We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum is Excellent - Finding it is A Nightmare !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Huachuca Museum - CLOSED

Fort Huachuca Museum
Sierra Vista, AZ
520-533-5736
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum explores the history of the U.S. Army in the Southwest.
Tucson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Museum is Excellent - Finding it is A Nightmare !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We did this yesterday (5/22/14). It took us about an hour to find the actual museum. The name of the roads on this base are constantly changing and there are not enough signs. In addition there are those european round-abouts everywhere sending cars in various directions. Horrible. We even had a map provided by the guard at the entrance and it didn't help much.

I was just about to say "The Hell With This" when we stumbled upon the museum. It is very good and informative. When we walked in there was an employee yaking on the phone and continued for at least an hour; no one greets you nor asks if you need assistance. (>.<) I have mixed feeling about this whole experience........

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Son's graduation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very interesting museum on the history of Fort Huachuca. Starting with the first soldiers arriving there. and the reason behind the starting of the Fort. A nice history of the Buffalo soldiers. A must see if you are in the area.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Accurate, historic, and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I never knew so much Army history could fit in the Fort Huachuca museums! The history of the African-American soldiers at Fort Huachuca was very enjoyable. The whole fort reeks of Army history. General Pershing even visited here! Easy entrance through security. Try to stay in the on-post hotel or especially the Hazen House, where Generals and their aides would stay when they visited the fort in the old days. Drive to the east side of the fort around 5:00pm, hang out by the softball fields, and listen to the soldiers marching back to their barracks after their class day is over. Quite inspiring!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Good Stuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Difficult to find but keep driving up hill towards the mountain...on the Old Post part of the Fort. Three Museum Buildings. The main Museum with a part-time gift shop. The Annex (Old Movie Theater) and the Military Intelligence Museum. Find time to drive further along the old parade field as well as to the cemetary. A beautiful valley overlook is just above the Museum on Resevior Hill.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“OMG how boring can you make this????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Ok we got on the Fort and then got lost. Finally found our way through the maze of streets, and it is a TOTAL maze, and got to the first museum which was I think on the Buffalo soldiers or something or other. The whole exhibit was VERY dimly lit and didn't have ANYTHING of interest whatsoever. Who put this together? The only thing that was interesting was teh front display which talked about all the different names for "C-rations" which was pretty funny. Ok so got through there in about 5 minutes, complete waste of time, and walked down to the Military Intelligence museum. Again, complete waste of time. Went in to this little room, sat on an expensive leather sofa (how much tax payer money was spent on that ridiculous sofa? All I wanted to do was take a nap on it) to watch a cumbersome boring video that you had to click through multiple times to watch each piece. Overall a complete waste of time! Please do not bother! Although on the "plus" side it was all free. Free and boring.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Huachuca Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Huachuca Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.