We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with surrounding red rock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Ridge Trail Drive, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with surrounding red rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The hotel rooms are small IMHO however they are clean and updated and the room we were staying in had a fireplace.

360 views of the surrounding red rock - simply majestic!

The restaurant staff were very friendly and willing to give you tips on where to go while visiting Sedona.

Although we didn't have a chance to get to the spa (we didn't have time), we had Lisa give us a tour. She was very friendly and the spa facilities looked great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    513
    212
    89
    47
See reviews for
418
535
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a nice place. The town of Sedona does not have a lot of places that are within walking distance. We went for a wedding in july and it was really nice. The wedding took place right across the street at the golf resort and had the red rocks in the background. I would recommend staying here. The pool was a great place to hang out during the day and beat the heat. The golf course across the street was like playing in the grand canyon it was awesome!! I would eat off the resort. The food was just okay and their are a ton of weird hippie options in town.

Room Tip: Each side has different features. Ask for a room overlooking the mountains not the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice hotel with great views of the red rocks. We did not spend alot of time in the room but we were very satisfied with the hotel and it amenities. Front desk was very pleasant and helpful. They gave us great recommendations on what to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed here several times in the past few years and just love it. It is a casual resort with spacious rooms and very friendly service. The scenery surrounding the place is truly awesome. Love the restaurant and bar. We were fortunate enough to be there on a Wednesday evening when they have an extended happy hour and live piano music. Food was very good and quite reasonable for the Sedona area. Can't wait until the next trip.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a red rock view---well worth the little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Considering the price-point of two other popular resorts as possibilities for this 4-night stay, the Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa seemed like a bargain, but once I arrived, I soon realized why (but, honestly, I could tell from the online pictures and a call to the resort before I made the reservation): the place is in desperate need of an update. The Southwest theme is fine; interior design circa the 1990’s is not.

If you’re looking for a place that’s welcoming or inviting, this isn’t it. No valet parking is available. The wide, expansive lobby is a bit dreary with dark brown stone flooring. In fact, the entire place is saturated in dark browns, navy, and beiges. The glacial elevator brings you to the third floor hallway which looks like it’s stuck in last century: tired, dark Southwestern carpeting, plastic-looking room doors (faux wood?), and the dark yellow paint in the hallway adds to the depressing appearance of the place.

I declined my first room which was on the second floor of this 3-story building. The second room was a view to the closed pool which is undergoing a remodel. However, the two windows were blocked by massive trees which prevented natural light from coming into this dark space. The third and final room also overlooked the closed pool, but the view was unobstructed. I wasn’t interested in a view of the red rocks. I’ve spent enough time in the Southwest that such views from my hotel room are unnecessary. Note that the window for the living space is small and the balcony is very small. For one person, it’s comfortable; for two, it’s really tight.

The room? Tired is the best way to describe it. I had a king suite – plenty of space and the layout was good. The dark wood; the dark, Southwestern colors; the beige carpet; the cranberry-colored Southwestern curtains, etc., etc. made the room appear dark, dated, and tired. Also, the room was dusty! It clearly had not been used in a while. A call to housekeeping revealed that the room had not been occupied in several days since it was the low season. Housekeeping confirmed that service the next day would thoroughly clean and dust the room, which they did. The bathroom contained those dated 1980’s fixtures (i.e., the ones with the gold trim). Good news: the exhaust fan in the bathroom worked very well. (Pet peeve: As a Hilton Honors member, they [as many of the Hilton properties do] provided Nestlé’s bottled water, which is purified (local) drinking water; not spring water.)

Breakfast service in the dining room was appalling; both by the maître d and the wait-persons. Each morning was a lesson in patience and bad service. The waiter and waitress I had over the course of 4 mornings moved as fast as molasses - service was bloody awful. After the 2nd morning, I realized I needed to factor in a long breakfast if I wanted to hit a hiking trail early in the morning. The dining room itself looks like something out of a 1980’s Denny’s restaurant: dark carpeting, dark wood, cheap and beat up furniture, worn carpeting, dirty windows, and well-used utensils. I passed on the buffet as I usually do. People pick over the food and on the third morning, a parent let his kid with a cold sneeze on the serving plates.

