We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words, "Stay Away"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Sunridge

The Lodge at Sunridge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surprise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Sunridge
Save
You added The Lodge at Sunridge to your Saves list
12129 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374   |  
Hotel amenities
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Two words, "Stay Away"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were having some storm damage repairs/termite control done to our home in Surprise, AZ and were looking for an inexpensive/furnished place to rent for just a month. We found this place online that was right down Bell Rd and the price was right. The old saying is you get what you pay for and this place truly typified that statement.

Right from the start as we moved in we noticed the kind of place this is. First off the elevator (3 floors) had a urine smell to it. Out apartment (#334) had a very bad stench to it and it was hard to breathe. The furniture was dated and dirty. There was actually a burn mark from an iron in the carpet. The bathroom was filthy and dated. We spent the first few hours actually cleaning the place and washing the walls so we could breathe. When we first arrived we asked the building manager for another place but they were full (The economy was really bad at that time) The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the kitchen items were dirty as well. There were also broken outlets in the bedroom as well. They had a lot of plastic flower arrangements throughout the apt and they too were dusty. We actually took them and put them on the balcony for the duration of our stay.

The neighbors are a questionable bunch of characters some of whom look like welfare recipients. The only fortunate thing about our stay was that we were on a quieter side of this establishment. This place looks nice from the outside but believe me inside it's a different story. Should we ever have to take up temporary residence anywhere, I will shell out more money next time and stay at an Embassy Suites.

Stay away from this place. It's really falling apart. Finally when we left the place it was like leaving a third world country.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Why didn't I check this out on Trip Advisor first.... When we first arrived sent to condo that smelled terible, saw the kitchen and we were out of there and back at the desk asking for a different room. Next one no smell but still not very clean and now one room double bed other 2 singles. Had been told would be 2 doubles, John at the desk who runs the place "lady I can't give you perfection" Pots and pans should have been thrown out. We went out and bought our own. Plus cooking utensils were filthy. Bought those as well.
The last night we were there 4 policeman 2 with assault rifles show up to check out some sort of disturbance in the condo next to us. The reaction at the front desk when I told them "oh that's not one of the condos we rent". They had a pat answer for eveything, never an apology . Please don't ever stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Moving truck was stolen the first night there. We were told they had security cameras, they even post that they do. You can see them. They did NOT tell us the police (who FREQUENT this place, check with Surprise Police Dept) have been asking them for years to fix the cameras.

Got out as quickly as possible (found another rental). It was also smelly, old & dirty furnishings, broken appliances.

This place should be shut down!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We rented a one-bedroom unit for a week at a very reasonable price. The unit itself was ok; everything worked fine but the big issue was noise through very 'thin' walls. If you're not a light sleeper you'll do fine. We had to keep the HVAC fan on all night so we would not hear tvs and talking from another unit all night. Yes, ALL night. For a week. It could be we were next to the one person that needed to have the tv on all night for some reason. It wasn't real loud and not like a party going on, but just enough to keep you awake. The place could use some paint, and the furniture was well worn, but you get what you pay for.

The management was very friendly and helpful and the location great as we were looking at property in Sun City West. Next time we go to SCW we'll pay more for a different place, but hopefully be able to sleep better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

The place smelled so badly we had to keep the doors and windows open all day to get rid of the smell. The bathrooms were filthy . There were fruit flies all over the kitchen and living room. The windows were full of dirt and grime. I would never recommend this place to anyone. Worst experience we have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Az
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband and I plus our two cats just relocated to Surprise from Michigan. I found the lodge at Sunridge on the internet. We moved in june 19th 2009, we love it, our unit is very nice and it is clean. We have a two bed two bath, hey don't listen to the bad reviews they are not true. We plan to live here for about a year, until we buy a home. We have brand new furniture in our unit and even the two bedrooms have a TV, and sliders to the balcony. I have a washer and dryer in my unit, what more could you ask for. Internet, cable and landline phone all bills included, for $1017 per month. Oh we large walk in closets also. If you come to Surprise stay at Sunridge you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

We stayed for one week at the Lodge at Sunridge. We did no research on this property as we joined friends to play some very inexpensive basic golf available to the public no real advanced booking needed on 8 different Sun City Courses. They are flat very wide and forgiving and you can walk them all a real plus for the Phoenix area. Enjoyed the casual atmosphere and fast play very much.

Now to the Lodge what a shock. This is basically one of those low rent ghettos would not be so bad if it was not over $90 per night.

They do let you take the keys for as many suites as you like till you find one you would like. We took number 324 I beleive near Bell road a one bedroom

Cons very shabby dusty carpet this was built in 1987 and has not seen any updating since, rose carpet,. bathroom falling apart. Cleanings between guests are just adequate, not the corners.
Lots of permanent residence with little dogs, they do not leave messes but they yap when you take the stairs. The management made no attempt to fix the fridge. We just used our friends had we been alone we would have insisted on moving. so be warned check everything before you move in. No glamor here like one of those places you used take in desperation when you moved to a new town before the internet.

Pros. New towels, new china, fairly well equipped kitchen for light meals, pool is clean and warm. There was always parking and no road noise. We are not high end travellers but this was just not acceptable for the money. read my other reviews from all over the world I travel often review sometimes when I have something to say that has not been said on Trip Advisor.

  • Liked — The towels and china
  • Disliked — worn out grubby apartment
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Sunridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sunridge

Address: 12129 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Surprise
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Sunridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.