We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn

Save Saved
You added Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   771 Highway 179, P.O. Box 180, Sedona, AZ 86339   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here in early October 2013. First impression was very nice. The grounds around the hotel were very nice and the views are worth a million dollars. The room seemed very nice at first but we ended up having a pretty bad ant problem in the bathroom. Maybe it was the season? The pool area is beautiful but the pool was not heated and the temps at night were in the 50's so the kids ended up staying in the hot tub. The free breakfast was what you should expect, toast, coffee, juice, cereal, and hard boiled eggs. Overall not bad. The best part was the hiking trails right outside the back of the hotel. Wifi worked fine and the TV was newer and worked well. The balcony we had offered a beautiful view of the red rocks and the courtyard. If it weren't for the ants maybe we'd feel better about this place. It
has potential with a few interior changes. The fitness
room was kind of a joke
because it had one bike and one treadmill. The place Just needs some TLC.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    155
    101
    51
    25
See reviews for
99
177
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Prices seem to vary wildly in Sedona and at the time we booked this hotel was good value. As you're paying well below what the 4/5 star Hotels charge in Sedona we'd set our expectations accordingly. We had a Trail Head room which was a good size but had a limited view. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath but a previous occupant had set the jets such that when you'd filled the bath to the required level the jets pumped water around the bathroom which caused some amusement and mopping up. The wifi worked fine, you just seemed to need to put your computer on and leave it for a while and a signal would be acquired, trying to speed up the process resulted in failure. Cleaning the patios seems to be a general issue, we had to clean the table and chairs so we could sit out. Free breakfast - the waffle maker is the main item of interest. There are also countless hard boiled eggs and a variety of not very exciting pastries but it's free. There's supposed to be a great Mexican restaurant but each time we tried the wait was over an hour so never got to find out if that was true. Javelinas in the complex next door is fine.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor trailhead away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed there for two days in mid September '13 and found the room and overall grounds to be nice. I did have two issues with the room that were fixed when I informed the front desk which was great. The prices are reasonable for the area and the room was clean. Everything in the room worked as expected. I would stay here again if I am ever back in the area. The daily continental breakfast was just OK and everything was self service so I wonder why there was a "tip" jar placed near the coffee pots since there was no waiter/waitress type of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My first time to Sedona. I booked this hotel because I was able to hike right out of the room and the price was decent. We stayed in a trail head room. The room was big, with two queen beds, a patio. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great. The room was, however, a little dated. The wall paper in the bathroom as coming off. The small refrig was a welcome convenience but kept falling off the little stand it sat on. The staff was ok. The continental breakfast was enough to fill you up. It is not what is pictured in the hotel site. The toaster took forever to toast the English muffins, The hot tub was out of order the last two nights we were there, however the pool area was very nice, only wish we could have enjoyed it more. If you are not going to be in the room much and will be out and about, it is an ok hotel to say in.

Room Tip: Trail head rooms are better than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our reservation stated "Queen Bed" so we were disappointed when we got to our room to see it had two Double Beds. The hotel appeared to be very empty so not sure why we weren't given the correct room to start with? We were switched to the room next door which had a "King Bed". Our private patio had a great view of the local mountains. Our bathroom had a large hot tub which was an added treat.

They have a large pool area, but the pool is only heated seasonly, but not during our Sept stay. The jazzaui was huge and heated to a nice warm temperature. We would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We couldn't get a room at Hyatt in Sedona, so I decided to stay at Kings Ransom Sedona Hotel because the price was reasonable and we really wanted to try out the Elote restaurant onsite. We arrived at the hotel a little after noon and tried if we could check in early to refresh and change for our ATV ride tour at 2 p.m, which the receptionist promptly refused without checking if any room was available. Not so good first impression. Once we finally got our room a few hours after, it was another disappointment. The bathroom has the smallest shower possible, the bed was mediocre at its best, and the "balcony" was more like commute hall for all rooms on the same level.

The highlights of our stay was dining at the Elote Cafe - really great Mexican food. They didn't take reservation, so we came in, given an hour wait, went back to our room to relax and walked back when it was our turn. We really loved the Elote appetizer and the salted caramel Kahlua flan, really must-trys.

We would definitely come back to Elote Cafe again but probably not be staying at Kings Ransom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I visited this hotel for the first time. We usually stay at Pineridge Resort or Hilton's Resort and Spa. I have to say, I really enjoyed the property. It was very well manicured filled with beautiful trees and amazing views of the red rocks. The staff were helpful and nice, but the room we stayed in was pretty small and constructed poorly. The shower door was situated too close to the counter, so i had to literally squeeze through to the door to get out! The breakfast was great.....one issue though....get at least two waffle makers! It takes 3 minutes to make one waffle and of course, people can be rude, making 6 and seven waffles at a time. There are other hungry guests waiting to just make ONE waffle! Not cool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn

Address: 771 Highway 179, P.O. Box 180, Sedona, AZ 86339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn is an intimate hotel centrally located in Sedona, Arizona...perfect for exploring and hiking. We are on Gallery Row next to Hillside Shops and Galleries and only a half-mile from Tlaquepaque and we have a beautiful hiking trail directly behind us and a sparkling heated pool and spa for your relaxation. Elote Cafe is right next door at our sister property, the Kings Ransom Sedona Hotel, for your dining enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Ransom Hotel Sedona
Kings Ransom Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.