We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn to your Saves list
Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   771 Highway 179, P.O. Box 180, Sedona, AZ 86339   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Woodstock, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, but did not realize that the hotel purchased the inn next door also. You don't want to stay at the inn unless you like dark, cave-like rooms with a view of the circle K and a tiny pool and hot tub. The hotel, on the other hand, has a pretty courtyard with gazebos, a large pool, and a very large hot tub. It is definitely dated, but our carpet appeared to be new and our room was kept clean with plenty of bath towel refills daily. Maintenance could be better. The hot tub is clean, but sloppily painted. There was a spilled orange juice on the pathway with an abandoned straw that was never cleaned up over four days. The beds were okay, but the pillows were too thick and unresponsive. There was a strange pink stain on the wallpaper outside of our bathroom that should have been painted or covered with a mirror. That about covers it! Oh, great location. Visit gallery of Modern Masters while in town!

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel- not at the INN!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    192
    114
    59
    29
See reviews for
123
218
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
valley village
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

When you drive to the hotel it looks abandoned .... no cars or activity. Sign on front door advised you to go across the street to the King Ransom Inn for registration? Motel type lobby at the Inn was an unenthusiastic clerk. Our room was large, furnishing was old but ok, bed was ok, nice view from balcony. When we got back to the hotel in the late afternoon covered with dust from our Jeep ride we found that the Jacuzzi was not working and that they had run out of hot water? We called and someone came up but was unable to fix the Jacuzzi and told us to wait for the hot water as too many people were using it right now. The place felt strange with no lobby and in need of some work. Breakfast was ok with the normal cereals, some fruit, yogurt, etc. It had one waffle maker with a long line. Pool area was decent. For the money we spend, we expected a more professional hotel ....the location, however was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here on 4/7. Our reception upon checking in was aloof and not friendly. I called to find out if there were towels by the pool, and the snotty front desk girl told me to look at my receipt... which I didn't have because I wasn't the person that checked in. We were looking forward to trying the Elote restaurant, but it was not open the Sunday night we were there. The room was outdated, with an old, small dorm fridge and a tube TV that didn't work until we went back to the front desk for batteries for the remote. The king room looked like it was decorated in the 1970's. Jacuzzi tub was an old time bathtub with jets, it worked. The free internet was important to us and did not work in the section of rooms we were in. They knew that, but failed to mention. Numerous lights that did not work, and a long walk from the old, broken down outdoor ice machine to one that worked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is totally mediocre. We had something that looked like pink mold on the wall near the bathroom. Fridge did not work. Wi-fi nearly impossible to get onto and extremely slow. Bed was comfortable. Pool area was nice and pool was a lovely temperature. It's location means driving to downtown Sedona and then it is difficult to find parking. Hiking trail out back was nice. Breakfast got old in a hurry - limited selection and no day-to-day variety. We hear the "Elote" is a fabulous place to eat, but wait time is typically upwards of an hour to get in. If you are traveling with small children, this isn't feasible. Very limited selection of other nearby eateries.

We switched to a hotel in downtown Sedona that was cleaner, updated, had functioning wi-fi, nearby restaurants and very helpful and friendly front-desk staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The beds are very very old and offer no support. In the king size bed, we both rolled to the center. It has bedspreads that do not appear to have been washed. The whole room was old and outdated. Definitely one of those rooms where one is afraid to take one's shoes off. The shower flooded the bathroom. The kitchen light did not work. The rod to open the curtain came off in my hand. The door to the freezer compartment of the refrigerator came off in my hand. I would never stay here again. I woke up after a few hours of sleep and wanted to leave immediately. I do not understand why there were good reviews for this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at Kings Ransom in March 2013. We booked it online because the rates were great and the photos of the property looked amazing. Upon arrival the views did not disappoint and the hotel grounds were beautiful. The hotel is located within walking distance to almost anything you would need. Here's where I was disappointed...the room smelled stale and musty, probably due to the toilet leaking on the floor. The beds were very worn out and uncomfortable. Paired with the loud bang the heater made when it turned on and off; a good nights sleep is impossible. I would be able to overlook these problems if the staff even pretended to like their job's even just a little bit. The front desk staff seemed to be annoyed that they are in the service industry and had a poor attitude. For $153.00 this will not only be our first visit, but our LAST!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Ransom at the beginning of Feb. 2013. It was clean, very roomy, with a fridge and an excellent view of the red rocks. It is within walking distance of many galleries and the Tlaquepaque art village. Check out the Honshin Gallery.
The hotel is not luxurious by any means but is well located, reasonably priced and is located next door to the best Mexican restaurant in Sedona, "Elote" We had one of the best meals of our trip at this cafe. It is not cheap, but I would highly recommend it.
The hotel, has seen better days and is a stop for tourist buses. Breakfast is included but is fairly mediocre, but all in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Highway are quieter.Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn

Address: 771 Highway 179, P.O. Box 180, Sedona, AZ 86339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn is an intimate hotel centrally located in Sedona, Arizona...perfect for exploring and hiking. We are on Gallery Row next to Hillside Shops and Galleries and only a half-mile from Tlaquepaque and we have a beautiful hiking trail directly behind us and a sparkling heated pool and spa for your relaxation. Elote Cafe is right next door at our sister property, the Kings Ransom Sedona Hotel, for your dining enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Ransom Hotel Sedona
Kings Ransom Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Ransom Hotel & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.