We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Studio Suites

Save Saved
You added Gateway Studio Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Studio Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   203 South Garden Avenue, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Sierra Vista
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Gateway Studio Suites for 5 weeks while I attended a school at Ft. Huachuca. It is a stone's throw from the Fry Boulevard gate, so the proximity is unbeatable. The stay itself decent, but nothing special. They do serve one free beer per day, and the gym and pool are well kept and clean. The rooms are typical motel rooms with a little extra space and a kitchenette. Everyone in my class, apart from myself, stayed across the way at the Garden Place Suites, which I hear is a newer, upgraded version of Gateway Studio Suites, and for the same military rate. Overall, a nice stay - I have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
11
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family truly enjoyed staying in the Studio Suites. This hotel was a very pleasant surprise because it doesn't look particularly fancy on the outside. We were looking for a larger than normal size room and the rate was very reasonable. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast more than adequate. We also relaxed with a glass of wine or beer on the house when we arrived. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we called to reserve a room. At no additional charge, we were given a rollaway bed to add to the king size bed and twin sleeper sofa. The greatest compliment we could give is that our stay felt like home. We would definitely revisit this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room was large and fairly quiet but the pillows were rock hard and the towels were well worn. Breakfast was good and the evening Happy Hour was a nice touch. The staff was accommodating and helpful. Have I reached 200 characters yet in this review?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are locals here in Sierra Vista and stayed here for our wedding reception. We wanted a place to stay within walking distance of the VFW. We loved the room, the people, the 24 hour pool and jacuzzi. The thing that really sticks out for my husband and I is that we had bought a cheesecake as our wedding cake. We left in the fridge of our room when we checked out. After unloading our vehicle and settling in I realized it. So I gave them a jingle and the housekeepers were gone for the day so the gentleman that answered the phone said he would call us back in the morning after he spoke with the housekeepers. Well, he called us back and they had gone out and bought us a new cheesecake because they had thrown ours away. How awesome is that? These are people with a heart and will go above and beyond for their customers. I recommend the Gateway Studio Suites for you short or long visits to the Sierra Vista area. They also have a great breakfast in the morning. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I only come to Sierra Vista occasionally, and typically when some exercise at the local base fills up the hotels. This time I found this gem, at a very reasonable price compared to all others. Believe it was $83/night, whereas the Marriot brands were sitting at around $160.

Hotel is clean, has a close location to the base, is quiet, and has plenty of parking. Like most things here, it seems to cater to the service men who visit. The staff is noticably friendly, and there seems to be plenty of staff to go around.
As stated in other reviews, my suite had a king bed, a small dividing wall, and a couch which pulls out. I had no problem with the air conditioner maintaining a good temperature. Free wifi was trouble free. Free breakfast was just fine, and the happy hour goes until 9 with first drink free, and subsequent beers at $2 - a deal anywhere. Beers were Michalob brands including Shocktop and a bock - all on tap.
There is a small pool which I didn't use. Kitchenette has frig, microwave, and stove top, but no oven. My only complaint (which tells you how good this place is) was that the bathroom lights and kitchette lights are all controlled by a single switch inside the room door - making it difficult if you have someone still trying to sleep while you shave/etc.
I will definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the Gateway Studio Suites from June 21-June 25th. We were in Sierra Vista to visit my daughter who was at Fort Huachuca for training. The hotel was perfect. Clean. Quiet. Comfortable. Affordable. Close to my daughter's home. Didn't hear a sound at night. Happy hour in the lobby in the evening-a couple different beers on tap and freshly popped popcorn. Breakfast was good. Fairly typical menu kept replenished and the area was spotless. Everyone we encountered was pleasant and friendly. I don't recall our housekeeper's name but she was a sweetheart. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The side facing Fort Huachuca has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Fabulous place! Best experience we ever had at a hotel/motel. Beautiful decorating. Awesome breakfast (usually won't eat hotel breakfast). Staff was very helpful - Greg especially and Teneshia. Big bowls of fruit sitting around for guests. Pool and hot tub cleaned daily. Only negative was AC. We like it cooler but wasn't bad. The hotel is at the front gate of Fort Huachuca.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Studio Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Studio Suites

Address: 203 South Garden Avenue, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635
Location: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sierra Vista
#3 Family Hotel in Sierra Vista
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Studio Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Held to the highest Standards in hospitality, Gateway Studio Suites promises an affordable, comfortable, and enjoyable short or extended stay. Conveniently located just outside the main gate of Fort Huachuca and only minutes away from the City of Sierra Vista and many of its attractions, it offers easy access to both our Military here training and our leisure travelers. Gateway Studio Suite's premium amenities and our dedicated friendly staff are committed to giving our guests a feeling of home with a hint of luxury. From complimentary full hot breakfast, served 7 days a week, to our free state-of-the-art Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, you can't help but enjoy your stay with us. Come let us show you how we make the difference!! Don't forget our sister property the Garden Place Suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gateway Studio Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Studio Hotel Sierra Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Studio Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.