We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ancient Medieval Villages and Towards the Algarve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portugal Bike

Portugal Bike
Rua Dom Joao V, 4 A | Lisboa, Odivelas 1685-104, Portugal
+351 21 478 3153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Odivelas
Type: Gear rentals
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Portugal ...On a bicycle! Travelling with PortugalBike will connect you deeply with the country, becoming part of its everyday life, observing details that typical tourists miss and enjoying spontaneous encounters along the way. PortugalBike is a Portuguese-owned company offering you bicycle tours, that help you to enlarge your horizons and your knowledge, showing you historic evidences and amazing landscape together with very good food and wines. Our goal is that you visit Portugal ...Riding a bicycle!
Nanaimo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Ancient Medieval Villages and Towards the Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We did these two tours back to back in a October 2013. They were both interesting and well planned. I preferred the Villages tour, largely because of the interesting and varied accomodation.
We have been on about ten tours of every kind over the years. The BikePortugal tours are as good as are available. We had first rate bikes, excellent documentation, an easy to follow GPS and a back-up telephone in case of an emergency. The routes are well chosen. We thought we got to know Portugal. I recommend this operator.

Jim, Canada

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We undertook a self-guided tour for the first time ever and were impressed with the organisation provided by Portugal Bike. After travelling half way around the world to Portugal anything that wasn't up to scratch would have been an annoyance but our experience was highly satisfactory and enjoyable. The route (in Alentejo) was well chosen, cycles were first class and the backup was well organised. The accommodation was excellent and after a day of riding each place we stayed provided a welcome recovery. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good quality operator.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a Great 5 day selfguided bike ride in beautiful Alentejo. Although we consider the experience a bit pricy compared to our other biketrips ,we would recommend Portugal Bike as a good quality operator. For the selfguided tour you should get recommendations and possible bookings for winetasting ,museums and advises on restaurants. The hotels selected were good and people friendly and helpful. The only disapointment was the Portugese food ...or did we expect too much?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We did the beautiful Alentejo beaches in early October. Everything was incredible! The biking routes were as beautiful as the pictures. Each of the places we stayed were true to the area, and wonderful. The food was great and plentiful. Pedro and Miguel were fantastic guides, and became friends very quickly. We truly enjoyed their company, and missed them when we were done. They were knowledgeable about the areas, and took great care of us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley
1 review
“Great way to experience Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Based on reviews, my husband and I chose Portugal Bike for our first guided bike tour. He's an experienced rider while I ride occasionally if the weather is good. We both equally enjoyed the Charming Pousadas in Alentejo tour in spite of unexpected rain which did not dampen our spirits. My husband particularly enjoyed the excellent bikes and roads while I loved being able to tailor the amount I rode each day to a level that was comfortable without killing myself. We both loved learning about the history of the area while traveling between villages; the private winery and museum tours; and the great restaurants and food. Whether it was the picnics prepared by Christina each afternoon or the restaurants we visited every evening, the quality and amount of food and wine was amazing! However, the highlight of the tour has to be our guides and hosts, Jose and Christina. Their warm personalities, knowledge of the area, and wonderful companionship made our trip unforgettable. By the end of the tour, you will know that you have just made lifelong friends.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portugal Bike also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Portugal Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portugal Bike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.