We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marilyn was Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Suites in Surprise

Save Saved
You added Windmill Suites in Surprise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Suites in Surprise
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12545 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Surprise
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Marilyn was Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have stayed at Windmill Suites in Surprise a number of times over the last 5 years, and when booking this year, a mistake was made in our reservation. We contacted the reservation number, and Marilyn took great measures to correct the error, and was OUTSTANDING in customer service! We stay there while we are attending Cactus League Spring Training Games and unfortunatly, we had to cancel our reservation for this year as I was taken ill the morning of departure,and had to postpone our trip. In cancelling our reservation we again dealt with Marilyn who was most efficient and gracious, and genuinely dissapointed that she would not be seeing us!! When we get back to Arizona, we WILL be staying at the WINDMILL SUITES again. The entire staff at the hotel have always been most gracious and professional!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    48
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
114
71
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I had booked a king suite on Orbitz, but when we arrived at the room it was a double standard. I called the front desk and was told that the hotel was completely full and that they had no king roms available. They said maybe they could move us after a couple of days. After dinner while I was exploring the hotel I went back to the front desk area and over heard the clerk renting a king suite for the night. "Oh sure, they had plenty of rooms!" When I confronted him, he lied and said that he had told me that he had a king room for two nights but not our whole stay. He also told me that Orbitz customers got "whatever was available." When I pressed, he found a king suite for our entire stay. I was a little miffed to say the least. I also complained to Orbitz! Overall it's not a bad place, but our first room smelled like it had been closed up for awhile. We didn't eat the breakfast. It was clean and our second room was spacious. I had to log into the Internet EVERY time I went online. They should also update their televisions, but they both worked fine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon coast
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The shampoo bottles were tiny, the eggs at breakfast a little weird, one elevator seemed to be permanently out of order ... that's about all I could find to complain about! The room was a bit of an odd design but very spacious with a nice sitting area with couch and desk. We were worried about the noisy vending/ice machines across the hall, but the insulation was good enough that they never bothered us. There were two big windows with screens which could be cranked open for fresh air on mild days ... and the housekeeping staff were smart enough to leave them open for us rather than shut everything up and turn on the AC freeze machine. Breakfast was good with quite a few choices (maybe a few more fruit options would be welcome), pool area nice, plenty of parking. Great location if you are playing at the Surprise Tennis Center or attending spring training at Surprise or Peoria ball parks. Lots of restaurant choices in Surprise. White Tank Mountain Park is a few miles away ... the waterfall trail is interesting, easy and beautiful. Our week at the Windmill cost $1,175 on an Orbitz deal, which I thought was reasonable during the high season.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel was fine. Clean rooms, a little tired.

Breakfast was terrible but included. Powdered eggs and people essentially fighting for them. Just enough to get by, not good at all. The poor lady bringing the food out was getting hammered by the guests. She did not speak much english and people were yelling for more greasy sausage.

Carpet and furniture needs to be updated. Had the 1BR which was nice because there was a sliding door and separate LR for kids. Small "kitchen" with micro and mini-fridge.

Staff was nice at check in. Didn't have much interaction after check in.

