We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting”
Review of Boyce Thompson Arboretum

37615 US Highway 60, Superior, AZ 85273
520-689-2811
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Superior
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Type: State Parks, Gardens
Activities: Walking
Traveler Description: Best time for Fall color? The Arizona Republic bills the Arboretum as our state's "Fall Foliage Finale," and color peaks around Thanksgiving. Foliage... more »
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Boyce Thompson Arboretum
See the most recent reviews
Needham
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is now part of the Arizona State Parks system. Pleasant paths to walk and discover what plants can be grown in Arizona. Many benches for sitting/reading.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs CO
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We enjoyed walking around the park and looking at all the plants, trees and birds. We were there on December 13 and still had some good fall colors. We spent at least a couple of hours walking around. Most of the trees and plants are labeled. I think it would be a great place for sunset pictures. The scenery surrounding the park is beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA (USA)
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent several hours here the day before Thanksgiving this year. It was a gorgeous fall day -- not to hot and not too cold. The scenery is totally gorgeous! We did the circular walk around the area and it is easy and very pleasant, though not for anyone with disabilities because of some narrow/fairly steep passes and gravel. The Chinese pistache trees were just beginning to "pop"and were already a lovely red. The area has very informative signs and plants/trees of interest are marked well. There is also a nursery outside where one can buy all sorts of wonderful looking plants, including a wide range of succulents, some of which I had never seen. I would definitely take out of town guests if I lived in the area. We stopped at Joe's Farm Grill in Gilbert on the way home, so a good/fun day overall!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Exercise within scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not only is this a beautiful botanical garden filled with thousands of differenct trees, cactus, plants, but the nice walking paths (upper and lower), make for a great place to walk for exercise. The paths are paved, and then you can climb up a little and hike more of a gravel rocky path, that lets you take in the views from a top the wash.

Pros: walking paths, scenery, close parking, gift shop, great stop for day trips to Miami-Globe, Florence area,
Cons: Price at $9 seamed $1 to $2 too much.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“45 minutes from Gilbert/Mesa Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A beautifully laid out sanctuary. Plants, trails, helpful volunteer's make this place a real treat to visit. Whether you spend a few hours or the entire day, you won't be disappointed. Where good shoes, dress comfortably, bring a light jacket, water and your camera. Make sure you stop into the gift shop before leaving. There are coupons for local area restaurants with discounts for breakfast and lunch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyce Thompson Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Boyce Thompson Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyce Thompson Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.