We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enchantment Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Enchantment Resort to your Saves list
Enchantment Resort
525 Boynton Canyon Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I had a parents-only long-weekend stay at the Enchantment in February 2013.]

We went in having read a few reviews and having no real expectations. But Wow! This place was amazing. We were amazed that anyone was allowed to build right in the middle of a red rock canyon. It was so beautiful, and the resort was built in such a way that every room had an equally amazing view. We stayed in a junior suite. The space was ample - with a large bathroom that sported a separate commode, shower, dual vanity, and bath. We also had a gas fireplace that came in very handy as the nights were cold.

We tried a little bit of everything on this trip: mountain biking with George - the excellent guide, hiking the 'private' trail of the resort's, off-roading to another trail in our rental jeep, eating at the resort's very nice restaurant (great service and outstanding food), taking in the hot tub at the spa, and tennis clinics. We found the resort exemplary in every way but two points:
1) The service was not to the highest standards in the bar, check-in area, and stores. We found ourselves waiting quite a bit in each of these locales. It seemed as if everyone was so laid back, that they couldn't be that attentive. At one point, my wife was trying to purchase quite expensive hiking shoes, only to find that they were out of stock of just about every size and the cash register wasn't working properly - and the clerk behind the counter didn't know what to do.
2) The spa services were very 'new age' - with things like crystal readings and so on. This didn't negatively impact me, but just wasn't my thing and made me stay away from some of those services.

So, why did I give this resort the highest rating? The location and the atmosphere at the resort. I can't say enough about how relaxed and energized we felt after leaving this place. We would love to return again with our daughter and do many more things here.

By the way - even if you don't stay here, you have to come to have a drink or dinner. And if you do stay here, don't leave for another restaurant. We felt we wasted our time/money at expensive but disappointing supposedly good restaurants like Rene's (just plain bad) and Cowboy Club (just OK).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    287
    99
    52
    44
See reviews for
407
776
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent a lovely 3 days at Enchantment Resort. Our casita was very nicely appointed (very nice bedding, well-stocked kitchenette, gas fireplace) with a beautiful view of the Red Rocks. Many activities are offered at no additional charge -- we took advantage of guided hiking trips outside the resort, chi gong, yoga, tai chi, and lecture (there were many other activities). We had very nice massages at very reasonable extra charge at the spa. Concierge services were extremely helpful in planning additional activities in Sedona (we did a Pink Jeep Ancient Ruins tour and an additional vortex hike with a very helpful and knowledgable local guide, Feather). The Che Ah Chi Restaurant on site is absolutely fabulous -- its extremely talented chef David Schmidt prepares truly Michelin star-level food (local ingredients, creative and delicious combinations of tastes, beautiful presentation), backed up by an excellent staff including Lisa, the best server we've ever had.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in 2011 (before the renovations) and had a wonderful experience. We returned for our honey moon in 2013 and were incredibly disappointed. The food was mediocre at best, the service was AWFUL (at points almost unprofessional), housekeeping stunk and the experience was complicated but difficulties and frustrations at every turn. It was so bad that we decided to extend our time off from work to do another vacation elsewhere. Big waste of money. They had a lovely resort before they sunk $25 million into renovations, clearly at the cost of everything else.

Room Tip: Rooms - In 2011 we had a little casita which was LOVELY but had only a pull-out bed from the wall. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear J.V., We are very sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay. We are in receipt of your email and will contact you privately. Your feedback is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are like adobe cabins quietly clustered, not crowded and beautifully appointed. Ours had two queen size beds, a sitting room with terrace that looked towards the east and the rock formation called Kachina Lady, spacious bathroom, fireplace, plenty of storage space. Great coffee maker too! Each morning paper and juice at your doorstep. On arrival we were given a tour of the wonderful facilities... restaurants, wine tasting, gym, tennis courts, swimming pools, spa and the like. There are hiking trails nearby, creekside walks. The service is as spectacular as the views and facilities..nothing is too much trouble it seems, all staff are obviously chosen for their charm and friendliness. It is an incredible place and I wish we'd had a longer stay at this well named, enchanting place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highmore, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A very beautiful resort in a very beautiful setting. On the spur of the moment we decided to escape cold January temperatures and take a road trip to Arizona. We did not have reservations at the Enchantment, but read the reviews and decided to make it our destination. We traveled through some beautiful country before arriving in Sedona. When we arrived at the resort the staff was great in spite of our lack of a reservation. Enchantment was beautiful, clean and yes, enchanting. One morning a Native American flute player was perched high above the resort. We listened to the music while hiking Boynton Canyon. I will never forget this mystical experience. We also visited some great archeological sites in the area which are off the beaten path. The food is good and the spa is excellent. I will visit the Enchantment again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the luxury of treating myself and my daughter to a 3 night, 4 day stay at Miiamo Spa in Sedona, AZ. I went from December 26th, 2012 - December 30th. Miiamo Spa is a part of Enchantment resort as it sits across from it, about 30 yards away. While you can stay at the Enchantment property for less money, I decided to stay at the Spa itself. I am so glad I did. I was treated like a queen. My daughter and I were encouraged to walk around the spa in our bathrobes. The staff knew us by our names, checked on us at each meal, and literally attended to our every need. Before you go, you fill out a form indicating what kind of services you would be interested in. The spa schedules everything for you. In addition to massages etc..., they have a variety of activities included. I recommend the sunrise stretch (absolutely beautiful), stargazing, a cooking demonstration, and certainly hiking the red rocks. My only regret was not spending more time sitting on top of those red rocks, in the middle of the vortex. I will be going back again next December for a relaxing, pampered spa stay. My meals were included, and I cannot say enough good things about the food and the entire staff. They were extremely professional. I highly recommend Miiamo Spa.

Room Tip: Sedona isn't an easy location to get to. If you fly into Phoenix, it will be a 2 hour commute v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from a visit to beautiful Sedona, Arizona. The setting of this resort is breathtaking! We stayed in a casita on top of the "hill" and were able to see far beyond the canyon. Orange juice & newspaper are delivered each morning. We also participated in a watercolor class that was one of our favorite experiences of the week. The bellman staff was excellent, always ready with a golf cart ride down and quick to offer a ride up from the car. The only slight negative would be that condition of the room was not really on par with other hotels in this 4/5 star level. We had several issues that needed repair while we were there. While they were quick to send maintenance, in my opinion the issues should have been dealt with before anyone was checked into the room, as they were very obvious problems. Overall, we really did enjoy our stay. The facilities at the resort are great, the staff friendly, and the food excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get as high up the hillside as possible for a better view, as long as you are willing to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchantment Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchantment Resort

Address: 525 Boynton Canyon Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Business Hotel in Sedona
#3 Family Hotel in Sedona
#3 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by stunning views of red rock Boynton Canyon and the Coconino National Forest, Enchantment Resort combines the rugged grandeur of the Southwest landscape with luxurious amenities and Native American culture. All 218 Arizona-style guest rooms, completely renovated, have beehive fireplaces and private patios with views of the towering crimson cliffs. The 70-acre resort offers guests more than 100 activities each week including hiking, mountain biking, tennis,cooking classes, arts and crafts, and Native American programs. Resort guests enjoy exclusive access to Mii amo Spa, consistently ranked among the world's best, and Seven Canyons golf club for 18 holes of golf with stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Enchantment Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchantment Hotel Sedona
Enchantment Hotel And Mii Amo
Enchantment Resort And Mii Amo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchantment Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.