We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Abrigados October 6-10” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Los Abrigados Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Los Abrigados Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15%
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Los Abrigados October 6-10”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I received a Groupon voucher to go to Los Abrigados and booked my stay for a long weekend October 6-10. I was a little nervous, given the prior iffy reviews I had read, but figured what the heck and I booked the hotel for a good price. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. It's by no means in 5 star condition but they are doing the best they can (it's an older property) to upgrade. I stayed in the time share portion of the resort. The room was not big, but it was clean. Nice beds, pillows, flat screen tv, ipod doc/alarm clock. There were no thrills, but it was sufficient. I paid $100 upon check in as a resort fee, which is applied towards if you want to do any of the gym classes, use the gym facility, or if towels/keys go missing. When I checked out, they returned the $ to me, no problem. I didn't really see the big deal. The staff was helpful. The pool was nice. Again, not many complaints here. The best part about the property was it's location. Right by the popular shops and in proximity to pretty much everything. Recommendation: There is a small bed & breakfast next door that had a wonderful breakfast and I would highly recommend. I don't think you need more than 3-4 days at this resort. I was there with my mother for a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review of our resort. We are extremely delighted to hear that our accommodations, amenities, location, and staff exceeded your expectations. While we do charge a $15.00 per day resort fee for guests who are not owners, which includes usage of our fitness center and class, along with Wi-Fi access, golf and tennis facilities, and access to our spa; the payment you mentioned that was paid upon check in, and refunded at check out, is actually the deposit for incidentals that we require of all guests at the time of check in. These types of deposits are very commonplace in the resort industry and are used as a deterrent for guests to cause damage or theft to their unit(s). By limiting these types of costs to the resort, we pass on the savings to our guests. We hope that you and your mother will come visit us again soon, so that you are able to see the improvements that have been made since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    228
    138
    83
    70
See reviews for
175
271
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I had a lovely time at Los abrigados october 6-We loved all the quaint shops and restaurants. The staff very accommodating. We read some not so great reviews and we couldn't understand it. Okay, there are no bells and whistles but we felt it was very charming. We stayed in a cottage overlooking tennis courts. Pool was lovely, spa facials amazing. Friendly staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were shocked when we checked into Los Abrigados Resort and told we would be charged an additional $15 a day amenity fee! We had put in for an exchange for this property back in April and we were never notified of this additional fee for use of the fitness center, miniature golf, DVDs and thought these were just part of the usual amenities provided at other timeshares we have stayed. We told them that we probably wouldn't even use some of these amenities, but were told that since we weren't "Diamond" resort owners that we had to pay this additional fee.
Just a heads up to others who might exchange for this property. My husband asked to talk to the manager the next day about this charge and fortunately the front desk agreed to remove the fee for this visit. Hopefully, this isn't some new policy being charged at other timeshares.
The resort itself seems pretty decent, but it did start out rather negative.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first level, but could hear people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our resort. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is concerning to us that our services did not meet your expectations. The resort fee that you refer to should have been advised to you when you booked your exchange. We try to notify our exchange and rental partners of this resort fee, so that they can advise their customers. It is very concerning to read that you were not made aware of this at the time of booking. We are glad to hear that our manager was able to resolve your complaint the following day. Just as an FYI, the resort fee covers several amenities at our resort, which include, but not limited to: Wi-Fi services, access to the spa, tennis, and golf facilities, locker rooms, and fitness center. Diamond resort owners do not have to pay for this fee, because they pay yearly maintenance fees that include these services. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression to you and your husband. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went to Los Abrigados with high hopes. We booked our hotel suite and filled the information for a family of four. When we get to Sedona, they ask us how many people are in our group. We tell them four. The guy at the front desk tells us that all of the rooms have been taken and only a small 1-person studio is left. That really pissed us off. But then, they falsely promised us and said that we would get a bigger and better room the next day. We thought that maybe it would be the size of a normal hotel room with a sofa that somebody could sleep on. The map was very confusing and it took us a while to get to our room. When we opened the door, I was just about ready to check out of this hotel and sleep in the car. It was a tiny bedroom with a queen sized bed and a window seat. There was barely any room to walk and there were minimal appliances. The window seat was so hard, you couldn't even sit on it, much less sleep on it. They gave us keys to the swimming pools,and the keys were so rotten, that the door wouldn't even open the gate to the pool. At night, since our room was right next to the tennis court, the light shined directly on our bed and we had to wait untill late that night so that the lights could be turned off even though no one ws playing tennis. The next day, we left for the day to go sightseeing and were expecting the room to be cleaned by room service, but it wasn't. Our room had little vents on the floor and a lot of creepy crawlers we in our room.This hotel stay made us rank Sedona to our first choice for a family vacation to the last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is very concerning to us that we did not meet these expectations. As your review states, you booked a hotel suite. Hotel studio suites are our smallest accommodations, and generally meant for 2 guests or less. We sincerely regret that you were told you would be able to get a bigger room the following day, and the room not being much different from your first room. When notified, our front desk would be more than willing to replace your pool key, and see about turning off the tennis court lights (provided no one was using them). They would have also looked into the pest situation you mentioned, as well. