We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE! FREAKY, RUDE & WEIRD” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars Resort to your Saves list
Cedars Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 W. Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86339   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE! FREAKY, RUDE & WEIRD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First of all, the earlier comments about this being more like a poor grade motel, rather than a 'resort' as the name would suggest, are entirely correct, and we wish we had read the reviews more carefully before staying here. But that is only the start of where the horrors of this place begin. The young guy on check-in is an absolute idiot. Pleasant enough, but he knows absolutely nothing about the place and describing him as socially awkward would be an understatement.

There is also a younger girl who works there who was down right rude to our friends, and told them in no uncertain terms that they did not serve breakfast to guests.

The rooms are non-smoking, but definitely smell of old smoke. They are dirty, the floors covered in gross shag pile carpet, there was mold in the bathroom, and don't be fooled by the photos on the website which make the rooms looks semi decent. They are dark, dated, and the bed is like something that have been used in the Middle Ages in torture chambers. The sink is in the bedroom, while the shower and toilet are separate. 'Tide' soap is supplied for hand and body washing, along with shampoo that leaves your hair dry for days. The pool is in the rear of the complex, and nothing like what is depicted on the website. Rather it looks like somewhere you would place your garbage, rather than a place to sit and relax. om Situated on busy roundabout, there is the constant drone of cars all day and night. The walls are paper thin, so expect younger members of your family to get an early sex education.

There is a sign in the 'garden' warning you of snakes and bugs that bite and sting. I think the sign should be place in the front office. A late check out will cost you an extra $20 per hour.
The older guy who works the desk in the mornings is creepy and weird - like someone out of an Alfred Hitchock movie.
Avoid breakfast served in the lobby. It consists of bottled juice, no cereal, Danish pastries and bagels wrapped and full of preservatives (the type found in dispensing machines) with used by dates about 10 years from now! Suggest the Starbucks or Wildflower cafe across the street as alternatives if you are unfortunate enough to stay here.

Both my wife and I had red and itchy for the entire time we stayed here, and read subsequently of guests contracting conjunctivitis when staying here. Again, wish we had read this before.

So, if you want to relive an Alfred Hitchcock movie, eat chemical laden bagels for breakfast, and feel like pulling your eyes out during your stay in Sedona, then we would recommend your staying at the Sedona Cedars Motel (sorry Resort). There are plenty of other places to stay in Sedona, at far more reasonable prices, more modern interior, and who know what customer service is about.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
13
55
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista Ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were so excited by the tremendous view from our room that included the sound of the running creek below, that we brought our dinner in from a local place, and sat on our private patio for hours watching the different shadows on the red rocks. I loved the decorating details in the room, including an Iris tapestry and stain glass window in the bathroom. We enjoyed the smal table in the room as well. This is not a new hotel, but it is kept up and is right in the heart of Sedona. easy walk to everything. We were very disappointed that they "haven't heated the pool for years" It was way too cold to swim in despite its inviting location. The pool deck is actually very warm, with no shade but has a GREAT VIEW. We were able to enjoy the hot tub though. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are also special private gardens and picnic areas on the property.

Room Tip: Most room have a Creek side view!! what a location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I decided to stay in Sedona an additional night after staying two nights (at Amara Hotel - checkout my review. I recommend it). It was Saturday of Memorial Day weekend and everything was booked. I spent all morning calling places and after about 20 calls someone told me to check this place out because they usually have rooms. They had a room and I reserved it over the phone. I thought the $160.00 + price sounded high, and I was hoping that meant it was a high end place. I agree exactly with one of the other reviewers "Lucky U", it is a glorified motel. The room would barely qualify as a moderate motel room. This could be one of those $39.95 rooms you see near truck stops. It was a bit outdated and small. The bathroom was very small. The breakfast was very minimal, with bottled juice and packaged pastry. I have no idea why they would consider this a "resort". I didn't expect what I got for the price and I felt a bit ripped off. The best thing about this place was the view out our window and that it's walking distance to main Sedona tourist area. I wouldn't consider this place again unless it was an emergency! I gave it one star because you have to give at least one star to post.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Only spent 2 nights here, but wanted more! Enjoyed a great view from the balcony. The Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Sedona area, and ideal for walking to the town in the evening, although there is a distinct lack of streetlights!
The pool was refreshing, although much colder than swimming in the creek!!! The Hot tub more than compensated for this and offered fine views of the Rock formations.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late in the day and the local chamber of commerce directed us to the Cedars. The property is a little dated, but very clean and quiet and well located. We also met the owner and found him to be a great person with tremendous knowledge of the area. We would return here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The name implies amenities that don't exist. The pool area is very tiny. The view from the pool however is fantastic. The breakfast pretty modest and no other amenities to speak of. Having said that, the location is excellent, the staff is efficient and professional. Several family members came up for a wedding nearby. We had a total of six roms. All very clean, comfortable beds, no problems whatsoever. Good value for the Sedona Area.

Room Tip: If you are real picky about noise, ask for a room in the back. The front rooms are more economical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have always stayed in our time share. This trip we wanted to try out some of the other resorts in Sedona. We found the roominess and view spectacular. The beds were confortable. Sheets even smelled clean! Towels were changed out each day and soap refreshed! Unusual these days. We love the location since we spend a lot of time in Tlaquepaque. I would love to come back when we can leave the huge sliding glass doors open to listen to the sound of the water rushing down Oak Creek while we appreciate the fantastic views! Very private as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Resort

Address: 20 W. Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86339
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedars Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cedars Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Resort Sedona
Cedars Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.