We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and friendly owners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romney Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Romney Motel to your Saves list
Romney Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   22430 W. Highway Route 66, Seligman, AZ 86337   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seligman
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and friendly owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011. I've read some good and bad reviews, and I guess in the end it depends on your expectations. The owners were friendly, the rooms were clean, internet was free. I don't expect too much staying in a Motel, a clean room with a bed and helpful staff should suffice. The Motel is within spitting distance to the Black Cat Bar, where we met some of the friendliest people on our US trip, and walking distance to the other attractions in Seligman. If you want 5 star accommodation, your looking in the wrong town. On another point, the town is sometimes described as a tourist trap, perhaps, but can I recommend your stay a day or two, and say hello to the locals, a great bunch of people.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed in Romney Hotel while travelling Route 66. Although this is a budget accommodation, it is good value for money. And it is very clean. The owners are so nice and friendly. When we forgot our jacket in the room, they even sent it over by mail. Without any costs! If you are looking for a clean and affordable place in Seligman, than this is what you look for!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

This motel was beyond horrible. TV didn't work, fridge didn't work, dead bugs in tub, bathroom window OPEN and wouldn't close, bed and carpets filthy. Also lied about price and we demanded to not be charged...and were charged more. Woman who works there is extremely dishonest. Don't take your dog because they will become infested. Oh, let's not forget the fire hazard with the cords all being plugged into one extension. Cannot say enough to warn you away.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego County
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had need for several nights stay on local business. Room was Very small but adequate. Pros: Had the larger refir/mirco requested. Wi Fi Good..no chrg. Staff: friendly. Ample lamps/lighting in room. TV good. Convienent parking at the door-downstairs. Cons: Many outdated things in room, mostly the elec. outlets. Not as clean as should have been in general. Didn't realize until we were unpacked, Carpet; dusting in general. [Not one of their re-vamped rooms] Pics all are taken of newer rooms. Ours didn't look like them. Bed hard; no chrg. Would I stay again at this motel?: probably look for a higher rating, with more positive comments.[If poss. ck out motels/rooms In town before resvs. vs. online resvs]. Town is Great, we know it well. Eating is good. For an excellent steak and other menu items, go to Road Kill Cafe. Lilo's has a good-different menu as well, and will serve breakfast longer hours. This is normally a "pass through town"..for those not staying long. But getting to Know the area is the fun of Being in the area. Same with the locals, good 'ole regular friendly folks, easy to visit with. Be sure to check your weather info.for area along Rte. 66/I 40. Can get tough, including snow later on. So now, Enjoy your trip through the Great town of Seligman.!

Room Tip: Look at/check out rooms before resvs. made. Some rooms have been renovated evidently...other's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

I was really hoping for a more memorable stay at this place, but it wasn't meant to be. The rooms were dated, loud trains all day and night, could smell people smoking outside in the room, etc. Word of advice, stay in Williams.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were on our way from the Grand Canyon to California, and this motel was in the town we picked to stay or the night.

Once arrived, we were nicely greeted by the management, a very nice couple who know their way around and were very open and friendly with us. We enjoyed the stay a lot.

There is also a small array of restaurants, stores and gas stations nearby. The area is safe to walk on foot.

We can recommend this motel any time.

Room Tip: Smoking is forbidden in most rooms. You need to ask up front if you want a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Top Contributor
537 reviews 537 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I'd fixed on this motel as I surfed the web to find a place that offered wifi in the room as I needed to do some work on my laptop and needed e-mail for that. SO I arrived - without a reservation - and was promptly and efificently checked in, by a very friednly lady. Even though the place is vintage, the room was surprisingly modern with many new things put in. Ok, some of the power outlets were really old - the two-prong variety - so plugs with three prongs won't fit in - but I found a place to plug my laptop. The room was clean and nice and had a fridge - and the bed was really comfortable - all I needed ... oh yeah,and the wifi wokred perfectly - I'd stay there again, especially as it's right dead center in Seligman on main street with all the unbelievable Route 66 places

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Romney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Motel

Address: 22430 W. Highway Route 66, Seligman, AZ 86337
Location: United States > Arizona > Seligman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seligman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Romney Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in mother of route 66 Seligman Arizona, in between Willims and Kingman, 102 miles to Grand Canyon, 1 1/2 to Laughlin, 2 1/2 hours to Las Vegas, 1 hour to SUPAI Falls. Our hotel offers clean rooms with queen, king and double beds, fridge, microwave, high speed internet, 130 TV channels and very welcoming staff in the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Romney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romney Hotel Seligman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romney Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.