We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, quiet, retreat in a naturally beautiful setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enchantment Resort

Save Saved
You added Enchantment Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Enchantment Resort
525 Boynton Canyon Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Grand Canyon Package
Ranked #5 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quiet, retreat in a naturally beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The setting and cabins are not fancy; but they are very comfortable and very private. The setting that nature provides here is enough – it is serene, beautiful, oh so quiet and naturally breathtaking. If you need a reprieve and a place to get away from it all; this is absolutely the best! The red rocks, the vortex, the dark skies and bright stars all provide what no fountains or sculptures can. There is plenty to do outside: hiking, tennis, croquet, a beautiful pool, hot tub and spa. I found the restaurant on site excellent as well.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed the serenity of Enchantment. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,006
    243
    84
    47
    42
See reviews for
343
637
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkdale
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After several wonderful experiences at Enchantment, we were extremely disappointed on our last visit. Out of state friends were visiting and wanted to treat us to a bottle of wine at sunset. Just as we ordered our wine, the power went out and we sat in the dark drinking our wine. No offer was made of any complimentary appetizer(chips would have been fine) and nothing was mentioned about reducing the cost of the wine ($44.00). In fact, the waiter joked about perhaps not being able to run our guest's credit card due to the power outage. We were extremely surprised about the lack of customer service that is usually experienced at Enchantment. I only hope that guests that were staying there received some compensation for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our power did go out on December 8 and our maintenance team quickly identified the cause and repaired it. Power was restored within 90 minutes.

We have shared your experience with our restaurant staff and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have stayed at Enchantment several times before. Always we loved the beautiful secluded location and exceptional service. The rooms, however, were getting a little tired. Over the past 2 years the resort has been completely renovated and rooms and public areas are now beautiful with modern Southwestern rather than rustic feel.

However, it is not the rooms that bring us to Enchantment. First it is the location: the canyon is a magical place with light playing on the red rocks during the day and luminous stars at night. You can see across the whole open valley from the veranda or by a short walk up a hill to a spot that is excellent to watch the dawn,

Second it is the exceptional service. A small but typical example of this is a waitress who spotted I had arrived too late for complemetary morning coffee and grabbed some from the restaurant without my even asking.

Beyond the great service, there are many excellent activities such as hiking, biking, lectures and yoga and the staff are full of enthusiasm for you to have a great time and learn something. Again going above and beyond, one of the yoga instructors saw I was interested in a particular set of stretches he had developed and brought them typed up to my room so I can practice at home.

An advantage for us of all the activities is that my husband can take things at a more relaxed pace while I squeeze in as many activities as possible. I think it would also be a good place for singles. Another advantage is that the resort doesn't mind muddy hikers and mountain bikers wandering through the lovely grounds. There are no disapproving looks but rather questions and suggestions for trails.

We are neutral overall on the food - the brunch is the most delicious anywhere, I love the food at the spa and the prickly pear margarita is not to be missed - but dinner in the main restaurant food is a bit heavy and salty for me. Another tiny niggle is that the internet in our room was still almost non existent, even after the renovation - but maybe thats a nudge to get outside.

Enchantment remains the most stunning, attentive yet relaxed hotel I have stayed in. I am always sad to leave. Its main disadvantage is that it stops us exploring other places as I can never wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Five-Star review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and our renovations. You'll be happy to hear we are upgrading our bandwidth, which will be completed by mid-March. Also, beginning this year, we are enhancing the Wi-Fi in all rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My parents were gracious enough to book a two night stay here. The rooms were very clean and relaxing. The tub/shower in the bathroom was super deep and great for a bath. The only drawback to the tub/shower was that it was a little difficult/awkward to get into because it was very deep, it might be a hazard to anyone unsteady on their feet or with limited mobility. And there was only one sliding door, so you were only half enclosed in the shower, kind of weird. I wish the shower and toilet area were separated from the rest of the bathroom because it was an inconvenience for three people to get ready. Plus the floor was FREEZING (we went in December). The beds were fantastic, very soft with down pillows and comforter. Lots of room for three people in a room with two queen beds. A little detail that I thought was cool were the lights' switches on the actual lamps were dimmers.

The room service was incredibly fast and you can order breakfast by 11pm the night before and it'll be delivered within 15 minutes of the time you request for the next morning. We ordered it and it arrived at exactly the right time. All the food was exceptional. Great menus at both of the restaurants there. They were very accommodating and made any changes we requested. Very expensive, even for lunch though. The restaurant at the Mii Amo Spa was also very good.

The Mii Amo Spa offers a ton of unique treatments and massages. They also have some pretty interesting lectures that are free and happen a few times a day. There's a woman there, Kamma Bothe, who does astrology readings, palm and tarot card readings, and numerology. She was fantastic! She's not a psychic, she's an intuitive and mainly interpreted the meanings of the tarot card, palms, and numbers. She talked about the present and not so much the future. My mom, sister, and I were able to have everything by an astrology reading together. Very cool!

