We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a few issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice but a few issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This property has recently been remodeled. Quiet location on the west side of Sedona, but an easy drive to the main tourist area. Friendly and accommodating staff. Pretty good value for the rate we were charged. Only complaint we had was a very noisy A/C unit in the room which did not work very efficiently. Since the manager explained that more remodeling was planned, maybe improving the A/C systems are on the list. Not a luxury property, but comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for nice comments about our location, Quieteness, easy accesss and friendly accomodating staff. It is much appreciated. We recently installed half new ACs and remaining were installed a couple of years ago. so, they were just inspected and corrected as needed. Surprisingly, your AC unit was noisy. So, we again inspected all rooms and replaced the one that we found to be a little noisier. Please accept our apology.
In Future, if you have any issue whatsoever, please just dial 0 and our staff is ready to assist you and correct the problem right away.

You are right about the Luxurious amenities such as Restaurant, Bar and multiple pools etc, that we lack. However, all in room ameties are luxurious such as Beautyrest mattrresses, starbucks coffee, custom lighting, custom made furniture, USB ports and plenty of outlets built in furniture, custom carpets, custom tile, hot breakfast etc.
Thanks again for your comments and we invite you to come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    76
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
47
114
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and absolutely loved it. I gave it very high ratings. However, a year later, they charged a night's rate to my credit card. When I called the hotel, no one would call me back. The only way I was able to get a refund is through my credit card fraud company. It is a nice place but watch out for charges on your bills in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for your comments. But, I beleive this is a case of a mistaken identity. There is another hotel with similar name in town. In sedona, there are many hotels with similar names.

Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An ascend Collection (Part of Choice Hotels) started doing business in 2013. (No Franchise lets you get away with credit card charges posted a year later).
since you said that you gave very high ratings, I also looked thru old reviews and your name does not show up anywhere. This further confirms that you are mistaken about this hotel.

we apologise that you suffered any inconvenience. But rest assured, we will not bill you or anyoneelse unreasonably. As you can see, our Guests are thrilled with our accomodations. we would like to invite you to come and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
741 reviews 741 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel has for years been our first choice for our annual February-March visit to Sedona, and we happened to be there in 2013 right as the place was changing its name to the Arroyo Pinion Hotel, which happened in the middle of our four-day stay. The suites are good, the layout of the hotel and its parking interesting, and the location at the west end of West Sedona is near enough to everything to make Sedona and the surrounding Red Rocks country easily accessible, but far enough from the center of town to make it a little quieter with less hubbub than some other lodging.

The only disappointment on this visit was that the spa was broken. One of my great joys in staying at this place has always been soaking in the outdoor spa under the clear evening Sedona skies, and that was denied me on this visit. Drat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I guess, it’s better late than never. You stayed with us in February-March and wrote the review in August. Thank you.
We certainly appreciate your comments very much. However, the Hotel has made drastic changes during these 6 months. You comments about the location etc will be helpful to the travelers. And, we Thank you for that.
There was minor problem with our hot tub switch in early Spring and the switch was replaced within a couple of days as soon as we were able to get the pool contractor to come. We deeply apologize for that inconvenience to you.
However, since then, the Lobby and Breakfast area has been completely transformed and expanded, Rooms completely renovated with all new furnishings including Beauty rest mattresses, Starbucks coffee and much more. There is a new waterfall at the entrance of the hotel and much more. We serve some hot items on the breakfast bar too.
So, we invite you to come and enjoy your stay once again with us and this time you will hopefully give us 5 star rating. Thanks again for your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently spent the night at the Arroyo Pinion and were very pleased with the accomodations. The room has been recently remodeled and was clean. While still very nice, you could tell there was little attention to detail by the contractor. There were marks on the walls where artwork had been hung previously that should have been repaired before painting, poor wall texturing around the shower and other things like that. Overall, the room was still very nice but it's the little things that count.

There was a hot breakfast served that was quite nice. Good waffles. Also, each room had its own coffee brewer with Starbucks coffee. A nice touch.

We found the staff to be very helpfull and friendly, going out of their way to take care of us. If you are lucky enough to get Jack when you check in you'll see what I mean.

