We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I really liked the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was very clean and quiet. It is located right near the edge of western Sedona and for us that was a great place to be. It meant less traffic to deal with and a very quick drive to Boynton Canyon and the Red Rock loop. It was nice to have a fridge in the room and there was also a safe, which we didn't use, but it was good to have the option. Unfortunately, the safe in the room is the basis of my only real complaint about this hotel. As I mentioned, we did not use the safe, but we were charged for it when we checked out! The amount was nominal, but I really don't enjoy being charged for something I didn't use. I also would have appreciated being told of this charge when we checked in.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    75
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
47
113
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Great value in a perfect location just minutes from Red Rock hiking. Free parking, internet, and breakfast. Very clean rooms. Comfortable beds. The owner was very friendly and came by at breakfast to ask each visitor how their stay was. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Sedona area!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This pace is under new ownership. I was apprehensive about checking in here because I've stayed here before and I liked this place. I was pleasantly surprised that these guys have kept all the good and made a few things better. New linens, carpet cleanings, and updated some of the furnishing. Still my go to hotel in Sedona.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at Arroyo Pinion for a few days during our April trip to Arizona. Front desk clerk was so friendly at check in. He offered a map of local sites and offered ideas for nearby hikes we could do that afternoon, where to park and how close the trailheads are. Turns out the hotel is very close to the excellent elevation hikes that allow you to hike up, not just around, the mesas: Devils Arch, Mescal Mountain, Doe and Bear Mountain are all within in a few miles and no need to sit in traffic. Close to vortex, if you are into that, and airport for sunsets if you like.
Hotel is close to hikes, bike shops and jeep rentals, family restaurants.
Easy minutes drive into Sedona for souvenir shopping without the grind of traffic.
Hotel is surrounded by trees and garden so when you exit your room you have shade and birds chirping, very nice .
Room was spotless and beds comfy. No street noise.
Best of all the front desk manager in the morning: she would greet each guest at breakfast and ask if they need help planning their day and then being a local would suggest ideas and offer maps. She was so helpful that we rearranged our drive to the Grand Canyon heading through Cameron instead. She promised a beautiful drive through the mountains and then desert. She was so right. Wish we could go back and thank her.
Brand New owners were equally friendly and offered help and ideas about our trip.
We stayed at 5 hotels this visit and compared each to Arroyo. In terms of friendliness' helpfulness, making you feel like a guest not just a customer, cleanliness and comfort this was the best of our trip. No other hotel offered the personal touch.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was clean but felt it was definitely overpriced for the type of accommodation. Pretty disappointed in the quality given the price. The pool is a joke. The room did have a microwave and small fridge at least.

Room Tip: This is a very basic motel. No elevator or restaurant, bar, etc.; rooms were clean though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope you will accept our apologies & that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If we can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this over priced hotel for one night in March. Room was fine. Mold in the shower. Gross breakfast. I can overlook all of these. What I can't overlook is the fact that for the past five weeks I've been lied to about something that was left in the room. I left my iPhone plug and cord. Housekeeping found it and for the past five weeks I've been told it will be sent to me. I even offered to pay for shipping. What a joke. Do NOT stay at this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Casey,

Please accept our deepest apologies for the issue with your iPhone charger. I will look into this matter & we will make sure our staff follows proper procedures to mail our guests belongings right away.

We did try to contact you but we could not connect with you. We have left a voice mail & we hope you will call us back so that we can resolve this issue.

Once again, please accept our apologies. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in future.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thousand oaks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just got back from a wonderful trip to Sedona Arizona. If you have never been and don't know what the fuss is all about just take a look at some photos of the area. Yes, it looks exactly like that. I stayed at a property, the Arroyo Pinion hotel which is just west of Sedona proper. I enjoyed being out of the middle of town and away from the large tourist crowds. It only took about 4 minutes to drive into town. The hotel itself is clean and well kept although it is not one where people are waiting around to make sure your every desire it addressed. We had a ground floor room, 136, which has an in room jacuzzi tub that was what was needed after hiking all day. did i just mention hiking? There are spectacular hikes all around Sedona and most of them take about ten minutes by car to reach. There are numerous restaurants scattered throughout highway 89A . We ate breakfast at the coffeepot every morning as they have a list of 101 omelets. We also ate lunch at the Enchantment Resort after a hike and the view from where we were sitting was breathtaking. However, at an average price of $1000 a night, our cozy understated room at the Arroyo seemed quite a deal. There are many galleries, most of them located on highway 179 as you turn off of highway89A. Try to visit Sedona at least once, your senses will be filled with the magic of the landscape. I will be back next year.

Room Tip: one with a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
Green Features: nothing to note here. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The hotel itself sits among tall, mature trees.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Jerry,

Thank you for this wonderful review regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate the business & your compliments.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time & that you liked our location & all the amenities we offer.

We hope to see you next year. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#15 Business Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated Boutique Sedona hotel is located near the Thunder Mountain, Lizard Head, Chimney, Sugarloaf and Coffeepot Red Rock formations. Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection(R) Member hotel in Sedona, Arizona offers easy access to uptown Sedona shopping, as well as: - Oak Creek Canyon - Red Rock Crossing - Dry Creek hiking trails - Bell Rock Vortex - Hiking Trails Enjoy these Complimentary amenities: - Free deluxe Hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free daily newspaper - Outdoor Pool & Spa - Starbucks coffee in all rooms - Jacuzzi Suites with Fireplace & Patio Luxurious, designer guest rooms include Beautyrest beds with Robert Allen bed coverings and triple sheeting, custom outlets and USB ports at each night stand and desk area, and custom lounge chairs and ottomans. Flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffee maker & desk with ergonomic chair are provided for your enjoyment. Some rooms feature a whirlpool bathtub with fireplace and a patio. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Arroyo Pinion Hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Sedona, Arizona area. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.