We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW Name, NEW Ownership & Improved Property [Was the Old Kokopelli]” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carefree
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
“NEW Name, NEW Ownership & Improved Property [Was the Old Kokopelli]”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel lists with 'Choice Hotels' and is an excellent choice if you are staying in Sedona. The property is the old Kokopelli Hotel in West Sedona right off of Pinon/ Dry Creek Road and 89A. It is completely remodeled and upgraded. If you are in the 'Choice Network' you will enjoy staying at this hotel as opposed to a Quality Inn way out in Village of Oak Creek. You will be closer to everything and it is a better vacation experience than staying in the village. If you don't mind hearing someone walk overhead, the first floor rooms have whirlpool tubs. The second floor rooms don't have whirlpools for obvious reasons. The property has been totally remodeled and just reopened April 2013, so it is especially clean with nice amenities and upgrades. The rooms are tastefully decorated with soothing neutral colors and white accents. The bed linens are high end and 100% cotton like Marriott and there are plenty of fluffy white bath towels & also pool towels. The mattress and pillows were comfortable and there was a nice clean scent to the room with no heavy masking perfumes. There is a large flat screen TV, desk, and porch with wrought iron table & chairs outside your room with flowering vines ~ very pretty and peaceful. There's a sparkling clean outside pool and Jacuzzi near the office. The front desk managers were all extremely kind and accommodating. In the morning from 7-9:30 AM there is a FREE breakfast available with hot waffles, fruit, cereals, breads, coffee, etc. [no hot eggs]. The only reason I didn't give this property an excellent rating is b/c you can clearly hear the sounds from 2nd floor rooms such as someone walking, taking a shower, or flushing the toilet if you are staying in a first floor room. But you can't have it all folks when you want to save money on the cost of the room. All in all, I was very satisfied with my stay here and would return b/c it is by far the best 'Choice' property anywhere around Sedona. I was quite surprised they spelled the name of their hotel 'Arroyo Pinion' [wing of a bird] rather than 'Pinon' [as in Pinon PINE indigenous to the Southwest] since the hotel is surrounded by pinon pines and is located on Pinon/ Dry Creek Road.

Room Tip: If you object to hearing noises from other rooms, you are better off getting an upstairs room and fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. We are pleased that our upgrades and improvements to our rooms have been well received. Our future plans also include improvements to our lobby and dining areas. Within the next few months our dining area will provide more seating and additional counter space allowing for more breakfast food options. Egg omelets have already been added as one of our new offerings. I would like to address your comments about the noise you experienced. The hotel was built to strict standards regarding noise transfer. In addition extra care was taken with the flooring used in the second floor rooms. This product is designed to limit noise transfer so we are disappointed that it did not live up to it's description in this particular instance. We also appreciate your comments regarding the name of the hotel. We like the translation {wing of a bird} but understand why you thought it should be spelled pinon. It is through comments such as yours that provide us the opportunity to make changes and improvements where needed. Once again, please accept our sincere appreciation for allowing us to serve you and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    76
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
47
114
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Clean and Comfortable. Just what I expected! No surprises! Price was fair and location was good. My room seemed to have been recently updated. Would recommend to family and friends! Close to everything and has spectacular views!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Your wonderful comments have made our day. Our rooms have been recently updated providing our guests with the very best the Arroyo Pinion Hotel has to offer. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and we hope you will join us again should your travels bring you back to the beautiful red rock country of Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great place to stay while vacationing in Sedona. Clean rooms, good service. Hot tub and fireplace in our room made it even nicer. A grill was available if you wanted to cook out. Not many hotels provide this. Grounds were well kept. Will definitely consider staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
How pleased we were to read your review and how thankful we are that your weekend was enjoyable. We continue to make improvements to our property and soon we will be making some upgrades to the picnic area as well. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to beautiful Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

While staying here I encountered a few issues with my stay. When brought forth to hotel personnel there was no real concern or compassion given about the issues and I was treated as though I was lying. The General Manager and President are very rude and condescending, in all of my traveling I have never experienced treatment like I have at this hotel.

