We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn to your Saves list
Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   771 Highway 179, P.O. Box 180, Sedona, AZ 86339   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, Great Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first trip to Sedona. It was a nice quiet enjoyable weekend. They're doing construction on the hotel property -- upgrades to the pool and property -- but that didn't effect our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. The complimentary breakfast was quite good. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly and pointed out some great places to see. At sunset you'll get some really nice views if you're not on the ground floor. When we return to Sedona, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor doesn't get a good view of the sunset on the red rocks behind the Hotel. That being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRHotels, General Manager at Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review of Kings Ransom. Our renovations will be complete mid-January and we can't wait for all our guests to experience all the changes. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sedona. Until then wishing you and your family Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    191
    114
    59
    29
See reviews for
123
218
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous views
Excellent amenities and eateries
Fantastic location
Price point was so reasonable and we were pleasantly surprised at all the extras they offered. You must stay here for value and beauty are second to none! Will be back! Loved it !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRHotels, General Manager at Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of Kings Ransom. We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sedona. Until then wishing you and your family Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did a overnight stay at the hotel along with my daughter and her family. The rooms appeared to be newly renovated. However, we were on the ground floor and there is no sound proofing between the first and second floor. We heard every step that the people above us took through out the day and night. As we left I mentioned this to the person at the front desk and got no response. It appeared that she got that comment a lot. So, to make it short do not stay on the first floor, request the second.

Room Tip: Request the second floor, if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRHotels, General Manager at Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of Kings Ransom. We are sorry your room did not meet your expectations. We are addressing some of the noise issues you experienced so future guests do no have similar issues. Again, thank you for your review and wishing you and your family Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is nothing like the picture. All these area are under renovation. We booked this based on nice view showed in the picture. But it seems very ordinary and nothing like the picture. But location is good, it is within 10min distance from sedona downtown area.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRHotels, General Manager at Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of Kings Ransom. We are sorry your visit coincided with when our Courtyard rooms were under renovations and you were not able to enjoy those views as shown in some of our pictures - truly spectacular. We hope you will give us another try. Until then wishing you and your family Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been staying at this hotel for 13 years in a row. I have seen its ups and downs and its finally on its way back up. I always stay in a trailhead king suite in the back and this year to my surprise i could smell new carpet, new couch and new furniture when i walked in. the hotel is under a much needed renovation and to my pleasant surprise the lady at the counter told me it was under new ownership. The hotel's name will change i am told and i am sure prices will go up but this is a great place to stay and very convenient . Elote is also the most famous restaurant in town and is also on the property. I finally made it to the complimentary hot breakfast, it was nothing special though..

Room Tip: stay in a trail head suite along the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRHotels, General Manager at Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your many years of visiting Kings Ransom and your recent review. We appreciate your business and are happy to know how much you enjoy our location. We are changing our name soon to Arabella Hotel Sedona and renovations are nearing completion. We look forward to seeing you again and hearing your thoughts on the many changes. Until then wishing you and your family Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Kings Ransom for 3 nights. Our first night we were put into a first floor room in the main hotel and sounded like a herd of elephants were staying above us. Very loud at night and early in the morning. My husband talked to Jen at the front desk and she got us moved that afternoon to the Trailhead Rooms (I believe). What a difference! We had a huge room and balcony with a view. We really wouldn't have complained if we were there 1 night but since we had 2 more I'm so glad we said something and they were able to accomadte. It changed the whole tone of our stay. Location was great for hiking as Marg's Trailhead is located right behind hotel. We hiked 13 miles of trails and was so nice to not have to drive somewhere. I thought the breakfast was great! More than enough options to get your day started. Would definitely stay here again but would make sure to book a room outside of main building.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRHotels, General Manager at Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of Kings Ransom. We appreciate your comments and are addressing the noise problems you encountered. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and Margs Draw hiking - truly a great hike right outside our rooms. We look forward to seeing you again and until then wishing you and your family Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was okay but bathroom needs remodeling. No water pressure and very little hot water. The staff was pleasant but inefficient. Not enough towels, didn't replace coffee or paper cups when cleaning each morning. Room price included breakfast which was decent. The restaurant opens for dinner, slightly pricy, but worth 2 trips. The computer printer didn't work the entire time we were there so we couldn't print boarding passes for our return flight out of Phoenix. Convenient location but probably wouldn't return until it actually looks like the pictures on the website

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRHotels, General Manager at Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of Kings Ransom. We were sorry to hear our team did not meet your expectations and did share your review with everyone so future guests don't have similar experiences. We appreciate your feedback. Wishing you and your family Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn

Address: 771 Highway 179, P.O. Box 180, Sedona, AZ 86339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn is an intimate hotel centrally located in Sedona, Arizona...perfect for exploring and hiking. We are on Gallery Row next to Hillside Shops and Galleries and only a half-mile from Tlaquepaque and we have a beautiful hiking trail directly behind us and a sparkling heated pool and spa for your relaxation. Elote Cafe is right next door at our sister property, the Kings Ransom Sedona Hotel, for your dining enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Ransom Hotel Sedona
Kings Ransom Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.