We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in Sedona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save Saved
You added Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Phoenix
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently spent the night at the Arroyo Pinion and were very pleased with the accomodations. The room has been recently remodeled and was clean. While still very nice, you could tell there was little attention to detail by the contractor. There were marks on the walls where artwork had been hung previously that should have been repaired before painting, poor wall texturing around the shower and other things like that. Overall, the room was still very nice but it's the little things that count.

There was a hot breakfast served that was quite nice. Good waffles. Also, each room had its own coffee brewer with Starbucks coffee. A nice touch.

We found the staff to be very helpfull and friendly, going out of their way to take care of us. If you are lucky enough to get Jack when you check in you'll see what I mean.

Knowing how expensive everything is in Sedona, we found the Arroyo Pinion provided a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for pointing out the good Value. Unfortunately, first time visitors find Sedona to be expensive, especially coming from Phoenix or Vegas. Once they see the challenges in Sedona and Beauty of Sedona, then they understand.
Thank you for your excellent comments about the Hotel, the breakfast and the staff. We certainly appreciate it.
Since we have recently renovated, the minor detail items are being fine tuned now and we should have everything wrapped up soon.
We invite you to come and stay with us again. Once Gain, your Comments are Very Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
63
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 3 days at Arroyo Pinion Hotel and our stay was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and informative. The rooms are newly decorated and everything was up to standard and new. It is located in a very quiet area of Sedona and very centrally located also. I have been to Sedona many times and next time I will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a king size bed room with a Jacuzzi inside the room and it was on the ground floor with a pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your remarks to the staff. It encourages them to work harder. Thanks for your comments about the newness, Quietness and central location
We would like to invite you to come and stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice new rooms, the interior of the rooms is great, very comfortable and clean. Not great for noise, we heard kids running up and down and all around all night. The fans on the ac are constant. The hotel pool is postage stamp small, right off the major road. A good hotel, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for your excellent comments about our rooms.
Second, I would like to apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and would like to offer the following explanation for your remaining comments (we contacted you but we dint get reply):
We checked the number of families staying with us that night. In the entire hotel, other than your family there was only one other room rented with kids. All others had adults only. If you ever hear any kids in future running around, please call us just by dialing Zero and we will be glad to take care of it. A fan on the ACs is a personal preference. They have adjustment as needed. If you are unable to change settings, our staff stands ready to assist you anytime, just call the front desk, and we can have it taken care of right away. (In our King rooms, we actually have remote control ACs.)
We admit that unlike large Resort Hotels with 100+rooms, we do not have humongous pool. We are a small Boutique Hotel with just 45 rooms and provide personalized service that guests really appreciate. However, we believe our pool is sized correctly with the size of the hotel. The Pool is 16 ft wide and 36 feet long. Adjacent to the pool is also a hot Tub. Our pool is shielded with Red Rock wall and beautiful Landscape from the main road and is adjacent to the lobby. Our 3 remaining buildings with rooms are away from the road so there no traffic noise.
Value issue: There are 2 factors- Folks coming from Phoenix and Vegas to Sedona always find the prices to be high in Sedona, where the real estate is high and revenue is not derived from other sources like Casinos etc.
Also, the prices in Sedona especially in summer are higher on Saturdays. You stayed with us on a Saturday and at another hotel on a weekday. We believe your perception of value may have been affected by these factors.
With our Grand Opening Special, our prices are actually lower than expected with the Caliber of our Hotel.
We invite you to come and stay with us again, perhaps on a weekday. Thanks again for you business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have never been so relaxed and happy to be away from home. Its our family of fives FIRST Vacation ....we couldn't be more pleased. A Staff that is always helpful and HAPPY to help :) and a welcoming and cozy room , clean and comfortable. we just cannot express how happy we were to stay at this hotel. yey for great customer service and a clean comfortable facility.....and don't let me forget to mention how beautiful it is. it feels like your own oasis surrounded by trees! thank you !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We greatly appreciate it.
I am glad you noted the surroundings here with a lot trees. We have a beautiful architecture with 4 buildings and several offsets, which made the Landscape possible 10 years ago or so when the buildings were first built. Now, the trees are mature. And, with the exception of the lobby building, the other 3 buildings are tucked away from road. So, there is no noise from Traffic. Instead early morning you hear the chirping of birds from the trees when you step out from your door.
We invite you to come and stay with us again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel, on our way from Tennessee to California. It was an upscale hotel, very nice, clean and a good price. A bathroom bulb was burned out and a polite, nice young man came & replaced it within five minutes! They have a great, delicious, complimentary breakfast. The owner was helpful with directions to the many breathtaking sites in Sedona. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, General Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us at our new Hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks. It encourages our staff to work harder. I will let all our staffs know. And, our President (Part owner that you met) is always assisting and cheering people up and leading by example.
I hope your rest of the trip was wonderful too.
Sedona is beautiful year-round with 4 very mild seasons. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We could not have asked for more accomodating staff. In additon to the clean, spacious room, we had free wifi and a delicious complimentary breakfast with coffee available 24 hours. I asked if they had sugar free syrup for my complimentary waffles and within a short time, a staff person returned after purchasing the sugar free syrup for me to enjoy. I would highly recommend the Arroyo Pinion Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. Our goal is to provide our guests with the ultimate in service and accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again soon should your travels bring you back to the beautiful area of Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've stayed here traveling on business several times. The rooms are recently remodeled and have lots of extras. Charging stations, reading lamps and extra soft towels, to name a few. The pool area is nice and very clean. Jack and the rest of the staff (sorry I didn't get their names) go above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing one. The breakfast is nice and they're in the process of enlarging the breakfast area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the Arroyo Pinion Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations once again. The staff prides themselves in delivering the very best service possible and in your case we are glad we succeeded. The improvements to our lobby and breakfast area will be completed very soon providing additional seating for breakfast service as you mentioned. On your next visit you will find a beautiful new lobby area, upgraded exercise facility as well as an overall facelift for the entire public space. Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.