Only positive thing about my stay was check-in and check-out, as the front desk clerk Ed was a gem. Ed is epitome of what it is to deliver customer service to a guest and the GM and President should take direction and learn a few things from him!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
First I would like to thank you for staying with us.
Next I would like to state the facts as they happened.
You did not bring up any issues to the hotel staff during your stay.
At no time the staff was informed of any fall until you came to check out at the desk.
At checkout you casually mentioned that you would like to checkout early due to your fall.
You were immediately asked if you were ok. You said you were fine. You were further asked if would like to go to Emergency room nearby at hotels cost. We do have the insurance policy to cover for such emergencies. You refused. You further stated that your aunt is a nurse and you were advised by her to just stay off foot and you would be ok.
Despite you being aware of cancellation policy at the time of reservation and at time of check in, your early checkout charge was waived in full.
President (rarely that happens) and General Manager happened to be there at the front desk and immediately authorized your early checkout charge to be waived. You subsequently called and left message. Your call was returned promptly by the President.
At no time we have ever said that you are lying. On the contrary, we wish that you would have brought the incident to staff right away, as we do have 24 Hour desk and we care about our guests. All rooms are also equipped with phones to just dial 0 to reach staff.
Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you may have suffered. We were more than willing to send you to Emergency room and have a professional evaluate you. Unfortunately, when you refuse the help of a professional our hands are tied. Offering you to go to nearby emergency room at the hotel’s cost shows that we care. Subsequently, you did go to Urgent care in Phoenix as you stated in your phone conversation.
We do care for each and every guest very much.
Thanks for the nice comments about Ed, we will be sure to pass it on. Thanks
Please don’t be upset. Accidents do happen. We need to just deal with them rationally. All our staff is very pleasant and nice. All our rooms have been recently renovated with all new furnishings. And, our rooms are clean. We feel that this an unfair review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We (2 mid age something couples) thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt we received a very good value. We took advantage of their "grand opening" pricing and weren't disappointed. Jack was our manager on duty and he went out of his way to make sure we were completely satisfied with our stay. We did have a little problem the the small work out area (1 machine and TV not working) but we understand they are in the process of revamping the place. Also, the continental breakfast is just so-so (I really enjoyed the coffee, tho'). We used the hot tub but pool was too cold. Rooms were nice - clean-beds good. Front desk staff very knowledgable of area and we took their recommendations as to places to see and where to eat. We will be back!

Room Tip: The 2nd story rooms didn't have private balcony (chairs out in main open hallway) but the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.
We really apprecaite your comments.
You are absolutely right. We have renovated all our rooms with all new furninshings. We are working on the Breakfast, fitness room and public areas. when our Breakfst Bar is completed, it will have a lot more items including eggs and meat etc.

