We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save Saved
You added Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 46 hotels in Sedona
phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms were clean and newly decorated. They are setting up an exercise room. They currently have nice equipment, just putting the details in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A very nice breakfast is served daily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. And, thank you for noticing the clean rooms.
Our state of the art new Exercise Equipment with I-pads was installed just a week ago. Now, we are just waiting for the contractor to install the new mirrors. All other details are done.
All renovation work at the hotel is complete. Our Building has been here for about 10 years. However, this year, we removed everything from the rooms and installed all brand new Furnishings along with our new Name, Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Collection.
We invite you to please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    42
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
55
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Three and a half stars, the rooms are relatively large, and well appointed. All the conveniences, comfy beds with four(!) pillows, a chair with ottoman, desk, the works. Big fluffy towels, too. Pool and hot tub make it very nice. The grounds are surrounded by greenery, with tables and chairs set around to enjoy the outdoors. The only real drawback is that there is no good view from the hotel of the red rock scenery we came here to draw.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for all your positive comments.
You are absolutely correct that we do not have many rooms with the views. We do have some rooms with Partial view. However, we are located right across from the Thunder Mountain and the surrounding red rock formations. They all are visible from the street just outside the hotel. without having to drive anywhere. Also, some of the rocks are visible from the pool area.
Many of guests tell us that they are out and about all day to see the red rocks from Helicopter, plane, Jeeps, ATVs, uptown shopping, Hot Air Balloons or see them while Hiking. Then they come back to the room to enjoy the new and fine amenities at the Arroyo Pinion Hotel.
We invite you come and stay with us again and ask for our Partial View room.
Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very nice, good pool. BUT PLEASE, get rid of the Nescafe machine and have a real coffee maker for the continental breakfast. When we first checked in, I noticed blood on a sheet. manager moved us immediately

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We certainly appreciate it.
We have passed on your comments about Coffee to upper management for their reconsideration. They had previously replaced the regular coffee with this, as it is always served hot instantly and never cold or stale.
Our linen are very crisp and clean and our guests always compliment us on them. Yours was an exception. Our sheets are laundered professionally and we forwarded the sheet with a brown mark to them. They determined that it was a stain (not blood) and it was missed in their inspection cycle. They apologized and we extend our apology once again to you for the stain as well.
We look forward to having you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I just recently visited this hotel the weekend of 8/23-8/24 of 2013. The first thing I noticed was the clean, pleasant, quiet grounds. The hotel looked very nice. It was still being remodeled at the time with just a few more updates, but what I saw thus far was very nice. The staff was VERY pleasant and accommodating for the most part. The Value was GREAT. My only complaint was that the room came with a Jacuzzi tub that was certainly not built for 2. The romance sort of leaves if you can't comfortably fit 2 people. And we are not large people. And the picture shows a fireplace. I was unaware that this was not standard in the King Deluxe room. But over all a really good experience. Next time I want a fire place since the tub will only be for show...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. Glad you had a really good experience.
Special Thanks for noticing the GREAT Value. Our staff was very happy to hear appreciation of their performance.
All the work at Hotel is now complete. New State of the art Fitness equipment with I-pads has also been installed now. The only thing we are waiting for are the new mirrors on the fitness room walls.
For clarification, I would agree with you that our Jacuzzi tubs are not intended for 2 people. But, one person can certainly sit and enjoy the TV from it.
Our Deluxe King has Jacuzzi, King Bed and Patio. Our Premium King has all that and Gas Fire place. The Fireplace turns on with a switch so no mess and Ashes to deal with. There is slight difference in price. We will be glad to accommodate you next time in our Fireplace room for Romance. Incidentally, we do sell a Romance Package.
We invite you to come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This property has recently been remodeled. Quiet location on the west side of Sedona, but an easy drive to the main tourist area. Friendly and accommodating staff. Pretty good value for the rate we were charged. Only complaint we had was a very noisy A/C unit in the room which did not work very efficiently. Since the manager explained that more remodeling was planned, maybe improving the A/C systems are on the list. Not a luxury property, but comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for nice comments about our location, Quieteness, easy accesss and friendly accomodating staff. It is much appreciated. We recently installed half new ACs and remaining were installed a couple of years ago. so, they were just inspected and corrected as needed. Surprisingly, your AC unit was noisy. So, we again inspected all rooms and replaced the one that we found to be a little noisier. Please accept our apology.
In Future, if you have any issue whatsoever, please just dial 0 and our staff is ready to assist you and correct the problem right away.

You are right about the Luxurious amenities such as Restaurant, Bar and multiple pools etc, that we lack. However, all in room ameties are luxurious such as Beautyrest mattrresses, starbucks coffee, custom lighting, custom made furniture, USB ports and plenty of outlets built in furniture, custom carpets, custom tile, hot breakfast etc.
Thanks again for your comments and we invite you to come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and absolutely loved it. I gave it very high ratings. However, a year later, they charged a night's rate to my credit card. When I called the hotel, no one would call me back. The only way I was able to get a refund is through my credit card fraud company. It is a nice place but watch out for charges on your bills in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for your comments. But, I beleive this is a case of a mistaken identity. There is another hotel with similar name in town. In sedona, there are many hotels with similar names.

Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An ascend Collection (Part of Choice Hotels) started doing business in 2013. (No Franchise lets you get away with credit card charges posted a year later).
since you said that you gave very high ratings, I also looked thru old reviews and your name does not show up anywhere. This further confirms that you are mistaken about this hotel.

we apologise that you suffered any inconvenience. But rest assured, we will not bill you or anyoneelse unreasonably. As you can see, our Guests are thrilled with our accomodations. we would like to invite you to come and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel has for years been our first choice for our annual February-March visit to Sedona, and we happened to be there in 2013 right as the place was changing its name to the Arroyo Pinion Hotel, which happened in the middle of our four-day stay. The suites are good, the layout of the hotel and its parking interesting, and the location at the west end of West Sedona is near enough to everything to make Sedona and the surrounding Red Rocks country easily accessible, but far enough from the center of town to make it a little quieter with less hubbub than some other lodging.

The only disappointment on this visit was that the spa was broken. One of my great joys in staying at this place has always been soaking in the outdoor spa under the clear evening Sedona skies, and that was denied me on this visit. Drat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I guess, it’s better late than never. You stayed with us in February-March and wrote the review in August. Thank you.
We certainly appreciate your comments very much. However, the Hotel has made drastic changes during these 6 months. You comments about the location etc will be helpful to the travelers. And, we Thank you for that.
There was minor problem with our hot tub switch in early Spring and the switch was replaced within a couple of days as soon as we were able to get the pool contractor to come. We deeply apologize for that inconvenience to you.
However, since then, the Lobby and Breakfast area has been completely transformed and expanded, Rooms completely renovated with all new furnishings including Beauty rest mattresses, Starbucks coffee and much more. There is a new waterfall at the entrance of the hotel and much more. We serve some hot items on the breakfast bar too.
So, we invite you to come and enjoy your stay once again with us and this time you will hopefully give us 5 star rating. Thanks again for your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.