We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel Offers Quiet Respite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save Saved
You added Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Small Hotel Offers Quiet Respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This recently refurbished two-story hotel, at the western end of the town, offers a quiet respite away from the congested Upper Town full of tourist shops. There are no red rock views from any of the 50 rooms nor is there an elevator, but the accommodations met our needs. We chose a premium room on the ground floor as it had it's own spa tub and private patio with a small table & 2 chairs. There are tables and chairs scattered around the property that provide all guests with an area to enjoy the out-of-doors. The pool is not exceptionally large, but adequate. While we where there for four nights, the spa did need to be vacuumed and the pool side furniture cleaned from the falling autumn debris. The front desk staff was pleasant and responded to our requests for a refrigerator with a working freezer and the replacement of burned out light bulbs. The included breakfast is the standard Choice Hotel offering of a waffle machine, warmed over eggs and bacon or sausage, cereal, fruit, and breads. There is a nearby restaurant that offers room service, which we did not use.

Room Tip: The rooms are perpendicular to the Hwy 89a, so the back rooms would be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay.

Fighting the battle with the falling leaves is a challenge during the fall (Autum) season, when it comes to keep Pool and Hot tub. Hope you enjoyed the fall colors in the Oak Creek canyon area.

Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
63
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Arroyo Pinion Hotel during our stay in Sedona in September 2013. The hotel is in a good location. Newly renovated rooms which included refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker (with starbucks coffee) as well as a safe. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Sarabeth took the time to research activities we could do/different locations - we spoke to her in the morning and she had all the information we needed by the time we came back later that day! Breakfast was also included(hot and cold). I would recommend staying at the Arroyo Pinion Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I cant thank you enough to raise the spirit of our hard working staff that got even more motivated, with your remarks.

Please come back and stay with us again.

During christmas there are beautiful lights around here. And, if we are lucky with a little snow the red rock mountains around us look gorgeous with White hats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent the w/e at the Arroyo Pinion Hotel during our first visit to Sedona. The hotel has just been recently refurbished and it is done care and attention to detail that will surprise you. From the outside it looks like any average to above average hotel but once in your room (top) floor room which we prefer. There is no elevator so you will have to keep that in mind if you like the top floor. They have a decent hot breakfast not unlike that which you will find in a Hyatt or a Marriott. Their coffee cups are small so bring the mug from your room. The bath towels are a thing of luxury! We enjoyed the hot tub while we were there but the lights around the pool are on a timer so you are in the dark until 8 pm when they come on. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we would recommend staying at the Arroyo Pinion Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I can’t thank you enough for recognizing the fruits of our Labor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Please accept our apology for oversight on pool light timer. It was adjusted right away as soon as we discovered it. So, it has been corrected.
Please come and stay with us again and please recommend Arroyo Pinion Hotel to your friends and family.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The property is well taken care of. My room (though the smallest on the property) was clean and newly renovated. Had a microwave and refrig. I've been in smaller rooms elsewhere. All staff members were cheerful and helpful. Nice included hot breakfast too set in the pretty lobby area. Don't usually see included hot breakfasts anymore. I didn't try the restaurant near by nor tired room service.

Room Tip: 1st level nice since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. And, we thank you for your comments.
When we shared your comments with our staff as a routine procedure, everyone was delighted to hear your comments for the smallest room. We all appreciate it.
We have only 2 small rooms on the property and they are ideal for a single person or if you are on a budget. As you noticed, even though they are small, they do have one queen bed and have all the nice amenities.
Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel during a very busy weekend in Sedona. We were impressed with the entire property our brief stay. Upon arrival I was greeted by the manager, Jack, who was very pleasant, helpful and accomodating.

The room was clean, the bed was really comfortable. The room was spacious with a refrigerator, mocrowave and coffe maker that actually had Starbucks coffee.

The hot tub was perfect. Clean, not too hot and open early enough for us to enjoy it before our busy day started.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view. There are only a few rooms with this but they are placed out of the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We thank you for the excellent recommendation. Thank you for recognizing all the new fine amenities in the room.
We also have a brand new Wi-Fi system. Feel free to use it next time.
You are right, we do have a few Partial View rooms. And, we are located across from the Thunder Mountain and surrounding rocks that are visible from the street right outside the hotel. Some rock formations are also visible from the pool area.
We invite you to come and stay with us again soon and please recommend us to your family and friends.
Thanks you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms were clean and newly decorated. They are setting up an exercise room. They currently have nice equipment, just putting the details in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A very nice breakfast is served daily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. And, thank you for noticing the clean rooms.
Our state of the art new Exercise Equipment with I-pads was installed just a week ago. Now, we are just waiting for the contractor to install the new mirrors. All other details are done.
All renovation work at the hotel is complete. Our Building has been here for about 10 years. However, this year, we removed everything from the rooms and installed all brand new Furnishings along with our new Name, Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Collection.
We invite you to please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Three and a half stars, the rooms are relatively large, and well appointed. All the conveniences, comfy beds with four(!) pillows, a chair with ottoman, desk, the works. Big fluffy towels, too. Pool and hot tub make it very nice. The grounds are surrounded by greenery, with tables and chairs set around to enjoy the outdoors. The only real drawback is that there is no good view from the hotel of the red rock scenery we came here to draw.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for all your positive comments.
You are absolutely correct that we do not have many rooms with the views. We do have some rooms with Partial view. However, we are located right across from the Thunder Mountain and the surrounding red rock formations. They all are visible from the street just outside the hotel. without having to drive anywhere. Also, some of the rocks are visible from the pool area.
Many of guests tell us that they are out and about all day to see the red rocks from Helicopter, plane, Jeeps, ATVs, uptown shopping, Hot Air Balloons or see them while Hiking. Then they come back to the room to enjoy the new and fine amenities at the Arroyo Pinion Hotel.
We invite you come and stay with us again and ask for our Partial View room.
Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;