We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Havasupai camping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havasu Falls Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Supai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Havasu Falls Campground
Havasu Canyon, P.O. Box 160, Supai, AZ 86435   |  
Hotel amenities
Valencia, California
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Havasupai camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently camped 3 nights here. After you make the 10 mile trek to the campground the only thing you'll want to do is to grab the first available site and collapse. Gather up your energy and walk a little farther down through the campground. You'll come to a tree canopy that covers both sides of the flowing creek and the campsites there. You'll appreciate the shade the trees offer and you'll have creekside property! There are about 10-12 campsites available in that area. The only downside to this section of the campground is that you will have a nice little trek to the natural spring water...your only source of drinking water in the canyon. We drank the water straight from the spiket. It was clear, clean and delicious. We used both hammocks and tents. The weather was warm enough to sleep comfortably in either one. There are 4-5 bathrooms scattered throughout the campground. They are clean and were always well stocked, but can get smelly with the heat. Avoid the middle stalls; no windows for circulation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Difficult to get to, but so worth the effort. Make sure you get an early start for your hike in and out. The campsites are awesome. The bathrooms were well stocked with toilet paper and hand sanatizer and pretty clean. The waterfalls are beautiful. Enjoyed every minute of this trip

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well I'd have to say there's really no way you should rate this below a 5 out of 5....for starters Havasu Falls and Mooney Falls are absolutely gorgeous. The blue green water and calcified pool that flow beneath are a stark contrast to the red cliffs surrounding. The campsite is great, the lush vegetation throughout the creek trail down to Mooney/Colorado River is just amazing.

As far as the people some are friendly some are jerks - I dont expect them to be nice to me seeing as how Im white and well, we know whats happened...
When I took the Helicopter the credit card machine worked just fine but the guy was extremely rude to me - I had to check him but he at least saw I wasnt a punk (interesting story...).

I am not reviewing this place as a "resort" or "hotel" because thats not what it is its one of the most beautiful places on Earth and its very cool that you can go there for pretty cheap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We camped one night here .. this place is so nice and chilly and beautifull. Across 1 mile or so you just walk along the river, left and right there are multiple spots in the shade to camp. Couple of restrooms are there with sanitizer dispenser, no washing or shower options as far as I could see, but guess what, there is a huge shower called Havasu Fall :) .. it has its price, ok, 125$ with reservation, but it is worth. Everything: the hike, falls, camping, perfect 2 days!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went with some friends two weeks ago, and it was perfect conditions. The water was warm, the nights were a little cool, but the temperature during the day was around 80. We visited Navajo, Havasu, Mooney, and Beaver Falls. Overall, we had an incredible trip. Here is a short video that highlights our experience. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWPSyFptntE

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

my experience and the hike was awesome. I misjudged the hike and when we went down it took me almost six hours to get to the falls. i was tired and exhausted but the first time i looked at the falls all my strength returned back. The hotel seems like is always reserved so we had to camp and i ahve never camped before so i was under prepared for that too. the helicopters operate only on thursdays fridays, sunday and monday and i was getting out of the reservation on saturday so i had to get horses. i have never ever been on a horse and the people were nice enough to help me manage them. I actually thought the people were nice enough ( may be because i was expecting them to be down right rude- based on previous reviews). They showed me my way and whenever i greeted them , they greeted back ( what more would i want). i kept my questions to minimum and just enjoyed the nature rather than people. i do think that they should put more signs in the hiking trail because it seems never ending. coming back up the horses took four hours, they slowed a little because we were bad riders but still. Also i did not notice it said before, so i am point out that the trail seems a little sandy, so your feet go a little in the ground when walking, i thought it made the hike harder. But if you are planning to go, please do and enjoy your trip, make memories because you will be proud of it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

For most people this is a once in a lifetime experience so do your homework, plan ahead and be prepared. We hiked to the campground carrying full backpacks. We arrived early in the afternoon and found a campsite right along the creek. It was beautiful! The setting is almost too beautiful for words. The red rock canyons rising up on both sides, the creek running through the campgrounds, a perfect view of the star filled sky through the top of the tent! And all of this just a short hike from some of the most beautiful waterfalls in the world! Hiking with the backpack proved to be a little rough so we chose to send our packs out on the donkeys and do the return hike without them. That made a big difference! We planned to stop for breakfast at the cafe in Supai on the way out but, even though the signs advertised breakfast from 6am - 10am the cafe wasn't open at 7:30am. When I asked one of the locals what time the cafe opened he said "whenever they get ready". Fortunately the store was open and we were able to purchase breakfast items there.

Room Tip: Sites are first come first served to get there at early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Supai
Havasupai Lodge 3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews Havasupai Campsite 5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
View all 1 hotels in Supai, ranked by popularity

Been to Havasu Falls Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havasu Falls Campground

Also Known As:
Havasu Falls Campground Hotel
Havasu Falls Campground Hotel Supai
Havasu Falls Hotel Supai
Address: Havasu Canyon, P.O. Box 160, Supai, AZ 86435
Location: United States > Arizona > Supai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Supai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havasu Falls Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Havasu Falls Campground to your Saves list