We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds and a Superb View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas

Save Saved
You added Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336-4214   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in Sedona
La Crescenta, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds and a Superb View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel has gorgeous grounds, with a breathtaking view of the red rocks, outstanding! There are three pools, some indoor, some outdoor, and lovely statues all over the grounds. The property goes all the way to Oak Creek. We stayed in the North Annex, where the rooms have balconies/patios and you can sit and enjoy the fabulous view past the huge green lawn for dog walkers and running children, although we didn't see either. The room was lovely, with a fireplace that we didn't use, since it was 100 degrees outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWARHmanagement, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear SparkyW22,

Thank you so much for your review. We truly pride ourselves in our property and the grounds.

As a family owned property, we are always trying to improve in order to meet the needs of our guests. We are thrilled to hear that we have exceeded your expectations on your visit to Sedona.

The North Signature Rooms are incredible! During the remodel last year, we were able to add a few extra touches that we thought our guests would love, and are so glad to hear you enjoyed them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Warm Regards,
Lonnie Lillie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    542
    285
    58
    9
    6
See reviews for
334
351
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a wonderful property in Sedona. Over the holidays, we took my mother to Sedona for her 75th birthday. We stayed in the stand alone cabin for a few days at this property (a spectacular view from the porch!). This cabin is beautiful and comfortable with 2 bedrooms and a pull out couch... we asked the hotel to transport our luggage and 75 roses from the cabin to the North Signature Plus rooms, where we continued our stay. They were most accommodating, friendly and professional. The new north signature rooms are lovely... my parents had a very spacious room, and we (hubby and kids) stayed in another lovely room. The views are magnificent with a great grass area to play right outside the door. It snowed while we were there which made it all the better. The manager is also very friendly... the property includes free access to the pool, squash courts, table tennis, ice hockey that are in the adjacent property... the free breakfast is nice with plenty of options.. and the staff is again professional and kind... The property is in downtown Sedona, with a 1 minute step out the door to shops, restaurants, and street entertainment... my mother was thrilled with her birthday week in Sedona! A great success! Thanks Arroyo Roble!

Room Tip: The "one of a kind" cottage is a little gem in the heart of downtown Sedona! This propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWARHmanagement, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ann,

It is so wonderful to hear that your Mother had a fantastic birthday and that you were able to enjoy all of the wonderful amenities here at our property. Thank you so much for the kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Lonnie Lillie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This Hotel is right in uptown Sedona. Close to all restaurants and shops. Just walking distance of everything. You will get a great view either if you choose town or red rock view. Sedona is a beautiful little town and even a street view is nice. Little pricier than other hotels in the area, but, I guess you got to pay for the location and the view.
Spacious, clean rooms. Nice Balcony to enjoy the pure air and view. Breakfast is good and wide variety from fresh fruit, cereal, Bacon, Eggs, pastries. I do not think you would have complains about the breakfast. You will have a chance to seat outside or inside. Really nice to have breakfast outside. Personnel is friendly and courteous. May need some more training on how to direct guests to the different amenities of Sedona, but not bad. Shows little wear on some areas, but still decent. Building itself seems a little old. but it has been maintained. Soon may need some remodeling. Stay one day here and the second day in another hotel since friends needed to arrive a day later. the other hotel I stayed was also good but location and access did not compare to this one.
Parking lot spaces are tight and might be difficult for some to maneuver do to the incline access to the parking lot.. You will find the same on some public parking lots around Sedona.
Easy access to restaurants is a plus sine Sedona simply closes down by 9:00pm so being close to stores and restaurants is a plus.

Room Tip: choose a room with red rock view. Street can get noisy since is the main street Route 89A
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWARHmanagement, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear ericuchon,

Thank you so much for your review. Our location and views are most definitely the best in Sedona. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay especially our full extended hot breakfast. Having breakfast outside in beautiful Sedona is definitely a plus and we are so glad you enjoyed it.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Lonnie Lillie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

First, the good news. This hotel's rooms have a great view of some of Sedona's beautiful red rocks. The hotel offers access to the nearby creek, but you must pass through an adjacent residential area. The hotel is well located within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. And the included breakfast offers a wide range of choices. You can breakfast either inside or on a patio.

