We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse to your Saves list
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
85 Defuniak Street, Grayton Beach, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“January retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay in the creatively decorated "Old Florida" style inn with porches and outside garden. The Hibiscus room and bed were comfortable, offered a common area and was conveniently situated over the cafe which was quiet this time of year . Our breakfast was good, ample and served by friendly staff until late morning. The nineteen mile bike path is great and the beach is within walking distance. The weather was rainy and windy so we spent most of our time inside. We found our time at the inn quiet and restful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Manager at Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Quiet and Restful! Awesome! This area seems to bring that feel, doesn't it? I am so glad Hibiscus was able to be a part of it. Please come back and see us.
Thank you for the review.
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    28
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
80
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Love it! It is in a great location, a skip from the beach. Food was amazing, staff even better. We will be back. Try to be there on a Sunday for mimosas, music and brunch!
We stayed in the tropical bird room... Every room has a different theme. The tropical bird room had a kitchen so we made dinner. It was a delight to spend a romantic weekend away, even if away is only an hour from home.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Manager at Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you SO much for the kind review. Hopefully, this will become your home away from home. That is our wish and intent for EVERY guest who comes.
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The1950s Florida decor and relaxed atmosphere is a bit like Happy Days meets the Grateful Dead (in a good way!). We stayed two nights in the Woodpecker Cottage, which was cozy and comfortable. We had a tiny, private porch and access to the large Back Yard of Love. Breakfast was big and delicious (thank you, Colin!). There are bike rentals close by and it's only a a short walk to the beach. There are several charming 1920s homes in the tiny community of Grayton Beach, a wonderful respite from the wall-to-wall condos encroaching on so much of the Panhandle. Several state parks nearby, including Eden Gardens. We skipped the tour of the renovated estate, but enjoyed the view of the bayou and the nature trail. Thanks, Stephanie, for cultivating this little spot of Old Florida.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Manager at Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Oh My! What wonderful words. . . We love our little spot and get so happy when others do also.
My family has worked very hard to make this place EXACTLY what you experienced.
Thank you Thank you Thank you!
Please come back and see us
Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is not fancy, but is very cute. The grounds are beautiful, and the value cannot be beat. Retro old florida done well. The cafe has great food, and the location is within walking distance to the beach and grayton restaurants. Also a short drive to seaside.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Manager at Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Please come back and see us !
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a retro B & B with furnishings that were from the 50's. We stayed in the Funky Bird Room and it was ideal. There was a proch to sit on in the evening, and the breakfast was very good with large portions. We were aroround the corner from the beach and within a block of two great restaurants with a unique look and history. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Manager at Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
This was a retro B & B with furnishings that were from the 50's. We stayed in the Funky Bird Room and it was ideal. There was a porch to sit on in the evening, and the breakfast was very good with large portions. We were around the corner from the beach and within a block of two great restaurants with a unique look and history. I would highly recommend it!

Well,
I couldn't have said it better myself. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!
Come back and see us,
Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

When you're looking for something other than the cookie cutter condo experience that much of the area offers, the Hibiscus is the perfect spot. It's location just a 1/2 mile (8 minute walk) from Grayton Beach (and The Red Bar) - in between busy Seaside and growing Blue Mountain Beach - is excellent. Stay here!

Room Tip: We prefer the Tropical Bird room. If there's no one staying in the "Romance Room" ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Manager at Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
So happy you joined us! It's great that we have so many different rooms, so people like yourselves can keep coming back every year, to select your favorites!
Tropical Bird is one of my personal faves..... (Next time, try the Hibiscus)
Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice folks and cafe is wonderful! Rustic but clean rooms. Romance suite is very nice with shared full kitchen. Wifi was a bit on the blink but overall ok. Bed mattress was obviously old and sunken in the middle...will need to be replaced pretty soon, but we've slept on worse..ha. Overall quality and amenities a 4, but hospitality and atmosphere pushes it to a 5!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Manager at Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our place.
I love to know people are coming and going, and catching glimpses of the unique and relaxing feel, we want you to have!
Come back and see us.
Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse

Address: 85 Defuniak Street, Grayton Beach, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach > Grayton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grayton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your old fashioned, romantic getaway, home away from home Hibiscus Coffee & Guesthouse, is just up the street from the sugar white sands of one of America's most beautiful beaches. We have 12 distinctly different accommodations, all furnished and decorated with a vintage Old Florida feel. All of our rooms have a cable TV,mini or full-sized refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee pot, iron and ironing board, private bath and WiFi. In addition to pet friendly and kid friendly rooms, two of our accommodations have full kitchens and two others share a kitchen. As always, your stay includes a wonderful breakfast every morning in our on-site restaurant.If you are looking for a great place to host your wedding, reception, brunch, rehearsal dinner or other special occasion, our unique garden-style event venue, the Backyard of Love, will accommodate a gathering of up to 75 guests. Relax in the courtyard overlooking the herb garden, find a comfy table for breakfast or lunch, or sit back in one of the Adirondacks to read a good book. We are located in beautiful Grayton Beach where relaxation is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Coffee And Guesthouse Hotel Grayton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.