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, housekeeping services are provided on a weekly basis. This information, along with additional services and amenities, is relayed to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance and stay at our resort again, as we are very confident that you will be pleasantly surprised at the improvements that have been made since your last stay. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first and last stay at Los Abrigados, it was the worst experience I have had with a hotel in a long time. First, we had to get ready for a 4pm wedding in their public locker rooms because they said that check-in wasn't until 4. No early check-ins. Then, once we returned back- very late from the wedding located in uptown Sedona- the front desk didn't give us the right keys to our very hidden room. Once we finally got into this small yet quaint room, we realized that the Jacuzzi was right next to our room. We heard the water flowing and the machine going off all night. It was Very loud! Then to top things off the TV didn't work. I didn't bother complaining cause it was late and I was very tired of dealing with this staff. Next morning, we got a phone call stating that check-out was at 10am (who has check-out at 10am??)and we were going to be charged $50 dollars if we stayed past 11am. We had less then 10 hours in this place and had no enjoyment or relaxation in this hotel what so ever. We got our stuff and left within 10 minutes. And we will never go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that your stay here did not meet your expectations. Our check in/check out times are clearly noted on our website through Diamond Resorts. We try to advise our 3rd party rental partners of these times as well, so that they may properly inform their customers. These times are necessary to allow our housekeeping staff enough time to properly prepare our rooms for our guests prior to their arrival. Our front desk does accept requests for early check in. If a guest’s room is ready at the time of arrival (before 4:00pm), then we will allow a guest to check in. When notified about noise concerns or non-working appliances, our front desk will respond immediately to send someone to fix these issues. We hope that you will give us another chance to make a better impression of our resort. We are truly confident that if you stay with us again, you will have a much more pleasant experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Los Abregados is an old village turned resort and spa. The property is nice, but situated close to two major roads in Sedona, so traffic noise is ever present. The cottage we were in was based on a floor plan of a postage stamp with scarcely enough room walk around the bed, partly because of a giant armoir that serves as the some closet to hang your clothes.
We were quoted a fair rate, but upon arrival there was a newly implemented resort fee that was neither disclosed at booking or on their website. The clerk immediately goes into how he can't waive it, mandatory, etc. I could tell he was embarrassed by it, especially since the resort has several non functioning features. The main hot tub wasn't working, and reportedly had not for some time. The tennis courts are coverd in leaves and seem a bit shoddy by resort standards.
Finally, as title says, there are constant attempst to add fees. I felt like was at a bank. there was the resort fee, an incidental fee ($250, but refundable), towel fees, key fees (if lost). I can't explain why a $250 pre charge to your card is needed. I think it is to squeeze some float on bill, and personally it irritates me.
There are better places in Sedona, and I will case my dollar vote differently next time I visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us did not measure up to your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is concerning to us that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. The resort fee is mentioned on our website (Diamond Resort’s) under the Fact Sheet section. We try and advise our 3rd party rental partners of this fee as well, so that they can properly advise their customers. We are truly sorry if you were not aware of this resort fee prior to check in. What may have not been detailed on our website is that the resort fee covers several amenities for our guests, which includes, but is not limited to: access to our spa/workout center, Jacuzzi, mini-golf, Wi-Fi access, and laundry services. The deposit fee (refundable upon checkout) of $250.00 is quite common in our industry. This fee serves as a deterrent for guests from causing damages to their room or room accessories. By decreasing the finances needed to replace damaged accessories or appliances, we are able to pass on these savings to our guests. We were aware that our main hot tub was not working during a portion of your stay. Our maintenance team was notified of the problem and the hot tub was made fully operational within the next day. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first stay at Los Abrigados, and hopefully not our last! We did not book through the timeshare program, so we had a very pleasant stay without having to sit through sales pitches and tour the entire facility. But this place is great and very family oriented too! Our balcony room faced one of the pools, oriented to the children, but we also visited the hot tub and pool just off the main building. There is a miniature golf course, a tennis court, horseshoes and other such activities, and Oak Creek is at the edge of the property. And Tlaquepaque (shopping district) is at the other edge with shops, restaurants, art galleries and live music.

We shared a 2 bedroom condo with another couple and it was very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your party had a very pleasant stay here. It is our hope that this was the first of many trips to our resort. We hope you were able to participate in the many activities and recreation opportunities that you described in your review here at the resort, and that you were able to take advantage of the many sights and attractions that Sedona has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Abrigados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Abrigados Resort and Spa

Address: 160 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Abrigados Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort and spa in Sedona, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Los Abrigados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Abrigados Hotel Sedona
Los Abrigados Resort Spa
Los Abrigados Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Abrigados Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.