We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried lunch, planning to go for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Overland Trout

Overland Trout
3266 Highway 82, Sonoita, AZ 85637
+1 520-455-9316
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Overland Trout is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Sonoita
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
tucson
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tried lunch, planning to go for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

There were four of us at lunch on January 20th. While not an inexpensive meal, the dishes served were quite unique, i.e., their special trout appetizer, followed by a variety of of sandwiches not always found elsewhere. Even though one sandwich sounded ordinary, that is, the roast beef, it turned out to be unusual and delicious, including the side fruit salad. Another choice, which was outstanding was a fried oyster and spinach loaf sandwich which was excellent.

So what are the negatives? The drinks, we felt, were overpriced. For example, we had a red Arizona wine which was $10 per glass - rather steep, considering it was a local wine which we would expect to be more reasonable considering its source. Two martinis, which were good, but were also second tier (having asked for Ketel One which was not available).

We have decided to stay in the area overnight and join Overland Trout for dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“So much potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

A new restaurant in this area is a major event, & we tried it for a late lunch. This place has gone thru many iterations because the view of the grasslands & distant desert mountains is lovely & relaxing. Not sure why nothing lasts here. I would be surprised if OT makes it largely because the prices are outrageously high for this small town in the boonies (apparently they're going for the city daytrip types). We patronize places that try to local-source their ingredients &, according to our waiter, the chef has lots of ideas for creative uses of AZ meat, produce & wine. But my way-spendy bacon burger was smallish, the bun/bread dry & chewy, the fries good but nothing special. My husband's entree was smallish, also; took us back to 80s cuisine. It was good but not outstanding, especially for the price. We even splurged for dessert; again nothing special. So, we want to love this place, but can't afford it... & they need to work on making their food as special as their prices. Service was fine; a bit slow but no one should be in a hurry in a place like this.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“There are better places in town. Too expensive for what you really get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

You are paying mostly for ambiance. The restaurant is clean and a bit unfriendly. They made a big deal out messing up our reservation, but I don't see why. There was only one other occupied table in the place. Our server tried to be helpful, but was usually absent. The menu was too expensive for what we were served. The food was good, but not excellent. We were surprised you really only get a meat and potato plate. Granted the meat was well cooked, but the single side was disappointing… (The night we went: mashed beans, fair au gratin, or a pile of cooked spinach). Appetizers looked nice, but were tiny in size. Dessert wasn't very good. In fact, between the four of us we don't eat it all (a single serving). Overall, if the price was half as much, it would be more fitting of the meal. There are better places in town with better service, tastier food, and about a third of the cost.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OverlandTrout, Owner at Overland Trout, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and thoughful review. I appreciate your feedback and wanted to respond to some items you pointed out. Our Meat & Potatoes dish is a mainstay on our menu, but also is the only dish that has just a single side/or accompaniment. The dish is always offered under $20 and is our ode to "Meat & Potato eaters" who want a simple hearty dish. Most recently were serving the dish with Cocoa Braised Beef Short Ribs (raised locally and butchered in house) with Garlic Whipped Potatoes, and a garnish of Apple and Radish Slaw for $19.
I'm glad you found most of the food good, we source much of it locally and make it from scratch in house. I hope you keep visiting Sonoita restaurants, and support local dining. We are brand new just over two months old and believe you'll find a lot of value here if you try us again. If not I'm happy to see you supporting other local, independent, restaurants!
Best
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Menu doesn't match food served”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived around noon on Friday. We were seated right away, and there were a few other diners. As others trickled in, their orders were taken before ours. Huh? Just one waiter, and couldn't keep straight who arrived first? We were a party of 5, and after 50 minutes, the first 2 meals came out. First was the "Apple and walnut salad" ... missing apples, and with a hint of finely chopped walnuts. The greens were wilted in the dressing, and the onions were so strong it was not edible. The salad was replaced with another, that had apples and walnuts. Not a generous salad, but at least edible. Next up was the Hot Dog sandwich (I forget the fancy name). It was also missing 2 of the ingredients listed on the menu, but we ate it anyway. 15-20 minutes later, the next 3 meals finally arrived. The hamburgers were excellent! I witnessed 2 other diners who ordered the pork, and it was too tough to cut or eat. This restaurant won't last long with this kind of service and food, with expensive prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OverlandTrout, Owner at Overland Trout, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Cathy,
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience here for lunch. I can assure you we bring in fresh produce several time a week, so I'm disappointed to hear your salad was wilted. I sincerely hope our culinary team didn't miss ingredients in your dishes but if they did I'm sorry. Please feel free to point it out to us in the future and we will certainly remake it correctly. I also am sorry to hear of your service delays, being new to the area we were overwhelmed by the amount of guests who joined us after the holidays. The error is ours and we'll be certain to be better prepared in the future. Please consider trying us again.
Thank You
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“suprise in sonoita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife had read about the Overland Trout and as we were traveling in the area, we decided to give it a try. Lunch. On a Friday at exactly 11:30. As we had a large breakfast in Bisbee, we decided to go light and ordered the three trout appetizer and a bacon burger split in two. The three trout appetizer was splendid, especially the deviled egg topped with trout. The burger was not only topped with bacon but, as the waiter informed us, it was locally raised beef (they grind their own hamburger) with bacon chips mixed in with the beef. My wife said it was the best burger she ever had. The waiter was very informative about the restaurant and the area as well as being very attentive to our wants. The Overland Trout is new and according to other reviews, may still be on a shakedown cruise, but it is certainly worth a try. We had only lunch, and a attenuated one at that, but it was very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overland Trout also viewed

 

Been to Overland Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overland Trout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.