Like anything new, sometimes need fine tuning. We are working on the perfection for TV channels etc.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here and if you're paying $189/night as all of Sedona is pretty expensive in April, you want some peace and quiet. Our neighbors kept banging their doors and running around. Also, the place has cheap construction and you can hear all types of movement and rattling. The rooms are renovated with modern touches and the bright orange Sedona artwork is a nice touch. The breakfast was good but limited as there was not any hot food items. The chocolate muffins were delicious and the whole grain bread with almonds was a big bonus. I liked the location. The bathroom tile looked like it was done by some amateurs. They helped us book the Pink Jeep tour and got a 10% discount.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Your comments are appreciated.
Our rates vary from $129 to $239 depending on Arrival date, Number of people, type of room and length of stay. You are absolutely right that in April the rates are on the higher end.
Unfortunately, we can only control a noise neighbor, if we know about them. We do have 24 Hour desk and staff is reachable easily by just dialing zero from room. In future if any adjacent guest is noisy, please contact us and we will be glad to take care of it.
Unlike other hotel, our walls are actually 2X6 rather than 2X4 and much more insulated with additional sound channel. Our construction is much superior. If you have a connecting room, the noise does seem to travel thru a little easier, which is normal. I am not sure which room you stayed in.
Thank you for your nice comments about Location, and some breakfast items. Our new breakfast Bar, when completed, will have hot items as well.
We invite you to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Is this a 3-star hotel? I would say this is only a 2-star hotel. The first thing we noticed about the hotel was the weird design of the curtains -- there was no way we could close up the thick red curtain. You could imagine that, with lights on, people behind the window at the opposite building could see through the thin, white layer of curtain of my room. It ended up that we had to close up the thick curtain with a safety pin. Then, we noticed some weird white stains at the bottom of the curtain. Then we noticed a thin layer of dust on the full-sized mirror on the wall. And then, we further noticed all the water marks on the mirror at the sink. For a hotel priced at $159 a night, we only got bagle, cereal, muffin and waffle for breakfast. There were not even eggs. If I knew it earlier that the facilities and food were of such quality, I would rather save $50 and go for Days Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtimetraveler55555, Guest Relations Manager at Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Your comments are most appreciated and we have copied them for our staff to review.
May I take this opportunity to explain how our black-out curtains work. There are three sets of drapes in all of our rooms. The curtain next to the window is a thick black out curtain. During the day that curtain is push back to allow for sunshine to filter in. The next curtain is the sheer curtain that you are referring to. This curtain is kept closed during the day but still filters the sunlight. The third curtain is a stationary decorative curtain that is there to provide an accent color for the room. We just completed the renovation work and inspected all rooms. And, after your comments, just to be sure,I personally walked thru each and every room to be sure that none were missing. And, each room is Perfect.
We apologize if you did not see the blackout curtain. May I suggest that in the future if your accommodations are less then acceptable that you contact the front desk or property manager as we would have been very happy to assist you in any way possible. We do provide 24 hour service.
Hope you enjoyed all our new furnishings in room including the Beautyrest mattresses and Starbucks coffee.
The comments regarding cleanliness are being addressed and again we appreciate you pointing that out. We use guest comments to continually train our staff so that we may provide the best accommodations for our guests.

Our breakfast area is being renovated as soon as the busy spring season is over as we did not want to disrupt our guests with construction noise. When the renovation is complete we will have a larger dining area and expanded hot food offerings such as eggs and meat.

Your visit was during one of our high season periods which is reflective of the rate you were charged. You will also find rates in Sedona to be reflective of a destination resort community. Our rates do change with the seasons and we will be offering special grand opening rates throughout the summer months.
We invite you to come and visit with us again and allow us to show you our new and further improved Arroyo Pinion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 3119 West Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Kokopelli Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#15 Business Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated Boutique Sedona hotel is located near the Thunder Mountain, Lizard Head, Chimney, Sugarloaf and Coffeepot Red Rock formations. Arroyo Pinion Hotel, An Ascend Hotel Collection(R) Member hotel in Sedona, Arizona offers easy access to uptown Sedona shopping, as well as: - Oak Creek Canyon - Red Rock Crossing - Dry Creek hiking trails - Bell Rock Vortex - Hiking Trails Enjoy these Complimentary amenities: - Free deluxe Hot breakfast - Free wireless high-speed Internet access - Free daily newspaper - Outdoor Pool & Spa - Starbucks coffee in all rooms - Jacuzzi Suites with Fireplace & Patio Luxurious, designer guest rooms include Beautyrest beds with Robert Allen bed coverings and triple sheeting, custom outlets and USB ports at each night stand and desk area, and custom lounge chairs and ottomans. Flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffee maker & desk with ergonomic chair are provided for your enjoyment. Some rooms feature a whirlpool bathtub with fireplace and a patio. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Arroyo Pinion Hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Sedona, Arizona area. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokopelli Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.