We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay for students at Cambridge Academy of English” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finches Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finches Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   144 Thornton Road, Girton, Cambridge CB3 0ND, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Girton B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best stay for students at Cambridge Academy of English”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed two weeks at Finches B&B when studying English ar Cambridge Academy of English. Couldn't have found a better stay! Both school and Cambridge easy reached by the bike I was provided. Very nice room, very nice breakfast and very, very, very nice hosts! Thanks! Karin from Sweden

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
102
33
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plovdiv, Plovdiv, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This summer we spent a memorable 15 days in Cambridge. In Finches we felt so well as at home. Dear Jane and Nigel thanks for the big hospitality, with great pleasure we will return again. Borislava & Stefan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were in Cambridge for 2 nights for a birthday treat for my husband, dinner at Midsummer House, which was fantastic. Our stay at Finches B&B was also very enjoyable and comfortable.

Finches certainly lives up to it's top Cambridge B&B rating, and we're glad we came here rather than some anonymous hotel. The facilities were of a high standard, and the breakfasts were delicious and generous.

Special mention should also be made of the hostess, Jane who was kind, welcoming and very helpful to us, and to our fellow guests, she certainly made our stay special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our 3 night stay early this week was a very pleasant experience. Jane & Nigel were the perfect hosts. It was spotless and comfortable. For breakfast we had so much choice and it was so well presented.
It was good value for money. The house is on a bus route so the car wasn't needed for our trips into Cambridge
Should we visit the area again we will stay at the Finches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Probably as good as it gets for a quality B & B. Clean, tidy, helpful & pleasant hosts and breakfasts that you expect from a 5 star hotel, let alone a B&B. As always, the 'devil is in the detail' and Jane & Nigel obviously know this along with that rare commodity these days - proper customer care / service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney Vale, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a quick stay here last Sat. And we're more than impressed. Jane , Nigel, and son Ollie were so welcoming and genuine and gave us lots of info. For the area etc. the rooms were spotless and breakfast hard to beat. Nigel even picked us up from town when we rang them. A perfect place to base yourself for the many delights of Cambridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean, delicious breakfast, on-site parking (free) in a quiet, residential location. Jane and Nigel are fantastic hosts - they made us feel so welcome and provided us we great recommendations for our time in Cambridge. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Twin room on the ground floor to the rear of the house is a good choice if you like a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finches Bed and Breakfast

Address: 144 Thornton Road, Girton, Cambridge CB3 0ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Girton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Girton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finches Bed and Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finches offers a bed and breakfast service for visitors to Cambridge and focuses on providing high quality accommodation. Conveniently situated within walking distance to the historical city of Cambridge, Finches provides visitors with a warm and welcoming place to stay. All rooms en-suite, tastefully furnished and decorated to a high standard and include Freeview TV, Free Wireless Internet Connection, IPod & IPhone docking station, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities. Free off road parking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finches Hotel Cambridge
Finches b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finches Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Finches Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list