We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Studio Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Studio Suites to your Saves list
Gateway Studio Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   203 South Garden Avenue, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Fabulous place! Best experience we ever had at a hotel/motel. Beautiful decorating. Awesome breakfast (usually won't eat hotel breakfast). Staff was very helpful - Greg especially and Teneshia. Big bowls of fruit sitting around for guests. Pool and hot tub cleaned daily. Only negative was AC. We like it cooler but wasn't bad. The hotel is at the front gate of Fort Huachuca.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

For a 2-night stay, we were looking for something nice, inexpensive, and well reviewed. We were quite pleased with our stay here - it hit all the buttons just as we expected. The room was as advertised, the bed was comfy and the HVAC unit behaved itself. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, which you don't always get in a tourist area. The breakfast was nothing super exciting, but several choices, clean and well presented, and the "make your own" belgian waffle iron was a nice touch. You get a free newspaper in the morning, and a free glass of wine or beer in the evening, and they have a nice front lobby with a fireplace where you can sit. They have a small pool, hot tub and a small workout gym so there are options if you want those. I would stay again and I also recommend it if you'll be down in that area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for over five weeks while attending training at Ft Huachuca. The hotel is extremely convenient to post and to the main roadways to get around Sierra Vista. The hotel staff was very nice, helpful, and accommodating. The rooms were not luxurious, but they were clean, large, and more than adequate. Very nice to have a stove in the room, too, even if small. The breakfast each morning had a wide enough variety of options, and was always stocked. The free popcorn and drink (wine, beer, or soda) in the evening was nice also. The pool and hot tub area were clean and well heated, making it very nice on cool January evenings. The exercise room was small, but had a treadmill and two bikes, along with some weights. The laundry facility was a decent size, very clean, and I never had to wait for a machine or dryer. If I return to Sierra Vista, I will definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in early December, 2011. Staff is most efficient and friendly.
Directed me to a great mexican restaurant, La Casita. Rooms are large and include a larger than normal refrigerator, all the dishes / microwave / 2 burner stove / lounge chair / and large flat screen TV. Wi-Fi internet was some of the best I've used at a hotel. Can't imagine how they deliver 6-16 mg speeds in a fairly full hotel, but they do. Got a complimentary beer each night. Good stuff. Breakfast was better than I'm accustomed to at a typical hotel buffet. Eggs, bacon, lots of breads, yogurt, waffles, juice.....cereal ( If ya want it ) and lots of fresh fruit. They even provide a fruit bowl in the lobby for "take and go" during the day. This is a nice place to stay. Very clean. BTW...The coffee is outstanding.This is a very quiet hotel. No road noise.

Room Tip: 3rd floor gives you a good view of the army post and mountains. Stunning views with a little snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Friendly staff. Comfortable clean accommodations. Afternoon Happy Hour with free beer, soft drinks and popcorn. Nice hot breakfast included in the very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is the 'sister' property to Garden Suites in Sierra Vista. They are very similar in amenities and pricing. And - fortunately - they also have the same friendly staff.

Gateway Studios is a clean hotel, although I think it is an older building. It has been updated, and is really quite nice.

The lobby is open and welcoming. A nice fireplace, comfy couches, and lots of tables in the 'breakfast' area. The staff are all welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Rooms - only King suites are available. The pull out sofa couch is not too bad, although the beds are far more comfy. (I am sharing a room, but not a bed with a family member). I was disappointed that there were no traditional 'double' rooms, but decided to stay here because i had had such a great experience at their sister hotel.
The room has a good amount of storage, and a nice desk area. Lots of easily accessible plugs; free wifi; good lighting - all make a nice living area.
The kitchenette is nice - clean and stocked well enough with dishes.
The bathroom is clean and well stocked.
Lots of hot water. :)
The housekeeping service is very friendly and does a great job.
Breakfast - great deal that it is included in the price of the room. Waffle iron; hot offering (today it was sausage links, scrambled eggs, potatoes); cold cereals; yoghurt; boiled eggs; danish; toast; coffee, tea, juice. All you want to eat - great deal!
They also offer an afternoon 'happy hour'. One free glass of wine or beer; chips and salsa and popcorn. Awesome!
Hotel is family friendly, military friendly, business friendly,etc.
Maybe not the newest hotel in town - but really a great value!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Although we are loyal Hilton Honors members, we chose this hotel over the local Hampton because of the TripAdvisor reviews. Although I spoke with the Hampton Sierra Vista manager about the bad reviews, who assured me that those customer experiences took place under the previous management, I had to use my instincts and go with the hotel that was rated the best for safety, friendliness and service. Sierra Vista is in the middle of "nowhere" and the most ideal place to stay close to Tombstone, which only has motels.

Although the Gateway Suites is probably the equivalent of a Comfort Inn, it has an elevator, clean indoor pool, and a very nice man who offers each guest one free drink each night, whether it be soda, wine, water or beer. The front desk hostess was always eager with local information, but there is no "delivery service" for things like extra towels or pillows - you have to get it yourself at the front desk.

The rooms were clean, but the decor could use updating. The comforters are the standard "motel" coverlets, and it was hard to get the temperature right in the room. The "suite" is a bed separated by a 2 foot knee-wall and a pullout couch, and the AC unit has a permanent deflector mounted on it. The air goes over the top of the bed and over to the couch area, so I was warm all night, and my child was cold. The bathroom area is pretty standard, no frills, the shower heads are really poor, and there isn't much room to move around the bathroom area. However, the little toiletries are nice, and we felt safe in the hotel and there were no problems.

The hotel is expensive for what it is, priced the same as some of our stays at Doubletrees or Embassy Suites, but that's because there isn't much to choose from of a "high" caliber in Sierra Vista. Even with our AAA discount, the hotel was among the highest rate we paid on the road.

However, the proximity to Tombstone was great, and we had plenty of choices for food each day. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel, so I cannot comment on that. The beds are hard, though, compared to other hotels, so I tossed and turned a lot.

The internet connection is terrible, so I can't imagine that this would bode well for a business traveler. Our family travels with no less than one computer per person, typically, so only one of us could be on the computer at one time, and even that connection was bad. You can have up to two computers on the "password" at a time, but you have a maximum of 4 GB or something of bandwidth total, so forget Facebook, blogging or watching movies.

When in Sierrra Vista, I would for sure stay here again, or I may try the Hampton to see how it goes, but the reviews are true, this place is probably one of the nicest places to stay in Sierra Vista, as the choices are rather poor, and it's best to go with a place that has been reviewed many times.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Studio Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Studio Suites

Address: 203 South Garden Avenue, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635
Location: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sierra Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Sierra Vista
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Studio Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Held to the highest Standards in hospitality, Gateway Studio Suites promises an affordable, comfortable, and enjoyable short or extended stay. Conveniently located just outside the main gate of Fort Huachuca and only minutes away from the City of Sierra Vista and many of its attractions, it offers easy access to both our Military here training and our leisure travelers. Gateway Studio Suite's premium amenities and our dedicated friendly staff are committed to giving our guests a feeling of home with a hint of luxury. From complimentary full hot breakfast, served 7 days a week, to our free state-of-the-art Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, you can't help but enjoy your stay with us. Come let us show you how we make the difference!! Don't forget our sister property the Garden Place Suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gateway Studio Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Studio Hotel Sierra Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Studio Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.