Safe, clean, and affordable. Good for a night or two. Not the ritz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I and another couple spent 5 nights at the Windmill Suites. We arrived at the hotel at 2 PM and they said check in was at 4 so we should come back then. We went across the parking lot and had lunch. Back at :4:00, rooms still weren't quite ready. No biggie, but they didn't ask if we would like to be on the same floor as our friends. They just put us on the first floor at the end with the pop and food vending machines and ice maker. Our friends were given a room on the 3rd floor. We had requested a king bed but we were given 2 queens. When we drove the car around to the back, the elevator was broken so our friends walked their luggage back down the hall to another elevator.
The room itself was quite nice, better than most other chains, with a separate bedroom, which was nice because it was noisy in the morning when people were using the machines. I liked the fact that there were two sinks, one in the bathroom, one outside the bathroom so we each had our own sink. The little dresser under the TV was useful. The suite was very clean and the beds and pillows were spotless and very comfortable. I liked the clean white comforters instead of bedspreads. The tiny kitchenette had a small fridge, microwave, sink and coffee maker. We asked for some dishes and utensils and they brought a container that had good ceramic dishes, coffee cups, and silverware which was convenient when we got together for wine and hor d'oeuvres.
Very heavy water pressure in the shower made it difficult to wash my hair. There was no adjustment. The TVs were the old tube style. I was surprised they hadn't replaced them. The wifi never worked at all in our room, so I had to turn off the network on my phone. Our friends found the business center on the 2nd floor so we were able to print out our boarding passes (You must ask for a key at the front desk). We weren't told about it when we checked in.
A couple suggestions for the owners: Replace the TVs and put more information in the folders in the rooms. We had to ask for an airport shuttle list. Maybe I missed it but there was no list of restaurants nearby, other than the one in the parking lot, Tivoli's, which wasn't fine dining, although they had decent food. The desk staff person who checked us in didn't seem interested in offering any help other than handing us our keys, one of which didn't work, so we couldn't get in the back door. We went back and were told to keep the cards away from our phones. Oh really? I've never been told that before and if that were true, why weren't we informed of that strange fact?
The breakfast was OK. The cleaning staff were all very friendly and did a great job.
Due to the road construction, the traffic was awful in the area. Actually, the traffic all over Phoenix was very congested.
Would I stay here again? Yes, if we were going to be in that area, I would stay there. It was better than a Hampton Inn or Comfort Inn, but there was room for improvement.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor in the back near the machines. Check to see if the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just returned from spending 4 nights at the Windmill Suites in Surprise, which was our second visit to this hotel. Bell Road is a very long street which runs from Surprise all the way to Glendale. It is a very busy street with hotels, restaurants and shopping all along the way. Most of the hotels on this street are just buildings with parking lots; nothing pretty to look at and lots of traffic and noise, which is why the Windmill is so great. It faces Bell Road but sits back on a small frontage road so you don't notice any noise from Bell Road. The grounds of this hotel are beautiful; a beautiful courtyard and pool, lots of grass and a large pond in front. There is a nice outdoor patio and many of the rooms have their own patio out onto the courtyard. It's a very relaxing atmosphere. The property is very well maintained.

The rooms are perfect! There is a living room area which has a couch, a small chair and a nice size work desk. No, the TV is not a flat screen but it worked perfectly and the picture was great and that's all that is important to us. The king size bed (which was very comfortable) is in a separate room which has sliding doors. The bathroom has 2 dressing areas; one outside of the bathroom and one inside with two entrances to the bathroom. There is also a kitchenette with a sink, microwave and refrigerator and a bar with two stools if you want to eat in the room. The room was nicely furnished and very clean. The internet was very fast and we had no problems with it at all during our 4-day stay.

The breakfast was very good. Each day we had eggs, bacon & sausage, biscuts & gravy, and waffles. There was no oatmeal but they did have cold cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, rolls, and fruit.

The staff at this hotel is very friendly and the customer service is great. The hotel is pet-friendly (there are pet-friendly rooms) and unlike most hotels in the area, there is no pet fee. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Windmill Suites in Surprise and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I would rate this place 5 stars. The wifi they advertised as high speed was for the most part non existent. I asked at the front desk if there was a better place to access it besides our room (228) and the desk clerk said it was not working and that the system guy for the hotel did not want to look at it. Say what? They had a business center with 2 PCs but just about every time we used it, one of the them was down. But on the good side, the hotel was very clean. We loved the pool and hot tub as the weather was nice and warm the week we were there Feb 8 thru Feb 15. The breakfast in the morning was the usual fare. We ended up going to the Burger KIng next to the hotel so we could have some wifi. They had a nice assortment of morning papers. We loved having the option of opening our windows and letting the cool air in at night. Overall I am going to say we would stay there again if we make it back to AZ.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windmill Suites in Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites in Surprise

Address: 12545 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windmill Suites in Surprise 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southwest style all-suite and all non-smoking hotel offers spacious accommodations blending luxury with genuine affordability and valuable amenities. Join us for our free generous continental breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Windmill Suites in Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites In Surprise Hotel Surprise
Windmill Hotel Surprise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Suites in Surprise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.