We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Of The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16418 North Bullard Avenue, Surprise, AZ 85374   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Best Of The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This Hotel is one GREAT Property, Marriott has gone over the edge to find great staff . We were here for a week and had a blast. Free Hot Breakfast each and every morning, not your typical Bagals and cereals but scrambled Eggs, Ham, French Toast, Hot Oat Meal, Yougurt fruit Cups, and a whole lot more. The rooms super clean, Pool very well maintained, About 3 nights a week they have a social hour free Food!!! Yes FREE one night it was Pizza, another was BBQ Hot Dogs and Burgers, salads, Beer and wine Soft drinks. Very handy to Airport about 30 mins, lots of shopping close and other great resteraunts. Trust me you Cannot go wrong!!! Also they had a BBQ if you wanted to cook your own steaks and stuff and an outdoor Fir Pit to sit and relax at night in the desert!!

Room Tip: We had a Fireplace one Bedroom Suite, Full kitchen but what I could see all rooms were great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    11
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
35
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a night at the Residence Inn and found the service to be friendly and the beds and pillows comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean and well maintained and it was very quiet at night for sleeping. I understand it is only 3 years old. It is ideal for spring training because it is about a 2 minute walk to the stadium. It is very close to Sun City and was about a 20 minute drive to the Mariner's stadium. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

New property. Very clean. Ample parking. Front desk staff were great... I'd definitely stay again. No complaints from me...


I was there during the BCS Fiesta Bowl. . A lot of unhappy Kansas St folks and several VERY happy Oregon fans. Not that I was routing for either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My son and I took a road trip from L.A. to Arizona and chose this hotel because of the very short walk to Surprise Stadium. Great location for Spring Training games. The hotel was new, clean, updated and modern. Full kitchen with everything you need to cook a meal, if you so desire, large room, bathroom and free wi-fi, full breakfast with waffle maker, and my 7 year old LOVED the basketball court! Very helpful staff. We will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is very new and nicely taken care of. The breakfast staff along with the front desk were very helpful with everything. The rooms were big with nice kitchens in case you wanted to do a little cooking. All in all just a wonderful hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my rental car somehow got a dead battery and their maintenance people gave me a jump right away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great if the kids are along ask for a 2 bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is great! When we stay at a hotel, we like to have a place to relax other than sitting on the bed. Every room at this hotel is a suite with a full kitchen (to include microwave and dishwasher), as well as a 2 person table, desk, sofa, and easy chair. The TV swivels so you can view from the living area or the bed. The bathroom is spacious with a lot of counter space, drawers, under cabinet storage, large closet which has an ironing board and iron. There are so many small touches that were considered in this hotel such as non-slamming drawers (when closing the drawer, it slows down and gently closes itself and doors that do not slam so you do not disturb other guests). The hotel also provides such amenities as self service laundry mat , a weekly complementary BBQ (hot dogs, hamburgers, etc), weekly complementary happy hour, and a fantastic full breakfast every morning. The staff is very nice and helpful. Everyone we dealt with was so pleasant! The location is great if you're there for a Spring Training event. We were there exploring the area for a possible retirement location. The Surprise area has everything you could need from restaurants to shopping. We have stayed twice in the past 14 months and will definitely stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators as the halls are little long but not unreasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked our Spring Break trip to Phoenix and was excited to stay at this property near the stadium. Somehow our reservations got mixed up and our date of stay ended up being reserved for Feb and not March which we intended. The reservation was only for one night and I called to tell them what had happened. Spoke to a nice employee of the hotel who referred me to the manager. Marriott was completely unwilling to refund or even provide a voucher for another night stay, instead they charged me $200 for a room I never used. We travel to Phoenix every year and we'll be sure to avoid this property from now on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha C, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Justin,
I must apologize for your unfortunate circumstance. As you can see from the previous entries we make customer service our highest priority and want every guest to have a positive and memorable experience.
You made your reservation through a third party booking sight (booking.com). It states on their sight that all changes must be made through them and that they have a mandatory 24 hour cancellation policy. This is in place to protect any financial loss to the hotels for holding rooms and the reservation not being actualized. When reservations are made through a third party booking sight it really ties the hands of the hotel and what we can do for you.
I can understand why this situation could leave a negative impression on you. I wish that the rules would be more clearly outlined on these sights.
I welcome the opportunity to have you be our guest during Spring Training. I think you will find our hotel the best place to be with outstanding service.
Samantha Callahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise

Address: 16418 North Bullard Avenue, Surprise, AZ 85374
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Residence Inn N/W Phoenix Surprise Arizona - the closest extended stay hotel to Luke Air Force Base, Banner Sun Health Research Institute, Ford Proving Grounds and Toyota Proving Grounds. Located next door to Surprise Stadium home of the Texas Rangers and Kansas City Royals and near Peoria Sports Complex, Camelback Ranch and Goodyear Ballpark discover why the Residence Inn Surprise N/W Phoenix is the premier hotel for Arizona Cactus League Spring Training. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Phoenix Nw Surprise Hotel Surprise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix NW Surprise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.