos, AZ
800-574-4386
Website
Improve this listing
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great stop off the highway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I think it would be difficult to find someone who wouldn't want to stand in four states at once. I sure had a fun time doing it. The actual monument is a small bronze disc, from which you can see all four states clearly labeled and their borders extending outward. The actual monument is beautiful and since we stopped by on a December afternoon, we were the only ones there to take as many pictures as we liked.

Why wasn't this stop excellent? In my opinion, the Navajo are rather shamelessly exploiting their ownership of the land. You pay to enter, which for a part of American geography seemed wrong. In addition, the monument is sullied with locals creating a flea-market type atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    238
    278
    111
    69
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
428 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
“Kind of one of those things you have to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

There isn't anything too exciting about Four Corners but the Navajo tribe has done a nice job of building the monument around the point. We went on a day that wasn't crowded, so it was easy to stand on the point and take a picture with no one in the picture.

Costs $3/person to get in and takes fifteen minutes to see. Basically, you take a picture, look at the stalls selling Navajo goods, and leave.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Navajo Tribal Park... with improvements that do little to improve it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The four corners used to be cool... but now it is too built up, but it is cool to stand in four states at once.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth It For the Uniqueness of the Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is literally out in the middle of "NOWHERE!" We departed Albuquerque, NM in the morning. We got lost when we were almost there, had to turn around, drove through a mountain pass that was littered with the vestiges of a recent head-on accident between two trucks in the unexpected snow storm we found ourselves in, endured the dozens of little towns with signs that took you from 65 mph to 45 mph within a couple hundred feet, and endless miles of nothingness until we actually arrived about 4 hours later than we anticipated, and it was STILL AWESOME!!! As everybody here will tell you, it's just the coolest thing in the world being able to be in 4 states at one time, and this is the ONLY place where that happens in the United States. I definitely recommend it, but a word of caution...there is a right-hand turn you have to make in the little town of Shiprock, NM or you'll find yourself on your way to Gallup, NM. Took us about 45 minutes to figure that out and we had to drive all the way back...and the sign we missed was partially hidden by foilage, which is why we missed it in the first place. And the experience was STILL WORTH IT!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“If its on your way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

There's something strangely attractive about standing in 4 states at once.........tha'ts all I have to say about that!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Corners Monument also viewed

 

Been to Four Corners Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Corners Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.