We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Perfect !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Suites in Surprise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windmill Suites in Surprise to your Saves list
Windmill Suites in Surprise
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12545 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calabasas, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always Perfect !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been guests for many, many times at Windmill Suites over the years since my parents live in the area. Probably have stayed at least 40 times......AND 40 times "everything" has more than met our needs. The all-room suites make for a spacious, comfortable stay. Pool area is much nicer than other 3 star hotels with the lawn & palm trees. The staff is wonderful always helpful. A truly relaxing property. Try it, you'll like it !!!

Room Tip: View rooms are completely quiet w/o hearing any car doors in parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    59
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
123
82
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights with a large group at the Windmill Suites. Everything we did with them, from the original discussions and contract to the last wave goodbye, left us anxious to return.

Some hotels struggle with the idea of a large group of youth staying at their property. Windmill Suites seems to take groups in stride and catered to us the whole time. They made it very easy to coordinate our group and were happy to help us make it happen.

Check in was painless and much easier than any of the hotels we have used previously. Kathaleen was great to work with and stayed in constant contact while we made the preparations. Everything was ready on our arrival and they went out of their way with little touches to make us feel welcome. She knows the "little things" they did and we consider them big things!

Front desk staff was always very helpful and courteous.

The business office has a couple of computers and printers available by asking for the key at the front desk.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were nice and not too firm. Personally I loved the pillows. Pull out couch in each room made accommodating our group that much easier. We slept wonderfully, even with a large group staying in the same hotel...

Plenty of warm water in the shower. Two basins on our King bed room. Clean and ample sized room. We have no complaints.

Breakfast was great with waffles, eggs, sausage and a variety of juices, breads, fruit, etc. Always plenty of everything, even when feeding our 150+ group. A nice plaza outside the eating area for our group and a great grassy area where we all got together for instructions for our travel. Yet, there is also a nice eating area inside the lobby that would provide a nice quiet place to enjoy a morning coffee and watch the news, or your favorite soap, on the flat screen.

Nice sized pool area that was kept clean and inviting with plenty of towels available. Many in our group took advantage of the pool on a couple of hot Phoenix evenings.

There's also a big pond next to the property with ducks and other wildlife that kids would love.

For us, the location was perfect as part of our long travel plans. Hopefully we were good guests and didn't make it rough for anyone that happened to be in the hotel at the same time. We tried hard to keep our group quiet and respectful.

I always scratch my head when I read some of the "terrible" or "poor" comments of some posters. (Generally by someone that rarely posts.) And they pick some off the wall thing that got their knickers in a knot.

Two of my "favorites" are the quality or content of breakfast. Completely subjective in nearly every hotel we've ever stayed in. You know what, your mom doesn't work there and isn't fixing breakfast for you.

The other is the "paper thin" walls and noise complaint. If you travel at all, and haven't figured out that you are staying in a hotel, literally right next door to other people, it's time to wake up, quit expecting people to act like monks living a vow of silence, and be proactive. Current technology and "white noise" leave no room for complaints about noise in any hotel venue, anywhere. Has worked great for me for years!

Obviously we're not the only ones to think the Windmill Suites is a great place to stay and worth every penny. We will be back and I would not hesitate to have my family stay here if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven r, General Manager at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank You so much for your feedback on your stay with us. We value all guests but we love our groups all the moving parts to make a large group enjoy their stay is what makes the hotel business so exciting. We loved your group both time they stayed in the two week period and already are awaiting their arrival next year.

Guest such as your group is why I personally do what I do.

Thank You again for staying at our Windmill surprise.

Steven Rosario
General Manager
623-583-0133
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

paid less then $85 with taxes per night, for a suite with lots of room to stretch out and relax. Rooms nicely appointed, very nice pool and hot tub, out of public view and quiet. Morning breakfast was very good - waffles, eggs, meat (bacon or sausage), biscuits an gravy, etc. Breakfast area kept very tide, staff person in attendance to take care of any needs, they even have a nice eating area under cover outside near pool to use. I had stayed here several years ago, had not used the place since, but this is now my number 1 hotel choice when I'm in Sun City West area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area vs. one overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven r, General Manager at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Tom,

Thank you for giving us another try after a few years we are glad to be your number one when you come back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Thank you

Steven Rosario
General Manager
Windmill All Suites Surprise AZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our third visit to the Windmill Suites and, once again, we really enjoyed it. The rooms are great....a good size living room with a couch, large bedroom, two dressing areas in the bathroom and a nice kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator. It's very nicely furnished, clean, and the bed is very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing, with a large pond in front, which you don't find to many places in the Surprise area. The staff is great, and the breakfast is very good. My sister lives in the area, and this is the perfect place for us. I highly recommend the Windmill Suites when visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven r, General Manager at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for yet another great review. We are glad you keep coming back and that we continue to live up to your standards. We are so excited to have you with and am glad you enjoyed your stay

Thank you for choosing the Windmill Suites in Surprise

Steven Rosario
General Manager
Windmill Suites Surprise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic 6 nights at this hotel.
Our room was large, clean and tidy. It was also well located overlooking the lovely lake.
We liked the 24 hour availability of fresh coffee to guests.
All the staff were very friendly and courteous.
We will definitely be back and highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: We loved the room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wow! We were so impressed with this hotel! Initially, we chose it because we were traveling with our dog and Windmill didn't charge the usual pet fee that everyone else charges. We opened the door to our suite and again, Wow! Super clean, spacious, great circular/fluid floor plan---living room, master suite with pocket doors for privacy, bathroom with two separate sinks so that someone can use one while the other has seclusion in the shower area. Terrific mattress on our king size bed. Loads of pillows and sparkling white bedding. Got a great nights sleep. Real quiet. Mini kitchen area too with the usual coffee set up, mini fridge and microwave. The pool area was nice. The pool isn't massive, but big enough. Again, real clean with separate jacuzzi area. Plenty of lounge chairs, tables, chairs and umbrellas. They also didn't balk when we asked for a late check out. Turns out this is the only Windmill Suite Hotel around. Our loss too, because we'd definitely be staying in one at every opportunity. Really enjoyed our stay, wish it could've been longer. Loved our parting chat with the Australian Assistant Manager on our way out too! Great staff! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very nice hotel with suite setup. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and the staff was pleasant. Hotel was quiet and clean. The breakfast was more than adequate. I would definitely visit again. The only thing I could say negatively is that the TVs are old - but they worked just fine.

Room Tip: Use Orbitz to save a bit over the regular price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven r, General Manager at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for you five star review of our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you come back.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us in Surprise.

Steven Rosario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windmill Suites in Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites in Surprise

Address: 12545 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surprise
#3 Family Hotel in Surprise
#4 Business Hotel in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windmill Suites in Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southwest style all-suite and all non-smoking hotel offers spacious accommodations blending luxury with genuine affordability and valuable amenities. Join us for our free generous hot breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, Eggs, Bacon, Gravy and Briskets, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Windmill Suites in Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites In Surprise Hotel Surprise
Windmill Hotel Surprise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Suites in Surprise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.