We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great. Absolutely great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16418 North Bullard Avenue, Surprise, AZ 85374   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great. Absolutely great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I tried to see the street view using Google but it was outdated and did not correctly reflect what the area looks like. The area seems to be nice, but the hotel was just great. We had a king suite and it was REALLY well decorated, had a great kitchen (fully equipped) and the bed was amazingly comfortable. My husband never sleeps well in hotel rooms and he slept very well here. I didn't like parking my car by an area with apartments, but oh well, it was free and right in front. There was a lot of activity and it seems like a lot of families stay here. The breakfast was decent (not amazing, but decent). I hated Arizona, but if I had to come back here, I would totally stay in this hotel again. The only thing I would have them change is to run the AC in the halls. If you get off on the 4th floor, it's like stepping into a sauna and you want to choke. Otherwise, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    13
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
42
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed at this marriott 11days this time and found it very comfortable with friendly staff. The room layouts are particularly nice, even the studio rooms. We stayed on the first floor because we had our doggie with us and everything was very convenient.

Some of the housekeeping is not quite up to par but this is common with all new facilities until the standards are realized and followed through by all the housekeepers. we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is a new hotel and the unexpected hot breakfast makes you start a day nice and refreshing. I stayed at a studio with kingsize bed, room is trendy and comfortable and the flatscreen TV turns 180 degree, so I could watch Laker game on the sofa and then turned the TV around to watch late night show in bed. Service was great, front desk was always smiling and helpful, the breakfast lady even made a waffle for me. Before I left, two front desk ladies gave me some really helpful tips to relieve my personal worries so I really really appreciate their help. Thank you very much. I like the personal touch of this hotel and I highly recommend you try it out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband and three teenage children, were very pleased with the hotel. When we arrived, we were impressed with the modern decor, and prompt check in. Our room was fabulous, and modern. Be prepared to rest soundly, because the beds were extremely comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you would need to prepare a family meal (plates,cups,eating utensils,etc). The multi level shower head was relaxing.After looking around, we immediatly proceeded to the POOL!!!!!!!! The kids said "the pool is so warm", and there was plenty of towels to dry off with.The hotel provided free hot breakfast, that was better prepared than some restaurants.All 5 family member were happy, and having a variety for 5 , is hard..Overall, our stay was excellent, and the staff were kind and curteous..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

There for the U.S.T.A. Senior National Tournament, the hotel staff, room, and breakfast were all top notch. Everyone was impressed with a new facility that ran so efficiently.
Excellent!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I travel for business frequently and I am a Marriott Rewards platinum member. I just stayed at two nice hotels in Boston and in Chicago, and I can honestly say that this hotel is probably one of my favorite hotels.

When I arrived, Randy was there to greet me at the front desk. I have experienced many customer service issues with Marriott recently, and I found Randy to be very welcoming and helpful. He made me feel like I was the only guest there.

The hotel is new and absolutely wonderful. My room was large and I had a view of the baseball field a couple of blocks away. The area is very new and under development. The bed was comfortable, each surface was covered with granite, and I fell in love with my large flat-screen tv. I had a great kitchen, with maple cabintry and stainless steel appliances. The bathroom was large and clean, and the shower was great. I had everything I needed and I felt very much at home. The kitchen was nice enough that I would have enjoyed using it to cook a meal.

On my second night, I walked in feeling very tired from a long day at work. Randy was there to welcome me by name and invited me to join them for a barbeque. This hotel has a very nice eating area that expands outdoors with a nice (granite-top) barbeque grill and large fire pit. I could not believe that this hotel actually provides an evening barbeque for their guests. I am booking my next flight to stay here again!

There is free breakfast in the morning, along with coffee and a newspaper. There is a pool outside and basketball court.. I was too tired to get in shape, but the fitness center looked amazing with modern equipment that had tvs at each station.

I love Marriott and have stayed at many of their upscale properties. I am not sure I have ever enjoyed my stay or have felt more at home than I have at this hotel. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We were truly impressed with the generous size of the Studio room, consisting of a living area, modern well equipped kitchen with granite counter top and full size DW.
It has a large BR offset to the side with a separate vanity area and nice bathroom. The furnishings and esp. the decor were in good taste. The bedding was of the quality of a much more expensive hotel. The breakfast buffet was plentyful, but I enjoyed the freshly baked waffle and excellent coffee.
The Staff was friendly and helpful. I don't write these reviews often, but this hotel really
deserves to be praised! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise

Address: 16418 North Bullard Avenue, Surprise, AZ 85374
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surprise
#1 Family Hotel in Surprise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Residence Inn N/W Phoenix Surprise Arizona - the closest extended stay hotel to Luke Air Force Base, Banner Sun Health Research Institute, Ford Proving Grounds and Toyota Proving Grounds. Located next door to Surprise Stadium home of the Texas Rangers and Kansas City Royals and near Peoria Sports Complex, Camelback Ranch and Goodyear Ballpark discover why the Residence Inn Surprise N/W Phoenix is the premier hotel for Arizona Cactus League Spring Training. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Phoenix Nw Surprise Hotel Surprise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.