Knowing how expensive everything is in Sedona, we found the Arroyo Pinion provided a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for pointing out the good Value. Unfortunately, first time visitors find Sedona to be expensive, especially coming from Phoenix or Vegas. Once they see the challenges in Sedona and Beauty of Sedona, then they understand.
Thank you for your excellent comments about the Hotel, the breakfast and the staff. We certainly appreciate it.
Since we have recently renovated, the minor detail items are being fine tuned now and we should have everything wrapped up soon.
We invite you to come and stay with us again. Once Gain, your Comments are Very Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 3 days at Arroyo Pinion Hotel and our stay was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and informative. The rooms are newly decorated and everything was up to standard and new. It is located in a very quiet area of Sedona and very centrally located also. I have been to Sedona many times and next time I will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a king size bed room with a Jacuzzi inside the room and it was on the ground floor with a pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your remarks to the staff. It encourages them to work harder. Thanks for your comments about the newness, Quietness and central location
We would like to invite you to come and stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice new rooms, the interior of the rooms is great, very comfortable and clean. Not great for noise, we heard kids running up and down and all around all night. The fans on the ac are constant. The hotel pool is postage stamp small, right off the major road. A good hotel, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for your excellent comments about our rooms.
Second, I would like to apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and would like to offer the following explanation for your remaining comments (we contacted you but we dint get reply):
We checked the number of families staying with us that night. In the entire hotel, other than your family there was only one other room rented with kids. All others had adults only. If you ever hear any kids in future running around, please call us just by dialing Zero and we will be glad to take care of it. A fan on the ACs is a personal preference. They have adjustment as needed. If you are unable to change settings, our staff stands ready to assist you anytime, just call the front desk, and we can have it taken care of right away. (In our King rooms, we actually have remote control ACs.)
We admit that unlike large Resort Hotels with 100+rooms, we do not have humongous pool. We are a small Boutique Hotel with just 45 rooms and provide personalized service that guests really appreciate. However, we believe our pool is sized correctly with the size of the hotel. The Pool is 16 ft wide and 36 feet long. Adjacent to the pool is also a hot Tub. Our pool is shielded with Red Rock wall and beautiful Landscape from the main road and is adjacent to the lobby. Our 3 remaining buildings with rooms are away from the road so there no traffic noise.
Value issue: There are 2 factors- Folks coming from Phoenix and Vegas to Sedona always find the prices to be high in Sedona, where the real estate is high and revenue is not derived from other sources like Casinos etc.
Also, the prices in Sedona especially in summer are higher on Saturdays. You stayed with us on a Saturday and at another hotel on a weekday. We believe your perception of value may have been affected by these factors.
With our Grand Opening Special, our prices are actually lower than expected with the Caliber of our Hotel.
We invite you to come and stay with us again, perhaps on a weekday. Thanks again for you business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have never been so relaxed and happy to be away from home. Its our family of fives FIRST Vacation ....we couldn't be more pleased. A Staff that is always helpful and HAPPY to help :) and a welcoming and cozy room , clean and comfortable. we just cannot express how happy we were to stay at this hotel. yey for great customer service and a clean comfortable facility.....and don't let me forget to mention how beautiful it is. it feels like your own oasis surrounded by trees! thank you !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We greatly appreciate it.
I am glad you noted the surroundings here with a lot trees. We have a beautiful architecture with 4 buildings and several offsets, which made the Landscape possible 10 years ago or so when the buildings were first built. Now, the trees are mature. And, with the exception of the lobby building, the other 3 buildings are tucked away from road. So, there is no noise from Traffic. Instead early morning you hear the chirping of birds from the trees when you step out from your door.
We invite you to come and stay with us again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sedona
#15 Business Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated Boutique Sedona hotel is located near the Thunder Mountain, Lizard Head, Chimney, Sugarloaf and Coffeepot Red Rock formations. Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection(R) Member hotel in Sedona, Arizona offers easy access to uptown Sedona shopping, as well as: - Oak Creek Canyon - Red Rock Crossing - Dry Creek hiking trails - Bell Rock Vortex - Hiking Trails Enjoy these Complimentary amenities: - Free deluxe Hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free daily newspaper - Outdoor Pool & Spa - Starbucks coffee in all rooms - Jacuzzi Suites with Fireplace & Patio Luxurious, designer guest rooms include Beautyrest beds with Robert Allen bed coverings and triple sheeting, custom outlets and USB ports at each night stand and desk area, and custom lounge chairs and ottomans. Flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffee maker & desk with ergonomic chair are provided for your enjoyment. Some rooms feature a whirlpool bathtub with fireplace and a patio. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Arroyo Pinion Hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Sedona, Arizona area. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.