The resort was phenomenal. It was beyond luxurious and beautiful. Definitely somewhere to visit at least once. A draw back is the location being far from Sedona's main drag, but only a 10-15 car ride. Not back but maybe an inconvenience to people who'd like to shop and eat in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are delighted you found the beds to be fantastic and the food exceptional. Thank you for your comments.

Enchantment offers a variety of room layouts; many have a fully enclosed shower, a separate tub and private water closet. We are always happy to work with guests prior to their visit to assist in booking the most appropriate accommodation for their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited Sedona for the first time this November and were consistently surprised and delighted by the people and the town's beauty. Nothing, however, prepared me for the Enchantment Resort.
The check in was a personal concierge type of service and our stay just got better from there. The amenities were so precise and well thought out. The spa, Mii Amo, is world class as are the resort's restaurants. But sitting on he terrace and looking out into Boynton Canyon and the red rock formations while sipping an excellent wine - well, it just doesn't get any better than that.
The final comment must be directed toward the staff. We were extremely impressed with each person's eagerness to serve and their ability to do such a fine job. Attention to detail included expert knowledge of Indian lore, astronomy and areas identified as natural vortices around Sedona.
Being 5 miles from town brings the true flavor of Sedona to life. Whether hiking or flying up the Grand Canyon - use Enchantment as your base of operations. It's worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

All I can say is ABSLUTLEY AMAZING! This place was beautiful and the complete luxury package. My lady and I stayed here for 2 nights, and I wish we had planned to stay longer, at least another full day because the hotel offers so much and we did not have enough time to do everything we wanted. When we checked in we were greeted by name and given a tour of the hotel. When the tour was done the front desk had our paperwork and room keys all ready to go.

We stayed in a casita junior suit. It was absolutely beautiful! It felt brand new, the bathroom was huge with a separate bath and shower. It had a small living area with a couch, tv, and gas fireplace and then the bedroom area with a large king bed and tv. There were two robes for us in the room, along with two free bottles of water, and two bottles of orange juice left at our door by 6am every morning.

On property were three restaurants, a bar, and a wine bar. Every thing we ate was delicious! Near the main lobby is an outdoor pool and hot tub, which are open 24 hours a day! Then in the spa area there is another outdoor pool, indoor pool, and hot tubs in both the male and female lounges, which are open late. Any hotel guest can use it, you don't need to purchase any of the spa treatments (which were very expensive). There is a planned activity schedule for each day with things like, wine tastings, tea tastings, guided hikes, guided mountain biking (with bike provided), cooking demos, yoga, meditations and lots more and all of it is included in your $28 resort fee. I think that is probably the only resort fee I have ever felt was worth it and fair!

The staff was awesome and the property was beautiful! I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: I booked on Expedia and found a deal called the American Express Stay More offer, they also had a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Your kind review of our resort is much appreciated. We finalized our room renovations in 2011 and our Clubhouse and restaurant renovations were completed this year. We are pleased you enjoyed them! Our Activity department is very creative with its offerings; it's always nice hear the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffied
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was quite a treat, at the back of beyond & so many things to do, especially nothing. The Spa was probably the best spa ever ( Mii amo). The Sunday Brunch was excellent, Service everywhere was great and we especially liked the delivery of orange juice in the morning. Little poems were a nice touch. Great shop. Deers came to visit. Aperitifs ( prickly pear margarita !) & snacks served in front of so much beautiful landscape was priceless. Love to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your five-star review. Well put…so much to do - especially nothing! Many of our guests just love to relax and gaze at the canyon, especially after a light snowfall. Chef David Schmidt and his crew sure look forward to Sunday Brunch. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
Charming, Roman...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 46 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
11.1 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#3 of 46 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Boutique, Charm...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Inn on Oak Creek
Inn on Oak Creek
#2 of 46 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Charming, Roman...
Show More
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enchantment Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchantment Resort

Address: 525 Boynton Canyon Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Business Hotel in Sedona
#3 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by jaw-dropping views of red rock Boynton Canyon and the Coconino National Forest, Enchantment Resort combines the rugged grandeur of the Southwest landscape with luxurious amenities and Native American culture. All 218 Arizona-style guest rooms, recently renovated, have beehive fireplaces and private patios with views of the towering crimson cliffs. The 70-acre resort offers guests more than 100 activities each week including hiking, mountain biking, tennis,cooking classes, arts and crafts, and Native American programs. Resort guests enjoy exclusive access to Mii amo Spa, consistently ranked among the world's best, and Seven Canyons golf club for 18 holes of golf with stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Enchantment Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchantment Hotel Sedona
Enchantment Hotel And Mii Amo
Enchantment Resort And Mii Amo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchantment Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.