We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience as always!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Surprise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Surprise to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16540 N Bullard, Surprise, AZ 85374   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience as always!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stay at the Holiday Inn Express Surprise every year for Texas Rangers Spring Training. Always a wonderful experience! Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is always exceptional - helpful, friendly and earnestly caring! We did experience TV problems on this stay. Every time we turned off the TV, when we turned it on again, we had to unplug it and let it "reset" itself - a little annoying. But once it was actually on, it was fine. I reported it, so hopefully they will have it fixed before the next people check in. So, other than that little annoyance, everything was great. I'd definitely recommend it if you need accommodations in the Surprise area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
27
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is in a great location and is very neat, clean and well maintained. We stayed here 1 night and would definitely stay here again. The bed is very high so if you are short it's a little challenging to get up on the bed but it was the most comfortable bed we had on our journey. The breakfast was also the best that we had on this trip. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They make you feel at home. The fan in the room was noisy when it came on and made the TV hard to hear when it was running. I would also ask for a room on the top floor and away from the elevator. We had a room right around the corner from the elevators and could hear people talking and rolling their luggage to the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed in a suite at this hotel January 2014 and liked the room which had 2 queen beds. Beds were firm but a bit too high for senior disabled citizens. Asked for a step stool and was given a step ladder which we couldn't use.

The free continental breakfast was good and had quite a selection. Staff was friendly and courteous. It is so convenient close to the Surprise stadium where the Texas Rangers and Kansas City Royals do spring training.

It is also a short drive to restaurants and grocery stores so you can buy supplies like water and snacks. Catholic church is also not that far. Ample parking is available too at the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
MUD143,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that our beds were a little high and that we did not have a step stool for you to use. I will make sure to pick a couple up from the store so that they are available for our guests. Again, thank you for your review.

Ian Galligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times since it opened. Our experience has been very positive. It's extremely clean and well maintained. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping are very friendly and helpful. They make us feel welcome....like we're special guests. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Surprise, AZ. Right next to baseball stadium. Beautiful property, great staff and excellent breakfast. The hotel was completely full, but it was very quiet in the rooms. Nice outdoor area for walking and a nice pool area, although it was too cool for swimming while we were there.

Room Tip: We always ask for a top floor room just so there isn't noise above us, but not sure it would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Value-wise, this was a good pick for a two day stay. We would imagine that when the Grapefruit League of baseball is in session, that prices are much higher. The hotel is adjacent to many sporting facilities especially baseball, which leads to a lot of teams staying there. To their credit, parents or organizers keep the aderelin fuelled sporting rush go an absolute minimum

A good room with coffee, micro, fridge, WIFI, flat screnn TV and well lit bathroom.
Sometimes the card locks to your room are inoperative. Thuis was a major pain in the [--] .

The reception was ok but oftentimes you had to wait for someone to notice that people are waiting.

There were a lot of squeaks, especially in the bed ( no laughing here). You can't turn over without a major groan from the bed.....or floor.

Breakfast in a large well lit room with fare on ther lower end of the healthy scale. The attendent was well behind the curve on getting required items out. A struggle to keep up with the in demand items. The breakfast area is very bpoorly laid out with all the food items and the only garbage can on the same wall. Lots of congestion.

Acceptable price but lacking in so many ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear trafdlo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time with us. We were truly pleased to see your scores for Cleanliness and Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a fastpitch softball tournament at Sunrise Farms. This is a great place to stay. It's a newer property, very clean and the staff is excellent. We used the pool and hot tub and they were both excellent. The hot breakfast is pretty standard for HI Express's; however, the staff working the breakfast kept everything clean and tidy and stocked. You won't be disappointed with this place.

Tip: This property is within walking distance to the Royal's Surprise spring training facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the non-street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Surprise

Address: 16540 N Bullard, Surprise, AZ 85374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Surprise
#5 Business Hotel in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Surprise Hotel Located in a Growing Community From booming business districts to breath-taking landscapes, the Surprise, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites neighbors attractions for every taste. Our Surprise hotel stands only thirty miles from downtown Phoenix, in one of the nation's fastest growing communities. Business travelers will enjoy our convenient location near Arizona's thriving businesses. Our Surprise, Arizona hotel near Phoenix's Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and Deer Valley Airport (DVT) makes it easier to travel in and out of the area. Our Greater Phoenix hotel is also located near many major businesses, such as Toyota, Volvo Ford and Daimler-Chrysler. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being surrounded by Speedworld Raceway, Glendale Arena , multiple top-rated golf courses and both Peoria and Surprise stadiums (Spring Training Center for Kansas Royals and Texas Rangers) . Visitors of our Surprise, AZ hotel can also head outdoors to hike Piestewa Peak's popular Summit Trail for a breath-taking view of the city or revel in the beauty of the Desert Botanical Garden's thriving plants. No matter where you go, our newly-built Surprise hotel rooms with free high-speed Internet access will always welcome you back for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Surprise Hotel Surprise
Surprise Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Surprise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Surprise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.