On the 3rd night, I ordered room service dinner at 8:10 PM. The hotel was far from crowded and I’m told it would be 40 minutes! Really?? And yes, it did take 40 minutes to deliver the food. To their credit, the food was acceptable in terms of preparation and taste (but they did forget some of the dessert).

The spa area has real potential even though the locker/dressing room is a bit tight and seriously needs a makeover. The Jacuzzi was of sufficient size, but the design and layout were challenging - no more than 5 or 6 could fit comfortably in the space. The steam room and dry sauna were acceptable in terms of size and cleanliness; and both worked well. Really – the steam room was great! There were 4 separate showers, but it did get a bit crowded on one afternoon and individuals had to queue in order to use a stall. The gym, in terms of equipment was acceptable; though, three of the treadmills did not properly work (I think there were a total of 6 or 7 treadmills). Plenty of free weights and machines; and the ones I used were working fine. I passed on any spa treatment (e.g., a massage).

The location of the resort (on the south side of Sedona) worked well for this trip since I had planned to spend a lot of time hiking and visiting areas south of Sedona. If you need be in Sedona proper, you might want to consider another location. The Hilton Resort is not near the hustle and bustle of central Sedona. But, that’s not a problem if you have a car as downtown Sedona isn’t that far.

Overall, the staff is friendly and tries to address issues related to this aging monstrosity. (Except for the breakfast service, which was awful. A call to the restaurant manager went unreturned.) Housekeeping vacillated between good to fair: enough towels left some days - other days, not enough; cups for tea were replenished some days – other days, not.

Other challenges with this “resort:” Headboard was screwed into the wall and it looked like a hatchet job with broken and unsightly plaster where the screw met the wall; the Internet was very slow (best for quick email – any extended surfing was a significant challenge); the gas fireplace had a flame the size of a match; annoying walkie-talkies in the hallway at 8 AM in the mornings and hanging off the belts of maintenance people while walking through the resort; odor in the room – worse when the heater ran or the fireplace was used; and the wet bar area had badly outdated dark cabinetry. The wet bar area did have a sink (a good thing), a refrigerator (better), and a microwave (a good thing, but a huge item that took up a lot of real estate).

A conversation with a bell attendant revealed that the Hilton Resort has been under new ownership for about a year, now. After seeing some encouraging numbers spike upward (whatever that means), management plans to update the resort in late 2013 or early 2014. Another conversation revealed that the last, significant update occurred 7 or 8 years ago. Not sure what they did then, but the motif looks 1990’s to me.

If I had paid in-season prices for this place I would be miffed and annoyed considering the condition of this place. In fact, I’m not sure this place could be called a “resort’ – more like a big hotel with a few extras. If you’re looking for a resort experience, you should seriously consider other options in Sedona. If you’re looking for a faux resort experience, then the Hilton Resort should serve that purpose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
210edgar, General Manager at Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The views, location, spa, heated swimming pool, service and room size are just amazing in this hotel.
Dinner at the hotel restaurant was also delicious, for a reasonable price you get excellent quality food.
The holiday buffet is not that good, not same quality as the restaurant. I won't recommend it.
Don't try to find the spa by yourself, ask the front desk to take you there. They have golf cars to take people from spa to lobby and back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Hilton is beautiful and has a great view of the Red Rocks. Our room had a fireplace (gas) which was wonderful at night. We didnt spend a lot of time in the room, but when we did, it was really comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room on the lobby level but that is actually on the 2nd floor, so when you go to the end, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa

Address: 90 Ridge Trail Drive, Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#6 Business Hotel in Sedona
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sedona Hotel Sedona
Hilton Sedona Resort
Sedona Hilton Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sedona Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.