We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Los Abrigados Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #40 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Jackson, Miss.
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

We enjoyed three nights at Los Abrigados in October 2005, and I thought it was a wonderful value for the money. We are not timeshare owners, we simply booked the room via the internet, just like a hotel. First of all, we stayed in "The Inn at Los Abrogados Resort and Spa," which is a subdivision of the larger resort. At the Inn part, the rooms are just like regular hotel rooms, except they have a little more kitchen-type services.

We liked our room just fine, and we loved having a hot tub practically all to ourselves. (The Inn has its own hot tub.) We also had massages in the resort spa, and they were wonderful! We did not use the pool at the resrt, so I cannot speak to that. Also, the resort now has a wonderful shop off the lobby, a Son Silver West store. I found beautiful and very resonably priced items in the shop.

Most of all, we liked the location of the resort. It abuts Tlaquapaque, a great shopping center in Sedona, and is a short drive from uptown Sedona. (That's also the only bad thing. From our room, we could sometimes hear bands playing at the shopping center restaurants at night.)

If I were going to Sedona again, I'd definitely consider staying at Los Abrigados. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    188
    116
    74
    66
See reviews for
140
235
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2005

We just stayed a week (time share exchange) we enjoyed the grounds for strolling, and the on property restaurants (Joey's Italian and On the Rocks sprts bar- both of which had good food) The mature cottonwoods and fragrant juniper berry trees by the nearby creek were wonderful. We enjoyed feeding the ducks and geese, which happily ate right out of my hand! Even saw a javalina across the creek! Wow! What a treat! Our 1 bedroom unit, on the other hand, was not so great. We own at a 5-Star Resort which truly merrits that rating but this one fell short and was disappointing. Very clean, with all the necessities, but if you want the little extras and the feeling of being spoiled, don't stay here - it isn't the place for that. At least not in the rooms and we were in a newly renovated one. It wasn't bad, just not a treat for a week's stay. Tiny kitchen, outdated bedroom furniture and the bathroom sink is in the master bedrm area, so no sleeping late if your spouse is up early and needs the light! The shower and comode were private, but the only way to them is thru the master bedrm - glad it was just the 2 of us! The trade off: great location and local ammenities, but extremely average, almost disappointing suites. They do give good gifts for attending time-share presentations and we highly recommend the Verde Canyon Railroad for which we got two 1st-Class tickets ($60 ea) from Los Abrigados. But you can do that for a 90 minute investment without staying there. We loved the grounds so much though, that we actually would consider staying again ... maybe. We ate out most of the time, and were gone quite a bit, so for the 2 of us it was okay. If friends are to join or visit us in Sedona, we will definately stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

We recently stayed there for two nights and would not choose it again.
Pros: (1) quiet. (2) grounds are nice. (3) self-contained resort with restaurants, etc.

Cons: (1) old, rundown suites: our bathroom, particularly the shower, was in need of an extreme makeover. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable. The AC unit was very noisy. We saw some friends suites and they looked to be in the same condition. (2) No views from the resort. It is located in a valley with heavy tree cover. (3) Poor management - check in process was chaotic and disorganized, wakeup calls never happened, maid service didn't show up until 4pm.

For what we paid to stay there, it is a poor value. Keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2005

We went to Los Abrigados and had our wedding there near the creek. They did not make us pay to have our wedding there because it was a very small wedding and we did not require anything of them. We thought that was very generous of them since it is such a prime spot to have a wedding. It was the perfect spot to get married--beautiful scenery, geese and ducks running around and the soothing sound of the creek was the icing on the cake. When we arrived to get ready for the wedding everyone treated us like royalty--they really made us feel very special. We rented the 1 room suite for our honeymoon night and were pleasantly surprised that they upgraded us to a 2 room suite at no extra charge--they totally surprised us with this--we did not know until we walked through the door. They delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne with real champagne glasses to congratulate us--we thought that was so nice. The suite was gorgeous, very spacious and quiet and private with a jacuzzi type bathtub--very romantic; to top it off, we had a reserved parking spot---we were in heaven. We spent our second night at the Hyatt and were sorely disappointed--they did nothing to acknowledge us as newlyweds and we had to ask for a room with a view of something other than the parking lot. The only reason we switched hotels was because we couldn't make up our minds which we liked better when we went up to decide where we wanted to get married---that was a huge mistake. The room at the Hyatt was very ordinary--it was nice, but, not special like at LA--except we did like the jacuzzi tub--because it was bigger than the one at LA. We highly recommend Los Abrigados. We loved the rustic feel that it had and we are going back there for our 1 year anniversary next month. We can't wait to re-visit the resort and spend the weekend in Sedona.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

We've been owners at LA in Sedona for the last 8 years and for the last 4 years we've been "banking" our timeshare week and not going to our "home" timeshare. Of course we still pay our $500 annual maint. fee.
We have not been to the resort in several years, I wanted to list a review of this resort, especially after reading numerous bad reviews via this website.
The resort is old and does need dire updates in the rooms.
The resturants have very good food.
Sedona rocks and is so beautiful.
The exterior is impressive to the eye.
I think Los Abrigados is overly glorified !!! The resort was outstanding years ago when we became owners. The sales people really boost up the sales pitch. I recall the sales person saying that we could even "rent" the Stone House that is part of the property. Yeah right.
I called today (August 18th 2005) to check availability for every weekend in the month of October. NOTHING is available.
Then I figured we could book a room using our "leisure" time for a one bdrm or two brdm there is nothing open. With use of "leisure time" we have to pay for the room at a "reduced" owner rate per availability.

Getting a reservation there is a tough time for owners, for the last several years. We have to "bank" our 2005 timeshare week with Interval International by October 15th or we will lose the week, Best to bank the week, just in case we can't get to LA when they have an opening.
The resort is on Oak Creek and it's beautiful. My husband loves to fish there. We always had a great time when we went. I recall the kiddie pool area being lots of fun.
I think over the last 3-4 years the Resort did oversell and it's causing alot of turmoil and disgust when owners are unable to get a weekend with a few months notice.
After reading over 2 dozen feedbacks for this resort, I would not recommened a timeshare purchase at LA. There are resorts in Scottsdale, AZ and in Sedona that ROCK and are updated/new.
I would not recommend this resort to non-owners who pay out of pocket, check other Sedona hotels/resorts for newer rooms.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

Sedona is absolutely beautiful. The resort was nice too. The staff made us feel welcome. The rooms were somewhat clean, except for the dining chairs, which you definately wouldn't want touching your skin. I can't say enough about the restaurants. On the Rocks Bar & Grill had the absolute best food. The dinner was excellent and the breakfast was even better. Not to mention the prices were unbeatable. The kids are bugging to go back soon. Hopefully we'll have a cleaner room and the same great experience. Sorry for the misfortunes others have had.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay Village, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2005

First thing I notice were all the natural plants and the aboundance of roses in bloom. Great attention by staffmen to maintain the creative landscape thoughout resort. Staff friendly and always smiling. I live on Miami Beach and its very hard to find any smiles when describing our service industry.Our apt was very large and nicely decorted.Our kitchen ,Well this could be improved by suppling more pots ,pans etc ..as we like to cook in with our kids.Two large clean pools. We overlooked the childens pool with the adult pool nearbye.We never did eat at any of the resort resturants but were told by others not to miss them. As for beautiful Sadona ......I wish we could have stayed a month. I will be back with family next year.. again...for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#40 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.