We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“military buff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Huachuca Museum - CLOSED

Fort Huachuca Museum
Sierra Vista, AZ
520-533-5736
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum explores the history of the U.S. Army in the Southwest.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“military buff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

this is more adult oriented. Kids mind find this boring. If you like history its worth going to. Its worth your trip to drive around the base. Nice

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We were going by the base for different reasons and found out they had a museum. It turned out to be 3 museums! There was so much information about the history of the area and the Fort. Expect to show ID to get on base.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Foreign visitor ? Be warned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I found the little brochure on Fort Huachuca at a tourist information centre and read it through carefully. As a Canadian visitor interested in the Indian Wars it looked just the place to visit. I did the hour-long drive from my holiday base and arrived safely at the main gate. That is as far as I got. Even though I had plenty of identification with me I was turned away as a foreign national. Apparently I would have had to find an American citizen with some authority to accompany me on a museum visit. I can understand the need for security in an ongoing military establishment but surely the ramifications for potential foreign visitors should be clearly stated in the museums' tourist brochures. Disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Be sure to go to both buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My favorite part of this museum was the family life exhibit that describes how early army families lived, worked and played. This is way off the beaten path so do not attempt unless you love museums and especially military museums.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected and very very interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Displays and features you would never know about unless you were there when it happened, or toured the museum slowly and carefully.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Huachuca Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Huachuca Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.