We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Los Abrigados Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15%
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay Away!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

We went hoping for a great family vacation and now I never want to return to Sedona again. The timeshare folks were true sharks, the staff rude on more than one occasion, and all this for a motel-style room? Greatly regret having stayed there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid at all costs!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    228
    138
    83
    70
See reviews for
175
271
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

We exchanged our timeshare through Interval International for a week at Los Abrigados. We had a one bedroom suite and were assigned a renovated unit, Building T, Room 288 overlooking the children's pool area. Unit was furnished beatifully. Kitchen was more than adequate - stovetop, dishwasher, full size fridge, microwave and toaster oven, coffee pot, dishes and kitchenware and a dining table that sat four. Bedroom consisted of two double beds and a TV entertainment center. Bath amenities from the Sedona Spa were replenished daily by housekeeping as were used towels. A full cleaning was done once during the week we were there. The facilities at the resort were wonderful -- 2 pools, tennis courts, spa, fitness center, professional miniature golf course, gift shops, hair salon, bocci and horseshoe pits, restaurants, gardens, and a fairly large creek with resident ducks. We were there over Labor Day so we ate at their Community Picnic. For $5, we had hamburgers, salad, corn, beans, soft drinks and apple cobbler for dessert. Beers wer sold for only $2. This was a bargain since we found Sedona prices pretty high.

We spent the week hiking and trying out different local restaurants. If anyone would like some recommendations I'd be happy to oblige.

  • Liked — Separate pool for adults and closeness to downtown Sedona
  • Disliked — One of two internet terminals was broken the entire time we were there.
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk into town and beat all the traffic.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed at Los Abrigados in Sedona as I had seen the outside of the property two years ago while briefly visiting the area. It looked beautiful and I liked the location.

Being an owner of a timeshare in another "group" I had the opportunity to do a trade and was able to get in to Los Abrigados. I learned from TripAdvisor to request and upgraded room which I did.

We traveled from the east coast so we arrived early in Sedona, about noon. This seemed to really ruffle Jonathan at the check in desk. I was quite friendly and stated we were here to check in. He said "NOW?" Great first impression. I had no problem being offered somewhere to change and waiting but he never did. I requested my renovated room, he panted and harumphed and made not of it. He was not welcoming at all. This is supposed to be a 4 star resort?

We got in to our room at check in time which is 4. Upon getting in our one bedroom suite which had two full beds and a pull out sofa I noted immediately that the kitchen floor area was FILTHY. Massive crumbs, bandaid wrappers, and a few bugs. The bedroom had clearly not been vacuumed and the bathroom floor also not mopped...hair. not mine.

I went to the main desk, spoke to the manager nicely and she gave me a key to another room next door. SAME PROBLEM, more dirt, more bugs. many more bugs. IT WAS REVOVATED THOUGH~
After I reported this back the manager looked somewhat perplexed, and called housekeeping again who then came in to the original room. The cleaned it up a bit. Got rid of the obvious and I made some calls to see if we could go elsewhere. No choices in Sedona due to time share restrictions etc and I REALLY wanted to be in Sedona and had planned on Grand Canyon. We decided to suck it up for the night and try with the day manager the next day.

That night we had a wonderful dinner at El Rincon which is in Tlaquepaque shopping area adjacent to Los Abrigados....great food and staff!

The next morning, Susan the day manager was wonderful. As we left for our Pink Jeep tour she made sure our room was MOPPED (what a concept!) and cleaned properly, We came back to a clean room. All creepy hair was gone and things had been taken care of as they should have been to begin with. The kids also received complimentary pizza's and mini golf game.

The good thing about Sedona....and their are many, is that most of the time we were outside.

There seems to be so many other hotel choice. I really like Los Abrigados location but I wouldnt stay there again.

  • Liked — location, concierge services, grounds
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — many other better places to stay in sedona
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

Just completed a wonderful week in Sedona. The resort has a beautiful pool with food & drink service, a huge gym, and lots of other extras. 3 very good restaurants on-site and 15% off on all food and drinks for the entire week if it's an RCI exchange.

Room was very nice....be sure to insist on a re-modeled room as they're only about halfway through a major renovation. New rooms have large refrigerators, a stovetop, and new furniture. Looks like they skipped the bathrooms though as the showers were still the originals.

Only negative is the strong push to sell you a timeshare, but that's not just this resort by any means. Sedona might as well be Mazatlan as there are hawkers for Sunterra, Hyatt, and many others everywhere in town. Just say "no thanks" and most will leave you alone. One Sunterra guy was rude but we just walked away. Don't let it stop you from enjoying Sedona...it's truly gorgeous.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, WA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

Location of resort is great, except for the traffic problems of getting out of driveway.
Most of areas very clean, with nice landscapiing, very quiet. Our room was nice, although
kitchen area tiny, and we agree with other reports of bedroom drawers that fall out.
Lighting is bad in bedroom making it impossible to see into closet or into drawers in the evening. We stayed in a spa room Restaurants we tried were good, but a bit pricey. Personel are very well trained, happy, and very helpful.. We spent two weeks there via timeshare exchange Some rooms are now being remodeled and updated, so earlier
reviews may not be accurate. I dont think we could stay without timeshare exchange
as room prices are very extravegant..

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

All staff members we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The first room had a view of the water treatment facility so we were able to move a couple of doors down. We enjoy sitting on the balcony morning and evening so that was important to us. The bird watching was great!
The room was well appointed in general. The kitchen was adequate for the little bit of cooking we did. There are BBQ grills available throughout the resort. The bathroom was a bit shabby as the shower doors kept falling off the track and there was a foul odor from under the sink. Other than that, I enjoyed the room.
The pool and hot tub area was very nice. We met several people there (locals and tourists) and enjoyed the specials at the bar. Since so many people enjoy the pool on hot days it can sometimes be hard to find a chair.
Make sure you walk to the back of the resort to the area that is lit up at night with twinkling white lights. We were delighted to see a whole flock of ducks dozing on a small lake! A romantic spot late at night, too!
The restaurants on the premises are very convenient as you will find Sedona closes down very early for late diners! There is a wonderful pool room with fine tables and a great atmosphere. Tlaquepaque is right next door and filled with art galleries and restaurants, too!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2006

I had the privilege of staying above one of the cottages for a weekend. The only thing lacking was a view, but then if you are staying in your room in Sedona, you are missing most of the good views anyway. Very quiet and cozy. Nice king-sized bed. Large mini-fridge. TV (although we didn't watch it). The nicest feature was the huge bathtub under the skylight. Perfect to relax and soak in after a day spent enjoying the wonders of Sedona. I would definitely stay here again, and cannot recommend the cottages at Los Abrigados Resort enough. If friends are headed to Sedona, this is where I tell them to stay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.