We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property warm and inviting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel
Save
You added Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel to your Saves list
92 S.Los Encinos Rd, P.O. Box 1291, Sonoita, AZ 85637   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates Start @ $99
Ranked #1 of 4 Sonoita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful property warm and inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We planned a family trip over New Years and traveled with our daughter, son & granddaughter as well as our dog "Lizzie". Bernie and Karen are warm, welcoming and their property affords beautiful views. We stayed in #1 room and even though it was the coldest weather I remember for Arizona our room was cozy and warm, we we able to cook and enjoy games and this room served as our main meeting area. We were disappointed we couldn't enjoy the beautiful patio but saving that for the next trip this spring! Very dog friendly and the Velvet Elvis restaurant a must try. We are already planning a return trip with friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
55
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Xanadu is a beautiful hidden gem in Sonoita, AZ. Near the best Arizona wineries. The "Bunkhouse" is where we stayed, the 4th of the 4 rooms available. It is a nice "home" with a full kitchen, and 2 beds. Private bathroom, and a nice view of the property. Back porch with a table for 2, and rocking chair & bench on the front porch. Bernie & Karen are great hosts, and their pup Jake is a great greeter. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

My wife and another couple travel each year to differant horse ranch, this has to be farmost the best so far, Great acomadations for us and our horses, the riding was awsome their was hours and hours of riding country.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAKERSFIELD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We visited the lovely Xanadu ranch in september 2010 when it was still 110 degrees in Phoenix. The weather down there was perfect, 80's in the daytime, 60's at night. But that wasn't the best part. This place is secluded close to mountains and the clearest skies I have ever seen, ever. At night you will fall in love with the millions of stars over you, the beautiful breeze and even the sound of coyotes at night added to this experience. The room we stayed in was very nice, with a full kitchen, comfortable bed, wifi and tv. You also have a back patio where you can just sit and enjoy the clear skies. I am so sad we had to leave a day early since I had to work but this place had it all. There are wineries close by, mountains to hike and pretty much everything to just get away from it all. Karen, her husband and their dog+horses are the bests hosts ever. They are the kindest, caring people you will meet. They are a big part of why this stay was great and memorable which really will make us go back. If you need time away, go no further.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at Xanadu Ranch with our dog, Scratch, during the nearby Patagonia Fall Festival. Karen and Bernie are amazing hosts and made us feel completely at home. Our room was comfortable and we fell asleep to the sound of water flowing down into the koi pond outside our window and the owls hooting in the distance .Beautiful scenery. Close to lots of wineries. Loved this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We live in Tucson which is desert (although beautiful; very little grass). It is wonderful to know there is a place less than two hours away which is cooler and really green! This is a twenty (20) acre ranch. As such, you are completely surrounded by quiet and nature. The horses are so friendly they eat out of your hand. It feels totally safe here; we slept with the windows and sliding door open all night. The bunkhouse was very clean with a very nicely equipped kitchen; dishes, utensils, coffee, tea, fridge, microwave, etc. Perfect for cooking a meal if we'd stayed more than one night. There were also lots of snacks available at very reasonable prices. The owners, Karen and Bernie, could not be more accommodating. The wine-tasting in Sonoita was so much fun. The wines were way better than we thought they'd be; we bought three bottles. We ate at the Steakout Restaurant and had a very good meal. We rode our Harley here; great scenery. Will definitely do this trip again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Karen and Bernie are wonderful hosts. Great place to relieve your stress and relax. The hammock and Koi pond are very relaxing and the views of the mountains amazing. Very centrally located to all the wineries and the 2-3 restaurants in Sonoita. You can also visit Tombstone, Patagonia, Nogales and Tubac from here. They are all about an hour away. Make sure to visit the Kief-Joshua vineyard. This would be a gret place for a small family reunion. The casita is very nice as well as the other two rooms. The casita has a full kitchen. The bunk house was also very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel

Address: 92 S.Los Encinos Rd, P.O. Box 1291, Sonoita, AZ 85637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sonoita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu Ranch GetAway gives you all the amenities to make your stay your way...At the Xanadu you can make your own hot breakfast in your room, we have 3 units with Full Kitchens or go to one of our local places for breakfast.or just have a cup of coffee or tea on us, in the privacy of your own room or outside at one of our comfortable scenic seating areas, watch a DVD movie (all rooms have satellite TV, DVD players and wireless Internet)***All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots & toasters.We are 1 1/2 miles from the Sonoita Crossroads, close to all the finest Restaurants and Shops, in the heart of wine country...If your coming to do the winery's we would recommend stopping at Charron's vineyards just off I-10 6 miles on the left. Then come here and check in as we have a Wine club card, on your room key for discounts and take some of our wine glasses all this will save $. Also we can give you the latest updates and a wine tour vacation guide. Xanadu Means "A place of great beauty, peace and contentment " Dream Land" ! Trip Advisor's # 1 Pick for Sonoita, Elgin, Patagonia, (The Mountain Empire) Certificate of Excellence Winner from Trip Advisor for 2011 & 2013 & 2014 (A big thanks to all our return guests) The # 1 pick for group gatherings, family reunions, Girl's weekend out, and more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.