We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the climb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mooney Falls

Mooney Falls
Supai, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 attractions in Supai
Type: Waterfalls
Activities: Hiking, Rock climbing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This waterfall in the Grand Canyon towers higher than the Niagara Falls.
Westminster, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth the climb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful waterfalls! The climb down was pretty scary for me because i was afraid of height and many places were almost vertical but the rest of my group didn't have any problem. Make sure you have shoes with good traction because near the bottom of the climb the rock was wet due to the mist from the waterfall. Once at the bottom you could hike 3 miles to the spectacular Beaver Falls.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

After reading many blogs and reviews of the scary climb down Mooney Falls, I didn't know what to expect. I must say when I stepped up to the ledge leading down the climb to Mooney Falls I nearly turned back around, but my boyfriend kept going so I didn't want to feel like a wimp.

But after going through the first steep section, which is a short dark tunnel with steps, I felt more comfortable that this climb actually wasn't as bad as everyone makes it out to be. The chains/anchors that run along both sides of your descent actually make the climb very do-able and many of the steps have been molded so they are flat and easier to step on. If you are scared of heights or scared of falling, just do what I did and grip the chains with a death grip and you'll be fine!! The chains and anchors all seem trustworthy and are bolted in pretty good. The two ladders you must go down at the end of the descent are also very stable and are actually anchored to the rock so they are quite sturdy. As some other people have mentioned, if you are short, it is more ideal that someone more confident go before you so they can tell you where to step as you go down. Climbing back up is obviously way easier than going down.

I've heard some people say that the climb is wet and misty? But I didn't experience that at all. I didn't think it was slippery or wet.

If you get to this waterfall and don't think this climb is for you, then don't do it. I can't really say you will be missing out on a great waterfall since the view from the top is amazing enough as it is. Additionally, the waterfall is the tallest and most powerful of the waterfalls which makes it impossible to stand under and really cold to play in (because of all the misty combined with the shady area). If you can just make it down the first tunnel, which is really easy, there is a window in the rock that provides a good opportunity to get a photo of yourself with the waterfall in the background.

On the other hand, if you can make it down the entire climb, it is pretty nice to be able to say you made it down the climb. There are shorter waterfalls further downstream from Mooney that are much more fun to play in than Mooney, but the area is shady for a good latter part of the day so it can get chilly.

A short distance down from some of the short waterfalls is another small waterfall on the side that drips off from a "split" in the creek. This waterfall was actually my favorite one to play in because the water runs off a rock overhang onto the ground so you can actually stand under it like a shower. It was so refreshing! The cave behind it is so gorgeous too!

Watch out for squirrels while you are playing in the water! They love getting into your food and backpacks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Worth seeing - even if only from the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Mooney Falls – “Mother of All Waters” – is gorgeous and definitely worth the hike. If you are in Supai and you have hiked all the way down to Havasu Falls, then keep on going and see Mooney too. Though, I will admit, I admired it from the top and did not climb down.

I will admit that I have a moderate fear of heights – not extreme, but moderate – however, that was enough to make me say no thanks. We started down, but it wasn’t the part with the chains that got to me; it was the part that *didn’t* have chains. Near the top, before you even get very far down the side of the cliff, there is nothing but a 1.5 foot / half-a-meter ledge with no support at all. I am sure the view from the bottom was amazing, but it was pretty enough from the top, and Havasu Falls was more impressive to me.

Before visiting the falls, I read some reviews that warned of a scary descent, and other reviews that brushed it off as no big deal. Everyone will feel a little different about it. I’ve climbed mountains before – scrabbling – with pretty insane drops just below me. So I’m not a stranger of heights…but climbing down a wet, muddy rock slope and then thinking about having to climb back up just wasn’t worth it for me. The father of a German family who was visiting the falls at the same time commented that they started down the side and got halfway down just before we got there, but that he didn’t feel it was safe enough for his kids (ages 11 – 15) to go down to the bottom, so they turned back.

There is a nice “observation deck” of sorts, at the top, a nice ledge where you can get a good view of the falls without having to climb all the way down the side of the cliff.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beware of the danger of this place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The descend down is hazardous, because the trail down is not well structured. There is a chain guiding most of it so you don't fall off the rocks. The last ten feet is a descend down a ladder.

On June 20, 2012, three older teenage boys got too close to the fall and became trapped behind the falls. One of them got sucked into the the fall and drown or crushed to death, or both. Bystanders started CPR, and an anesthesiologist camping nearby came to the rescue, but it was too late or too severe, or both.

LESSON: For visitors, take special precautions when swimming around the fall. Never try to swim behind it for likely you will die.

Leaders of groups should bring rescue ropes and flotation devices in case someone gets sucked behind the fall.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's an adventure climbing down to the falls. Not for those who are truly afraid of heights. If you're short, recommend someone tall go ahead of you and guide you on the footholds in your descent. Good water shoes recommended since bottom of creek is rocky. Go along creek and descend through numerous small falls. It's secluded and fun since most people do not descend further than 1 or 2 small falls.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooney Falls also viewed

 

Been to Mooney Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mooney Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mooney Falls to your Saves list