We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Los Abrigados Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #41 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
washington, d.c.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The view of the Red Rocks made up for the somber and dark interiors. Outside was a different story - flowers everywhere took up a great deal of my camera space. The pool was a little cold. It is not a resort to rave about but adequate.

Room Tip: We liked the top tier and center, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    208
    129
    77
    67
See reviews for
157
250
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We bought this through a silent auction. It was a donation from someone that has a time share through Diamond Resorts. For what we paid, this is truly a disappointment. The rooms are so tired. We live in Phoenix and wanted to see if this was something we wanted to do every summer. We will keep looking. This is not the place. BTW, we were told we would have a 2 bedroom suite. We for some reason got a one bedroom. We are booked for a week and truthfully, I don't know that we will stay the entire time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to share your experience and regret that we that we didn’t meet your expectations. Normally, we receive compliments on the resort experience we offer. Although you never get a second chance to make a first impression, we hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff the .All the staff had a welcoming smile and gave you full attention ..the grounds are Beautiful the best ive seen in Sedona very green lots of flowers.the pictures do not do it justice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We r currently staying at Los Abrigados. You never know what you are going to get at a Diamond Resort. Well this one is not up to a Motel 6 standard.
Rooms r old with cracked bathroom sink. Towels r old and dingy. Even looked at a so called refurbished room . Updated couch and light. Still has old dirty looking tile floors throughout . No door from carpeted bedroom to bathroom sink area. Door to living area from bedroom didn't close . Kitchen area is a joke. No counter top area to prepare anything. Counter top electric toaster oven is their idea of an oven. And this was the best of 3 rooms that I looked at. The
staff at the resort very pleasant. Outside grounds very nice. If they spent some money on the rooms it could be a lovely resort. Won't be back till they do. I am worried about my next Diamond vacation location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your recent stay. We deeply apologize for the multiple difficulties you encountered during your visit. Please know these issues are definitely not how we aspire to host any of our guests. We hope to have the chance to communicate with further not only to gain a clearer understanding, but also to attempt to remedy the challenges you experienced. We appreciate your feedback and will strive to make the proper solutions internally to prevent similar situations from affecting future guests’ stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have chosen this location numerous times in the past for its location and facilities but our last visit was unacceptable. We had reserved a week in a two bedroom for our large family but found the unit too small, especially the partial kitchen. The unit was noticeably very outdated and the couch & 1 chair were worn and uncomfortable. One of the bedroom air-conditioners would often stop working during the night which made it very uncomfortable while sleeping. We notified the front desk each time and finally got it fixed late the next morning (one time they came early in the morning waking us all up). We were never given an option of another room.
A major disappointment was the salt pool being under construction (when we arrived we were told the construction was taking longer than anticipated) and the other resort pools were dirty. Our family had to go to an affiliated resort to use a pool. We were not notified of the construction prior to our visit.
When we arrived we were notified of an additional daily fee that would be charged to us. The only good thing about our stay was the receptionist did not charge us the additional fee because of our inconvenience. In my opinion it was not enough.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

“A little of this, a little of that” about sums it up for my visit to Los Abrigados.

We received friendly smiles and a couple of complimentary water bottles during check in - Then the surprise “VIP” gift (aka time share presentation) bait and switch before we even had a chance to get to our room.

The room was newly remodeled and clean…except for the bathroom - Yet no maid service (or fresh towels) for our two night stay unless requested.

Two nice restaurants on the property, both with really good food - But neither served breakfast nor offered room service.

We sprang for the “deluxe one bedroom suite” that boasted a spa on the patio which sounded lovely - it ended up being an empty Jacuzzi tub that was rendered unusable due to severe cracking and ground -in dirt and staining.

We were in a quiet area and the bed was super comfortable - But we were shocked to find out that check out was 10:00 A.M.!

Sedona is absolutely stunning, and we drove in at sunset, which made the red rocks all the more breath taking – But our deluxe “view” was either the parking lot or a cave like walk way.

We came in for a wedding, and I have to say that the grounds by the creek are absolutely gorgeous. The weather was perfect and the event happily memorable for us as guests. They also gave us a “late” check out of 11:00 because we were with the wedding group and they were hosting a Mother’s Day breakfast.
But since the reason for our visit was the wedding, we were totally taken aback by the time share “sneak attack”. Fortunately, the salesperson respected our time, handed us a few certificates and we were on our way.

The resort also seemed to offer some interesting classes and services, and had activities for kids, but we didn’t have time to partake.

It is hard for me to decide how many “stars” to give the resort because there were some nice things and some not so nice things. If you can get one of the remodeled rooms, it would be a great place to take a family vacation. But remember to bring your own stock of bottled water and food. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc.

...But then I don’t like to cook while I am on a holiday…so therein lay my dilemma with Los Abrigados.

There are some things they are doing quite well, and some things they could do a lot better. Some things I enjoyed based on my personal preferences, some things I didn’t enjoy that others might find appealing.

I’ll give it three stars and say that all in all, it might be worth a try. It is possible that you might like "a little bit of that" a little more than I did.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My fiancée booked a room there for our engagement night, reservation booked was for 1 king bed suite, when we checked in, the earliest check in is at 4pm.. we were given a 2 double beds, as the staffs tell us “we love to say yes”, we were told no one bed suite is available.. Then we asked if we can at least have a renovated room, of course the answer is NO.. we were told they cannot compensated us for anything because we booked through a 3rd party (hotel.com). mine you… we paid 350/night… and the room was very dated, towel was dirty, carpet was old and dirty.. the facility hours are very inconvenience, sauna, steam room don’t open till 9am and check out time is at 10am. Most of the facilities are closed all day due to a wedding.. including mini golf, garden etc. to top this, we had to sleep on separate beds on our engagement night. What a disappointment for this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, as we are always looking to address areas of improvement and growth opportunities. We sincerely regret to read you experienced some difficulties with the unit you were in during your stay. It is our goal to make sure that your vacation is a pleasant and memorable one, and we apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. This being said, we strongly advise guests to notify our team during the time of their stay of any issues that may arise, allowing us the opportunity to amend them. Our team is proudly available 24/7 to ensure that any requests are promptly addressed. We hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back for a much more enjoyable stay and wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Groupon, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.