We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Suites in Surprise

Save Saved
You added Windmill Suites in Surprise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Suites in Surprise
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12545 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Surprise
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I expected a generic hotel, but Windmill Suites was a pleasant surprise. The rooms are large, with a sitting area and a kitchen area with a mini-fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. The free breakfast is a cut above (can't go wrong with all the bacon you can eat!). Above all, the front desk service was excellent. The young woman was friendly, informed, and made us feel welcome right away. The only real negatives are a small pool and out-of-date tube televisions (although the picture was fine).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms past the second elevator on the second and third floors. The ice machine is continuous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    48
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
114
71
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights while attending Cactus League Spring Training. My first impression was not good. The male desk clerk was efficient but seemed to care less that we were there. Our room was as far down the hall as one could get on the second floor but the nearest working elevator was at the front of the building. The ice machine on our floor didn't work for the first few nights. The televisions are old and when you turned one on, both came on. The first day the maid forgot to make up our room. Luckily she was still on the floor and cleaned it while we went to dinner. Breakfast was crowded and loud and felt dirty. The food choice was limited and although they had eggs and meat, the eggs were inedible. One day we tried the muffin delivery to our room and got two ice cold packaged muffins. One morning we ate pop tarts from the vending machine instead of fighting the crowd for awful food. The room was always clean and they try to appear updated but overall it is a tired and sad hotel and I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Good things included cleanliness of rooms, prompt and efficient daily maid service, little road noise even though not far off highway, plenty of fast food within walking distance (Wendy's, KFC, Burger King, Long John Silvers), close proximity to Surprise Stadium for spring training games (and not too far from Goodyear and Peoria Sports Complex),and close drive to Walmart, Target, Kohl's, etc.

Some bad things, however. Elevator serving back section of hotels was out of order for at least the five days of our stay, as was the ice machine on our floor. You sometimes can hear the noise from other units above and next to you (especially little kids running overhead). People working front desk could at least pretend to be friendly to hotel guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have stayed at Windmill Suites in Surprise a number of times over the last 5 years, and when booking this year, a mistake was made in our reservation. We contacted the reservation number, and Marilyn took great measures to correct the error, and was OUTSTANDING in customer service! We stay there while we are attending Cactus League Spring Training Games and unfortunatly, we had to cancel our reservation for this year as I was taken ill the morning of departure,and had to postpone our trip. In cancelling our reservation we again dealt with Marilyn who was most efficient and gracious, and genuinely dissapointed that she would not be seeing us!! When we get back to Arizona, we WILL be staying at the WINDMILL SUITES again. The entire staff at the hotel have always been most gracious and professional!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I had booked a king suite on Orbitz, but when we arrived at the room it was a double standard. I called the front desk and was told that the hotel was completely full and that they had no king roms available. They said maybe they could move us after a couple of days. After dinner while I was exploring the hotel I went back to the front desk area and over heard the clerk renting a king suite for the night. "Oh sure, they had plenty of rooms!" When I confronted him, he lied and said that he had told me that he had a king room for two nights but not our whole stay. He also told me that Orbitz customers got "whatever was available." When I pressed, he found a king suite for our entire stay. I was a little miffed to say the least. I also complained to Orbitz! Overall it's not a bad place, but our first room smelled like it had been closed up for awhile. We didn't eat the breakfast. It was clean and our second room was spacious. I had to log into the Internet EVERY time I went online. They should also update their televisions, but they both worked fine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon coast
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The shampoo bottles were tiny, the eggs at breakfast a little weird, one elevator seemed to be permanently out of order ... that's about all I could find to complain about! The room was a bit of an odd design but very spacious with a nice sitting area with couch and desk. We were worried about the noisy vending/ice machines across the hall, but the insulation was good enough that they never bothered us. There were two big windows with screens which could be cranked open for fresh air on mild days ... and the housekeeping staff were smart enough to leave them open for us rather than shut everything up and turn on the AC freeze machine. Breakfast was good with quite a few choices (maybe a few more fruit options would be welcome), pool area nice, plenty of parking. Great location if you are playing at the Surprise Tennis Center or attending spring training at Surprise or Peoria ball parks. Lots of restaurant choices in Surprise. White Tank Mountain Park is a few miles away ... the waterfall trail is interesting, easy and beautiful. Our week at the Windmill cost $1,175 on an Orbitz deal, which I thought was reasonable during the high season.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel was fine. Clean rooms, a little tired.

Breakfast was terrible but included. Powdered eggs and people essentially fighting for them. Just enough to get by, not good at all. The poor lady bringing the food out was getting hammered by the guests. She did not speak much english and people were yelling for more greasy sausage.

Carpet and furniture needs to be updated. Had the 1BR which was nice because there was a sliding door and separate LR for kids. Small "kitchen" with micro and mini-fridge.

Staff was nice at check in. Didn't have much interaction after check in.

Safe, clean, and affordable. Good for a night or two. Not the ritz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windmill Suites in Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites in Surprise

Address: 12545 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windmill Suites in Surprise 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southwest style all-suite and all non-smoking hotel offers spacious accommodations blending luxury with genuine affordability and valuable amenities. Join us for our free generous continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Windmill Suites in Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites In Surprise Hotel Surprise
Windmill Hotel Surprise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Suites in Surprise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.