We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go someplace else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Romney Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Romney Motel to your Saves list
Romney Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   22430 W. Highway Route 66, Seligman, AZ 86337   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seligman
greenville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“go someplace else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is a dump not vintage. The photo doesn't show 2 abandoned grocery carts and an old Alpha Romeo on blocks under a lean-to beside the office. Bathroom floor was filthy. Had to ask to have sheets changed. Towels frayed. Window ledge not cleaned in a long time judging by dust and bugs on it. Carpet was patched with different remnants. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Room was very clean while keeping an old feel. Since it is on old route 66, they are aiming for that effect. Office attendants were very friendly. Within walking distance of restaurant and route 66 novelty shops. Easy access to I-40.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We unfortunately arrived at midnight but the manager was very nice about it and was relaxed when we checked out half an hour late. Parking is tight but can be fitted in. The room was a decent size and the fixtures needed updating but it all added to the charm. Good value for money and right on Route 66.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila,phils
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We searched in the internet on where we can stay after our visit to Grand Canyon. It's an hour drive to Grand Canyon. Romney Motel fits our budget with the basic amenities we can have. It's in famous Route 66 Seligman area. The manager was accomodating and offered refill coffee to us. There are lots of souvenirs shop where you can buy stuffs to bring back home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are always interested in a good bargain when it comes to accommodations, so the nightly rate of $54.90 per night caught our attention. ($58.93, with tax) All we needed was a comfy clean bed, air-conditioning, a TV, and hot water. This is a no-frills place, but it had the basics we required. The owners were very neighborly when we checked in. The place is old, but was clean and repairs were kept up. If we ever need a room in the small town of Seligman again, we would return here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I parked my car at around 8:30 PM at the romney having just driven in from Sanfrancisco...So I was kinda of tired.. My first impression is , parking is a bit tight and be prepared to back out of your spot onto 66. Second, the place is a bit of a dump. it's an inexpensive dump ,but a dump none the less. You go to the office and you have to open two doors ;one a screen door the second a security door? I checked in and the office person offered two suggestions for dinner, and I was told to just go, not even bother checking into my room, because the restaurants closed at 9. So that was nice. (I don't go to any restaurant just before closing, because it peeves off the wait staff to have diners that close to the end of their shifts). So I just moved my car to infront of my room and was prepared to open the door, when a youngish kitty cat , gray and skittish rounded the corner to great me. It seemed like it wanted to enter my room but didn't. Off to the left (west side of the building) there seems to be piles of junk everywhere , so maybe little kitty was looking for mice or rats.

Nice little kitty though, meowed a quick greeting but scampered away when I stepped closer to it.

The room is beat up, old as the motel is and needs up dating. but it's a 1 star motel not a 4 star hotel and not anything special. It's certainly not quaint by any stretch of the imagination..

You do have the feeling of insecurity at this motel and I would say at any of the others I walked by the next morning, a few lower class locals milling about, seemingly wishing to smash a car window... There's one on the far east side of town....that didn't seem too too bad , but its certainly not walking distance to any restaurants in the "downtown" area of seligman...so if you want to be close to the bars or restaurants, it's the Supai or the romney or a couple of other equally disappointing looking choices.

I'd lock the car, take everything into the room then take every thing back out when you go to gas up your car or eat at restaurants. the town itself seems low life ish...people drifting in off the freeway , locals that pick up cigarette butts off the ground and smoke em ...people like that.

Nothing happened.....but you just got the feeling it was simply a matter of time before the sheriff was called. Weather was good though!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a blow-out on our Budget truck, filled to the max. So we had to make an unexpected stay in Seligman, AZ. What a quaint little town! It is unique, to say the least! We ended up staying at the Romney Motel which was the most reasonable price and the only hotel in that town that allowed pets (we had 2 cats in tow). They do have "pet-free" rooms for those with allergies. The owners are SO nice, friendly and helpful. I highly recommend staying at this little hotel right off I-40 near the Grand Canyon. We also ate at the RoadKill Cafe just down the street and that is another vErY interesting place!! I give this place a 3.75 out of 5! Happy Trails to all! Cindy :~)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Motel

Address: 22430 W. Highway Route 66, Seligman, AZ 86337
Location: United States > Arizona > Seligman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seligman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Romney Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in mother of route 66 Seligman Arizona, in between Willims and Kingman, 102 miles to Grand Canyon, 1 1/2 to Laughlin, 2 1/2 hours to Las Vegas, 1 hour to SUPAI Falls. Our hotel offers clean rooms with queen, king and double beds, fridge, microwave, high speed internet, 130 TV channels and very welcoming staff in the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Romney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romney Hotel Seligman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romney Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.