We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boyce Thompson Arboretum

Boyce Thompson Arboretum
37615 US Highway 60, Superior, AZ 85713
520-689-2811
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Superior
Type: State Parks, Gardens
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Vegetation indigenous to the deserts of Arizona and elsewhere can be enjoyed by visitors.
Needham
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is now part of the Arizona State Parks system. Pleasant paths to walk and discover what plants can be grown in Arizona. Many benches for sitting/reading.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    20
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs CO
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We enjoyed walking around the park and looking at all the plants, trees and birds. We were there on December 13 and still had some good fall colors. We spent at least a couple of hours walking around. Most of the trees and plants are labeled. I think it would be a great place for sunset pictures. The scenery surrounding the park is beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA (USA)
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent several hours here the day before Thanksgiving this year. It was a gorgeous fall day -- not to hot and not too cold. The scenery is totally gorgeous! We did the circular walk around the area and it is easy and very pleasant, though not for anyone with disabilities because of some narrow/fairly steep passes and gravel. The Chinese pistache trees were just beginning to "pop"and were already a lovely red. The area has very informative signs and plants/trees of interest are marked well. There is also a nursery outside where one can buy all sorts of wonderful looking plants, including a wide range of succulents, some of which I had never seen. I would definitely take out of town guests if I lived in the area. We stopped at Joe's Farm Grill in Gilbert on the way home, so a good/fun day overall!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Exercise within scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not only is this a beautiful botanical garden filled with thousands of differenct trees, cactus, plants, but the nice walking paths (upper and lower), make for a great place to walk for exercise. The paths are paved, and then you can climb up a little and hike more of a gravel rocky path, that lets you take in the views from a top the wash.

Pros: walking paths, scenery, close parking, gift shop, great stop for day trips to Miami-Globe, Florence area,
Cons: Price at $9 seamed $1 to $2 too much.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“45 minutes from Gilbert/Mesa Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A beautifully laid out sanctuary. Plants, trails, helpful volunteer's make this place a real treat to visit. Whether you spend a few hours or the entire day, you won't be disappointed. Where good shoes, dress comfortably, bring a light jacket, water and your camera. Make sure you stop into the gift shop before leaving. There are coupons for local area restaurants with discounts for breakfast and lunch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyce Thompson Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Boyce Thompson Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyce Thompson Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.