We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency counts in many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Ristorante West

Portofino Ristorante West
12851 W Bell Rd Ste 15, Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 583-1931
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 143 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Consistency counts in many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I and four friends found ourselves back at Portofino's for another great dining experience. Between the six of us we had, Tilapia with veggies, 2 Tilapia with angel hair pasta, Eggplant parmesan, and 2 Veal cutlets. Each meal got rave reviews by those ordering them. The little "free" appetizers that are served in the beginning are really a nice tasty touch. Their salads are equally nice with your choice of dressing. The water, ice tea, and soft drink glasses never run dry. A Waiter is always filling them which is nice to get use to. After dinner I splurged a little on my diet and ordered some type of ice-cream and 6 spoons to share. It was awesome. We will continue to go back as they are incredible. Best time of day, (yes, they do take reservations) is early. Very popular spot, I would suggest arriving at 5:00 PM. Bon Appetite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went here for the first time last night with a group including an older person from Chicago that has eaten at some great Italian restaurants. We were all very impressed with the food, presentation and service. Everything from the bread to dessert was outstanding. The chefs pay attention to quality and presentation. The food was very reasonably priced. On Friday and Saturday nights you are treated to live music from a fellow playing a guitar and singing a variety of songs in English and Italian. Perfect background music. The tables are covered by linen table cloths. Nice touch. The chairs are very comfortable. They are also able to accommodate a large group in the back. You simply cannot go wrong choosing this fine restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best authentic Italian restaurant in the west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been to Portofino Ristorante several times and the food, service and atmosphere is awesome. We have never had a bad meal there. It is always fresh and our servers always have a smile to go with your meal. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone in a heartbeat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“November dinners at Portofino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We liked the atmosphere, the caring staff, and above all the excellent food. On occasion the Head Waiter, who has an excellent voice will treat us with an aria. Just a great place!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Prices, Good Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The title of this review says it all. We are frequent diners during "the season" and find that the food is as genuine Italian as you are going to find in the area. All servers are attentive. You will feel like family on your second or third visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino Ristorante West also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Portofino Ristorante West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Ristorante West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.