We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poco Diablo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Poco Diablo Resort to your Saves list
Poco Diablo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1752 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Older complex, but nicely updated units. Beautiful views of the red rocks and golf course. Awesome heated swimming pool with nice exercise room. Helpful staff. Close to town, but quiet and relaxing. We used our time share and we're very pleased.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    190
    73
    36
    27
See reviews for
122
246
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Poco Diablo at the tail end of a St. Patrick's Day weekend trip to Sedona, and were quite impressed. While we had only one night at the property, it's already on our agenda for our next trip to the area.

Poco Diablo is owned and operated by the Yavapai Indian tribe, and is located on the southern end of Sedona between Oak Creek and Sedona. It features scenic views, a "pitch and putt" golf course, and all the amenities one would expect for this area.

Parking is adequate, though late night arrivals may have to walk a bit to get to one's room. The grounds are clean and well-kept.

Our room was spacious and the king sized bed was quite comfortable. This was a standard room, no suite with kitchenette, and was clean and airy, with a view of the golf course and surrounding mountains.

Staff was friendly and efficient, and while we weren't able to sample the dining facilities due to our schedule, we definitely intend to stay here on our next trip north. We were particularly pleased with the free in-room WiFi, which we used to plan activities.

A necessarily brief review due to the length of our stay, but we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Poco Diablo Resort while attending the Sedona Film Festival. We were a bit concerned that it was 3 miles out of town, but thankful once we checked in and went into town. I wish I could say I liked the town but found it to be too commercialized and hokey.
Unlike some of the in-town hotels, the resort is spacious and quiet. It is well maintained and has nice amenities as well.
The Rooms:
Our room looked onto the nine-hole golf course. Since it was Winter and a bit cold, no one played during our stay so we had privacy too. The room was spacious with a sitting area adjacent to the bed and a fireplace. It also had a wetbar area with an undercounter (quiet) refrigerator.
Restaurant:
We ate breakfast in the restaurant. It was good and well priced for a hotel but the quantity of tables seemed to overwhelm the space. The Bar area overlooking the parking lot and kind of dark, should take advantage of the golf course view.
The Service:
The staff were all great and very nice people.
The Architecture:
While the interiors of the property were "fresh", the exterior of the hotel could use updating with a new entrance to bring it into the 21st century and turn it into an actual four star property.
I think the value of this hotel is worth a stay.

Room Tip: Go for a Poco King golf course view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. The staff was fantastic, Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. Especially Cindy, Trevor, and William in particular. Our room was very spacious and clean. We had a room right on the golf course that included a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable. My wife and I also ate at the restaurant for dinner. The food was incredible and the view was amazing. I will be staying here again next time I visit Sedona.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This resort is an excellent value. Our room was spacious and clean, the staff was friendly and knowledgeable, and the restaurant served an excellent breakfast. We stayed only one day and didn't take advantage of the resort's amenities, but when we return to Sedona we will definitely try to stay here again and take advantage of more of what the resort has to offer.

Room Tip: Although there are only 7 steps up to the second level, older travelers might want to request a firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found ourselves using the words "peaceful, quiet, relaxing, clean, helpful, spacious, tranquil, and comfortable" throughout our weekend stay. This is an older property that retains its character while offering renovated rooms with modern amenities. It is not a cookie-cutter resort one finds with chain brands. Expect large rooms, granite counters, comfortable mattresses, luxurious linens, WiFi, and a beautiful natural setting. This is not a fancy place but is clean and welcoming. We found the staff to be very friendly. The in-room menu prices were surprisingly reasonable. We enjoyed breakfast on the deck and the overall relaxed pace of the property. We compared its location to others we saw in the area and felt the Poco Diablo surely has the best views and most peaceful setting. We're already talking about making this an annual destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course. The ponds, fountains, gazebo and ducks add to the alrea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, I was attending a seminar that was held here and thought it would be a Luxury place but instead It was just OK. Our room did not get cleaned one day, we came back at 5PM and it was just as we left it, no clean towels, no made beds. We called and got somebody to come and clean but that should not need to happen at a hotel that touts itself as a resort! Our water bottles were not replaced daily (2 bottles a day) and our bed sheets were not changed except when they came and cleaned it late and we were in the room watching them clean. I hate to have to ask for things that are supposed to come with the price we paid.

The sleep number beds were interesting, but not very comfortable and one of them was disconnected and we had to have a service man come and plug it in because there was a mess of too many things that needed to be plugged in and not enough outlets!

The food was so-so, and the room service was strange. We got food but no utensils, and had to wait for them while the food got very cold! Not my favorite thing. Lots of spacy people working at this place.

Several times a day somebody rode around the lawn area, which I think was supposed to be a putting green, blowing a LOUD horn to scare the birds. This scared me, the birds flew away but came right back, while I will never come back here again!

Finally, and most grossly, the pool was shut down for a day because a child pooped in it. They did not change the water, which is what they should have done and instead I imagine it was treated with chemicals, yuck! This is not a be-back for me.

Room Tip: Don't consider this an upscale spa like place, it is not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poco Diablo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poco Diablo Resort

Address: 1752 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Business Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poco Diablo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Sedona's lush landscaping and Red Rock views, Poco Diablo Resort offers affordable hotel accommodations and onsite resort amenities including an outdoor heated swimming pool, 4 professional USTA approved lighted tennis courts, a 9-hole family friendly golf course and fully equipped fitness center. Guests will also enjoy guest rooms featuring premium BeautyRest Beds, Free Wi-Fi, T. Carl's onsite restaurant and our 10th Hole Lounge with stunning views of our golf course, Massage Services available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Poco Diablo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poco Diablo Hotel Sedona
Radisson Poco Diablo Hotel
Radisson Poco Diablo Resort
Radisson Sedona
Sedona Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poco Diablo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.