We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a Heavy Industrial Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royale Krakatau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royale Krakatau to your Saves list
The Royale Krakatau
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. KH. Yasin Beji No. 4, Cilegon, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilegon B&B and Inns
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place in a Heavy Industrial Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I visted Cilegaon to work with a plant and was only there for 3 nights but was amazed at the convenience and location of the Royale Krakatau. Extremely quiet and peaceful with a golf course location, it beats the fact that one doesn't have to drive from Jakarta to Cilegaon daily.

The rooms were nice and the restaurant provided a great place to have a chilled beer sitting in the verandah of the restaurant.

I had issues with the internet but that was minor compared to the other benefits.

Will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleKrakatau, Room Division Manager at The Royale Krakatau, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Riyaz P,

On behalf of the management and the staff of The Royale Krakatau Hotel Cilegon, we would like to extend our appreciation for providing a very positive comments and input for our hotel.

As a newly built 4 star hotel, we fully realized that we still have weakness in internet access, however we are on going progress to resolve this problem which makes our guests inconvenient.

Highly hope that in your next visit, we are able to provide better access internet as per our standart.

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to The Royale Krakatau Hotel Cilegon, banten - Indonesia.

Sincerely,

Susaedi
Room Division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
4
1
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

There are very few options in Cilegon but Royale Krakatau is an excellent place to stay. It is about 2 hours drive from Jakarta and typically for the business traveller visiting Cilegon / Merak like I was. Just stayed one night. The rooms are good and clean. The complimentary internet service worked very well. The Breakfast layout was good as well. There is lot of greenary around. Unfortunately could not enjoy much due to the short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleKrakatau, Room Division Manager at The Royale Krakatau, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Gauash,

First of the all we would like to thank you for your visit to us and we are very pleades that you have enjoyed your very short stay.

On behalf of the management and staff of The Royale Krakatau Hotel Cilegon, we would like to thank you for your good comments.

Its our responsibility to always provide good service to our guests and try to fulfill their requirements.

Again thank you for your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you back in The Royale Krakatau Hotel Cilegon, Banten - Indonesia.

Best Regards,

Susaedi
Room Division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel is big, trendy, but looks slightly run down and old.

All rooms are on the ground floor, spread across the Hotel area. Need buggy to move from one place to another due to the long distance poses.

Strictly for golfers only.

Room also look its age.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleKrakatau, Room Division Manager at The Royale Krakatau, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Melaka Bagus,

First of all we would like to thank you for your visit to us and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.

Much appreciate for your comments on the room appearance look old, It is actually our program to update and change for the interior design that started from August 2012.

Valuable comments and inputs such as yours are very much required to keep improving our product and we hope that we can always provide a 4 star hotel facilities..

We thank you again for your visit and comments and we do look forward to accommodate you in the nearest future. You may contact us through our email address, webmail@royalekrakatau.com should you decide to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Susaedi
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

On a recent business trip for work, the newly opened facity is very good for conferences and receptions, however the food is not really for westerners, but they really try to accomodate you, very clean and the staff are very friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleKrakatau, Room Division Manager at The Royale Krakatau, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Eddie B,

On behalf of the management and the staff of Hotel the Royale Krakatau Cilegon we would like to extend our appreciation for providing a very positive comments and input for our hotel.

It's our responsibility to always provide good service to our guests and try to fulfill their requirements.

Again thank you for your recent stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you back in Hotel The Royal Krakatau Cilegon


Best Regards

SUSAEDI
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royale Krakatau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Krakatau

Address: Jl. KH. Yasin Beji No. 4, Cilegon, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Banten Province > Cilegon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royale Krakatau 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new features of the best go green hotel and poised to be ranked among the best hotels in Banten Province for its exellent service. Strategically located in the heart of Cilegon business district, The Hotel provides 167 convenient rooms that differentiated into two categories - 28 units of cottages in four types and 140 of hotel rooms. Surrounding by the green natural ambient from The Royale Krakatau Golf Court, fledged with Moonstone Karaoke, Royale Spa, Sunstone, Fitness and Pool Center and array of Dining options, will indulge the stay experience, both for your business or leisure guests. For meeting participants, unparalleled site of more than 900 square meters of event space, offers the ideal setting for meeting from a board meeting to a dinner for up to 1500 guests in The Krakatau Convention Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Royale Krakatau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royale Krakatau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.