Now, the bad news. The room rate is very high for what you get. The hotel is looking a bit aged. For example, a panel in the elevator was severely damaged and there was damage to paint on the exterior. The room was very clean but its decor appeared dated. The radio/alarm clock in the room either was not functioning or was too complex for me to figure out how to operate. A soft drink machine by the pool bore a sign "out of order for the season." There is no restaurant at the hotel except for the breakfast area. Service at the front desk was cheerful enough, but requested information -- such as how to operate the radio/alarm -- was either not provided or -- in the case of local directions -- was given so rapid-fire that it was difficult to absorb.

Parking spaces are limited and the spaces are small. There is a fairly steep incline from the hotel to the parking lot, which might be a problem for some. The hotel is located directly on the main route and the sounds of heavy construction and garbage trucks could be heard. At this time, construction is active on the street immediately adjacent to the hotel.

The hotel emailed a survey and I provided detailed feedback. Unfortunately, I received a form reply filled with platitudes that neither responded to my concerns nor gave real promise of improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWARHmanagement, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Compositor,
Thank you for review. I appreciate your feedback on both the positives and the challenges you faced during your stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful views and location, but are sorry that you found some areas of the hotel to fall short. As a family owned business, we take pride in maintaining the grounds and guestrooms, and are continually updating the property. Within the past year we have retiled the first and second floor corridors, added new railings to the hotel balconies, and within the past couple weeks-updated our bedding.

We also hope to offer great value to our guests by providing many amenities free of charge to our guests. The residential area you referred to is actually the Arroyo Roble Resort, which is partially owned by the hotel. Villas on Oak Creek are available for rent nightly through the hotel. This allows all of our guests free access the Clubhouse that features in/outdoor pools, game room, steam room, and sauna in addition to the hotel's complimentary Wi-Fi, and hot breakfast buffet.

Thank you for bringing the alarm clocks to our attention. I have since spoken to housekeeping, and they will be going through the rooms to make sure each is working correctly. The construction across the street has also been completed, and apologize if it was of inconvenience during your stay. I truly appreciate your feedback, and hope that the next time you’re in Sedona, you will give us another opportunity to meet and hopefully exceed your expectations. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you have any additional concerns or questions.

Warm Regards,
Lonnie Lillie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Overall, the Best Western Plus exceeded our expectations. The location was ideal because the hotel was located right on the main drag. Also, the breakfast offered was excellent - a nice selection of fresh fruit to a waffle machine for you to create any type of waffle you wanted. Our room was quiet and clean. The price for a king-sized bed was comparable to the other hotels in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On our vacation at Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villa in Sedona, AZ, they offer breakfast with your room at their local restaurant. Their breakfast is absolutely to die for. Their Cook/Host, Gilbert Ricardo, makes the best breakfast I have ever had. One of the highlights of our day was eating breakfast. Thank you Gilbert Ricardo and Best Western.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWARHmanagement, General Manager at Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear TomMassachusetts,

Thank you for the glowing review on our complimentary hot breakfast buffet! We are always looking to improve and find new recipes and items, and I am glad to hear that it was one of the highlights of your day.

I will be sure to pass along your comments Gilbert, he will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it.

Warm Regards,
Lonnie Lillie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The views and location are perfect for a stay in Sedona! While my husband relazed in the jacuzzi tub, I went shopping.l The hotel is downtown which make it great to walk and shop. Later we walked to dinner. The staff was very professional and helpful and the continental breakfast very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 114 with nice views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas

Address: 400 North State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336-4214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel And Creekside Villas
Best Western Sedona
Sedona Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.