We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boyce Thompson Arboretum

Boyce Thompson Arboretum
37615 U.S. Highway 60, Superior, AZ 85713
+1 520-689-2811
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Superior
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boyce Thompson Arboretum is located in the heart of the Sonoran Desert, just one hour east of Phoenix, Arizona. Three miles of garden paths and trails wind through 392 acres of plant exhibits and striking landscapes. Over 2,600 different types of plants from the deserts of Australia, North and South America, southern Africa, and other arid-land regions of the world blend seamlessly into an incomparable natural setting. Nestled along Queen Creek at the foot of Picketpost Mountain, the Arboretum is a haven for plant lovers, photographers, birders, and nature enthusiasts of all ages.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is now part of the Arizona State Parks system. Pleasant paths to walk and discover what plants can be grown in Arizona. Many benches for sitting/reading.

Visited April 2012
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs CO
Level Contributor
166 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We enjoyed walking around the park and looking at all the plants, trees and birds. We were there on December 13 and still had some good fall colors. We spent at least a couple of hours walking around. Most of the trees and plants are labeled. I think it would be a great place for sunset pictures. The scenery surrounding the park is beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA (USA)
Level Contributor
233 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent several hours here the day before Thanksgiving this year. It was a gorgeous fall day -- not to hot and not too cold. The scenery is totally gorgeous! We did the circular walk around the area and it is easy and very pleasant, though not for anyone with disabilities because of some narrow/fairly steep passes and gravel. The Chinese pistache trees were just beginning to "pop"and were already a lovely red. The area has very informative signs and plants/trees of interest are marked well. There is also a nursery outside where one can buy all sorts of wonderful looking plants, including a wide range of succulents, some of which I had never seen. I would definitely take out of town guests if I lived in the area. We stopped at Joe's Farm Grill in Gilbert on the way home, so a good/fun day overall!

Visited November 2012
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
180 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Exercise within scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not only is this a beautiful botanical garden filled with thousands of differenct trees, cactus, plants, but the nice walking paths (upper and lower), make for a great place to walk for exercise. The paths are paved, and then you can climb up a little and hike more of a gravel rocky path, that lets you take in the views from a top the wash.

Pros: walking paths, scenery, close parking, gift shop, great stop for day trips to Miami-Globe, Florence area,
Cons: Price at $9 seamed $1 to $2 too much.

Visited November 2012
Thank BuddysArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“45 minutes from Gilbert/Mesa Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A beautifully laid out sanctuary. Plants, trails, helpful volunteer's make this place a real treat to visit. Whether you spend a few hours or the entire day, you won't be disappointed. Where good shoes, dress comfortably, bring a light jacket, water and your camera. Make sure you stop into the gift shop before leaving. There are coupons for local area restaurants with discounts for breakfast and lunch.

Visited November 2012
Thank Paulalalahhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyce Thompson Arboretum also viewed

Apache Junction, Central Arizona

Been to Boyce Thompson Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing