We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day in Seligman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seligman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Lodge
114 East Chino Avenue, Historic Rt. 66, Seligman, AZ 86337   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Seligman
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“One day in Seligman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Place is perfect stop on your way to Grand Canyon. Room was clean, breakfast was continental in a little kitchen in the front office with everything you need and super clean and easy to use. Nice surprise to see the Route 66 shop on other side of the road. Down the street is a restaurant with German food and fantastic home made cakes. I called to make reservations, super easy with very friendly tenant.

Room Tip: We got a room a little a away from the street but highway is quite far and road was not noisy at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
88
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

.......Stayed there 1 night on the way to the grand canyon.
Service from the start was excellent, email confirmation was replied to very quickly, the check-in was painless, owners were friendly, rooms were big enough, beds were comfortable, I had the "Elvis" room, it was very clean. The bathroom and shower was clean, plenty of towels.

Highly recommended, would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. Extremely clean and well kept. The manager there Reinert and his son show excellent hospitality. For your average quaint little motel on route 66, I thought this one had something a little extra. I expected to not like the theme rooms, but actually thought it was fun. Our Elvis room had a refrigerator, a microwave, and a nice size flat screen TV. The king size bed was very comfortable. Plus they proivde a decent continental breakfast in the morning to get you going. There's cereal, fresh fruit and danishes. If you go ready to soak in the small town atmosphere, I think you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A pleasant surprise on our 6-week road trip down the West Coast and then inland to the Grand Canyon and north to South Dakota, Wyoming and Montana.
We wanted to capture some of the mystique of the legendary Route 66 and had booked ahead to stay at the Canyon Hotel. We weren't disappointed.
It was typical of any small-town hotel but the owners had made the effort to provide great accommodation, with each room having a Hollywood theme. We stayed in the Elvis room and while it was a bit squishy, the bed was extremely comfy, the photos of "The King" a nice touch and the air conditioner such a relief.
Across the road are several stores bulging with Route 66 souvenirs and some so-so diners. I can't imagine how tough it must have been to live out here during the Depression years but kudos to the folks still here tryiiing to retain Seligman's character.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Canyon lodge is simply the place to stay when you are in Seligman. Both Reinhardt and Michael make you feel very welcome and provide outstanding services. Every room has its own theme, which adds to the unique experience of staying a night at their place rather than a standard hotel. I'd stay there any time. For the international guests, you can also speak German :-) the hotel is highly recommended!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped in Seligman only because the next town was some 40 miles away, and we were running out of gas. We also were very tired, and decided to check out the overnight possibilites. There are not many signs on I-40, just one motel is mentioned on a rather uninviting sign. The town seemed empty and dark (it was a weekend night), and we were ready to turn around when we spotted a sign for the Canyon Lodge. It mentioned clean rooms, and amenities, and German- American ownership. Out of curiosity we stopped. And what a find it was!! The rooms are VERY clean, very nicely decorated with a lot of love to detail. We stayed at the Harley Davidson room, and especially our son absolutely loved it. Colorful bed sheets going with the theme add even more charm. And so refreshing sleeping in not all white beds for a change.
The owners are very helpful, very, very nice and really taking care of their guests. We enjoyed so much the conversation using our very rusty German. They had a nice souvenir for our boy. They recommended a nearby Lilo restaurant and the food was very tasty, service very nice and the dining room beatifully decorated (if only the lights were dimmed a little - but it might be me only). They also gave us many details about the town (CARS!!) and Route 66. The drive was very cool the next day - thank you!!
I'm not a breakfast person, can only recommend the coffee - it was so good and perfectly brewed. There were flat screen TVs with a lot of channels, in digital! (we still talking about a very small town). The most important feature might be; however, the motel walls. Not only spotless clean, and freshly painted, but the motel is built out of concrete blocks. There was absolutely no noise from adjacent rooms or outside, just a distant sound of passing trains which was very romantic. Of our 10-day-trip (and so many motels) this was the most pleasant and memorable experience from the road. Thank you Reinhardt and Mike!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelnovo ne Monti
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Grat motel in Seligman.
Every room is differently furnished, following a particular theme. We had the Hollywood room, with the wall plenty of actor pictures and film poster.
The room was clean and comfortable, and the owner is friendly and gentle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Address: 114 East Chino Avenue, Historic Rt. 66, Seligman, AZ 86337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Seligman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Seligman
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Seligman
Canyon Motel Seligman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Canyon Lodge to your Saves list