We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet and well located retreat with beautiful views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel
92 S.Los Encinos Rd, P.O. Box 1291, Sonoita, AZ 85637   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Sonoita B&B and Inns
houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and well located retreat with beautiful views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We search for friendliness in a beautiful setting from where we can do our hiking, horseback riding, taking in the sights and relaxing. Karen and Bernie provide exactly that! A very comfortable casita with beautiful views and all the necessities.....well kept ranch with relaxing outdoor settings.....close to good eating places and market for snacks.....minutes from wineries. We will be back! Thanks for your wonderful hospitality. Sandy and Joe Sullivan Houston, TX

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
49
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

The Xanadu Guest Ranch is located in gorgeous high Sonoran Desert country, surrounded by ranches and hills and distant mountains. The ranch itself, originally built in 1911, is comprised of a main house and guests quarters on horse friendly property. Bernie and Karen are warm and friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have as relaxing a stay as possible. There is a gurgling koi stocked fishpool to stretch out next to in deck chairs, or you can swing in the hammock, listening to the wind in the trees. The rooms are tidy and spacious and outfitted with everything you'll need. There is a snack shack in the main building stocking cereal, yogurt, fruit, and also delicious mangosteen juice among other things for purchase. Near the inn, in Sonoita, is the Stakeout, a fine western style restaurant where you'll get one of the best margaritas in the region!

At night, walk out under a panoply of dazzling stars and listen to coyotes singing.

Also don't miss the Sonoita Vineyard, a 20 minute drive away from Xanadu, where you can taste and purchase fine table wines. .
We had a truly wonderful stay and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Xanadu Ranch is located on a beautiful, rolling-grassland ranch around a mile south of the crossroads of Sonoita. It is smack in the middle of Arizona wine country and practically within a stone throw of the fairgrounds, some small shops, and a few good restaurants. It’s a perfect place to relax and unwind while enjoying life’s simple pleasures.

Karen and Bernie are the perfect hosts. They are friendly and their ability to make you feel comfortable appear effortless; they seem to really enjoy what they do. They offer a hybrid B and B experience; you have the choice to order a continental breakfast basket to enjoy in your room or in one of their outdoor sitting areas (which include a patio with a table, hammock, and beautiful views of the mountains, or an area with a soothing Koi pond and equally beautiful vistas).

We stayed in the casita which was extremely cozy and also had great views (especially out the large kitchen window). The bed was comfy and the kitchen was appointed with a small refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee maker. We enjoyed getting up in the morning, making a pot of coffee, and enjoying it in both our room and out on the patio while chatting with Karen, or Bernie, or other guests, or just vegging out by ourselves while spotting gigantic jackrabbits and other wildlife.

This was the first trip in a long time where my husband and I actually felt relaxed. Aside from attending horse races one day at the fairgrounds and having a couple nice suppers at two of the local restaurants, we decided not to do a most of things on our hypothetical activities list (like wine tasting or fishing in one of the nearby lakes) and simply enjoyed the peace and quiet. We didn’t want to leave. We will definitely stay at the Xanadu Ranch again (we’re just looking for a reason now). Thanks Karen and Bernie!

  • Liked — Comfortable, attractive, relaxed, and great views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

I had a wonderful stay at the Xanadu. Bernie and Karen are very friendly, welcoming hosts who are always available if needed. The rooms are airy and comfortable with lots of ammenities (microwave, fridge, Satellite TV, wifi) and above all - clean. The property is beautiful with spectacular views and a short distance from town. I was out most of the day, but so looked forward to my return in the evenings, greeted by their two horses and Jake the dog. I enjoyed my stay so much, I am heading back in September..

  • Liked — Private, very clean, quiet and the hosts are very warm, friendly and accessible if needed.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

Xanadu was all we expected and more. Quiet, peaceful and so comfortable. All the amenities we could have hoped for.
We stayed with another couple, each with our own room yet close enough to enjoy our weekend together. It was their first experience with a bed and breakfast and it won't be their last! Bernie and Karen were the perfect hosts. Welcoming yet unobtrusive. We have stayed at many B&B's and this is one of the best.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

After a 50 mile up hill bike ride from Tucson to Sonoita, it was like the prize at the finish line. Bernie and Karen welcomed us as we walked our bikes up the driveway for the 2nd time this year. They knew we were over tired, so they told us to take their jeep to dinner before we even checked in. How over and above was that?!! We had a wonderful dinner down the road and then came back to sit under the stars and hear nothing but silence.

The next morning, we rode down for breakfast, but nothing was open, so rode back to get what we normally eat anyway...fruit, yogurt, and oatmeal...right from their own snack shack! They keep juices, fruits, crackers and many items right there for you to help yourself to. We laughed as we sat on the patio looking out over the ranch and at the mountains, next to the fish pond they made, and wondered why we waste our energy going anywhere else. They have it all at the Xanadu. Relaxing vacation at its best....and a million miles of the best cycling you can imagine!

Ann and John Hoyt
NH

  • Liked — property and all the rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, WA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

The owners of Xanadu Ranch do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable, and they succeed! As a bonus, rooms are spacious and enjoy lovely views of the grasslands and distant mountains. The ranch caters to horses too - the owners encourage owners to trailer down with their horses; the ranch provides "b&b" services for them. For people, however, this is not a typical b&b in that no complementary breakfast is provided, but a continental breakfast basket can be ordered at an additional daily cost.

  • Liked — spaciousness
  • Disliked — not true b&b - missed the great breakfast usually offered
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduRanch, Owner at Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2007
Yes...we are NOT your traditional B & B , we are more of the new "hybrid variety" and from our guests comments and inquiries...that is just the way 99.9% of them like it!!! They like their privacy and a choice as far as breakfast goes!!! They also enjoy more services, like high speed Internet and satellite TV and coffee and tea in Their rooms!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel

Address: 92 S.Los Encinos Rd, P.O. Box 1291, Sonoita, AZ 85637
Location: United States > Arizona > Sonoita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu is a Hybrid B & B which means we gives you all the amenities to make your stay your way...At the Xanadu you get the choice to have an optional continental breakfast basket,make your own hot breakfast in your room,purchase individual breakfast items from our "Snack Shack",or go to one of our local places for breakfast.or just have a cup of coffee or tea on us,in the privacy of your own room or outside at one of our comfortable scenic seating areas,watch a DVD movie from our extensive video library (all rooms have satellite TV, DVD players and wireless Internet)***All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots& toasters.We are 1 1/2 miles from the Sonoita Crossroads, close to all the finest restaurants and Shops,in the heart of wine country...If your coming to do the winery's we would recommend stopping at charron's vineyards just off Rout 10- 6 miles on the left.Because once here you probably would not want To go back that far.Then come here and check in because on your Room key is a Wine club card for discounts,and take some of our wine glasses all this will save $. Also we can give you the latest updates and a wine vacation guide. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Xanadu Ranch GetAway / Private Guest Rooms / Guest Ranch & Horse Motel to your Saves list