We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramsey Canyon Preserve

Ramsey Canyon Preserve
27 E. Ramsey Canyon Road, Hereford, Sierra Vista, AZ 85615
520-378-2785
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Sierra Vista
Type: Canyons, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best known for its 14 species of hummingbirds, Ramsey Canyon requires reservations on the weekend from the Nature Conservancy.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I have visited this park several times and have enjoyed it immensely every time. You can walk the lower trails just for fun or relaxation or you can hike the switchback trail that goes up the mountain path there and get a good cardio work out. My husband and I enjoyed taking pictures of the fall leaves changing and of the many deer, turkey, squirrels, and lizards that were roaming the park. We generally bring a packed lunch and find a cozy spot on one of the many benches by the streams or up on the mountain trail. Enjoy yourself and remember to take it all in!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    22
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I have always read about Ramsey Canyon, so we went to check it out. It is beautiful, and the paths are well-marked and well-maintained. I expected to see more wildlife - especially birds, but perhaps we hit it on the wrong day. It is definitely worth a visit though, and we enjoyed walking around.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a lovely wooded area with a stream. There is a lot of wildlife -- I saw hummingbirds, deer, butterflies, and squirrels. The hiking trail is somewhat steep one it climbs out of the canyon, but has a great view of the area from the top. You might consider hiking an additional 1/2 mile past the overlook to the spring that provides the water for Ramsey Creek.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Brown bear, exotic mexican birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Watched a brown bear digging for acorns about 20 feet from us; completely ignoring us as we took pictures. You always see deer here and the vista at the top of the trail is impressive. Wonderful dosents often walk around and help you identify the rare birds for arizona.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Deer, Turkey and finches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

You always see Coue deer, in October i came across 10 turkey and small yellow finches, just wonderful...some junkos too...a friend of mine in the local Audobon club saw a year old mountain lion and got a picture before it disappeared...Cool historical ruins there as well...so delightful I decided to move in just down the road...

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramsey Canyon Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Ramsey Canyon Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramsey Canyon Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.